We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Restaurant Tucked in Quaint Neighborhood”
Review of Fishbones

Fishbones
Ranked #39 of 886 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
320 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 424 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant Tucked in Quaint Neighborhood”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Our friends who lived nearby suggested that we dine at Fishbones. It was a pleasurable experience in a location that we had not previously visited. It is not a shopping center but a cluster of 4 or 5 businesses (primarily restaurants and a neighborhood grocery store) surrounded by upscale single family neighborhoods. I enjoyed a fish dish (salmon) with very tasty sauces along with an enjoyable IPA. Very good service, reasonable prices in a friendly neighborly atmosphere. I don't recommend for small children.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkS719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    47
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Try their specials!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Love this place. Love their fish dishes, though they have a nice selection of other stuff. I love their organic side dishes: organic kale, garlic mashed potatoes, etc. The chairs are super uncomfortable but their have nice outdoor seating for lunch. We go almost every week. Good food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmagoestothebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great blackened flounder burrito”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Went last night for dinner with a colleague and was very impressed. The beer selection was very good, the atmosphere friendly and the food outstanding. I had the special which was a blackened flounder burrito and my colleague had the fish and chips, both were terrific. I would definetly recommend this place but get there early for a seat.

Helpful?
1 Thank hatchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cozy & Delicious”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This has become a must-visit restaurant when I visit Greensboro. It's a fantastic, cozy neighborhood restaurant, so it may be hard to find a seat but the food is definitely worth it. The menu is creole-inspired and it takes me a while to make my selections. My first visit I had the excellent shrimp and grits, which makes my mouth water now even though it's been a year since I had it. Most recently, I had blackened salmon with jalapeno ranch mashed potatoes and garlic spinach. That's right my friends, jalapeno ranch mashed potatoes. All with a nice cab. Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasarawrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greensboro
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The true definition of a neighborhood gem. You won't find Fishbones listed in the top guides - damn, I don't think it even has a website. But if you want reliably excellent food, a great atmosphere and a friendly crowd, Fishbones is the place for you. If none of this appeals do yourself and us a favor and go somewhere else!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishbones also viewed

 

Been to Fishbones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing