We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dining out”

Darryl's Wood Fired Grill
Ranked #9 of 914 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Veasley St
Transit: Use the Greensboro Transit Authority Bus System. Mon- Sat. use Route 11 stop 3 at the High Point Rd. and Pinecroft intersection, and Sun. take Route 25 stop 3 at the same intersection. More information regarding the Greensboro Transit Authority is available via http://www.greensboro-nc.gov/departments/GDOT/divisions/gta/routes/
Description: Since 1971 we’ve been known for our 100% wood fire grilled steaks, ribs, and Southern classics. We expanded in 2010 with a $2 million renovation that included two outdoor fire pits, an outdoor bar, large patio, themed seating areas, new large bar, business bar, and state of the art kitchen. Although steaks and ribs are our specialty, we offer a large and diverse, made from scratch menu. With a World Class Bar program consisting of 24 craft beers on draft, 24 wines by the glass, and a 10-page menu– we’re sure you’ll find something to please your taste buds. Our two-story restaurant has plenty of room for all your friends and we’re eager to accommodate groups of all sizes up to 130 people. You can even reserve the fire pit areas and theatre room for private events! Enjoy your meal in a glamorous theatre room, floating ferris wheel seat, elevator booth, jailhouse or snuggle up with S’mores for dessert by one of our outdoor fire pits. Located across from the Koury Convention Center and close by the Greensboro Coliseum.
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I would go back to visit because the food was really good. The waitress took time to tell how the food was cooked. I wish it was more locations local.

1  Thank shirley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thanks for the review! We are now privately owned, and are looking to expand in the future. Hope you've come back again since!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 415 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Pick this restaurant because it was close to the hotel we stayed at.... atmosphere was great... service was mediocre due to the table we had the servers had to change shifts... the wait was only 30 minutes long. The next time I go to Greensboro I'm going to stop again and see if I can't give this restaurant a better service review

Thank Justified44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Hopefully you were able to change your mind about service! Hope to have you back again soon! Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We ate at Darryl's on our way back from a mini caption and the food here is very good! The service was great and even my picky two year old gave it a thumbs up! Great restaurant choice!

Thank chelseym10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Glad we could provide something for everyone! Even your picky 2 year old! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We have visited 3 times thus far. Food only so-so (along with service being so-so) Was drawn in when they tapped Sexual Chocolate by Foothills. We will visit for speciality beers but will choose to eat elsewhere.

1  Thank Carrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

We hope you can reconsider our menu. Don't forget to ask about our burger of the month! We're happy to hear you enjoy our drink menu, as we have just updated it, you should come by and check us out again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you have already been to Darryl's you know what I am talking about! If you are passing through Greensboro NC or visiting and have never been to Darryl's then PLEASE do not miss it! Skip all the over commercialized chains in the area and head right here.

The service was fantastic. The atmosphere was second to none whether it's the bar, indoor seating, or outdoor seating. Very much a family atmosphere for those with kids (we have two - 6 and 4). We sat outside on the patio and loved it. The food was perfect. You have to start with Daryl's crackers. There were so good. The only thing I wish is we would have had paired them with the spinach/artichoke dip! I had pulled pork and it was some of the best I have ever had! My wife had the salmon and was raving about it (I am not a salmon fan at all so can't speak first hand). The deserts looked amazing but we skipped them due to poor timing on our part, but it was hard to do.

Please don't overlook Darryl's. I'm betting you won't be disappointed and will be on TripAdvisor writing your review soon! Enjoy, I know we'll be hack when passing through!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jrpeterson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

What a grand review! We're so happy to hear you love us so much! Hope you've been back since then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darryl's Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Darryl's Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing