We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Menu Selection - tip on reservations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darryl's Wood Fired Grill

Darryl's Wood Fired Grill
Ranked #11 of 885 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Veasley St
Transit: Use the Greensboro Transit Authority Bus System. Mon- Sat. use Route 11 stop 3 at the High Point Rd. and Pinecroft intersection, and Sun. take Route 25 stop 3 at the same intersection. More information regarding the Greensboro Transit Authority is available via http://www.greensboro-nc.gov/departments/GDOT/divisions/gta/routes/
Description: Since 1971 we’ve been known for our 100% wood fire grilled steaks, ribs, and Southern classics. We expanded in 2010 with a $2 million renovation that included two outdoor fire pits, an outdoor bar, large patio, themed seating areas, new large bar, business bar, and state of the art kitchen. Although steaks and ribs are our specialty, we offer a large and diverse, made from scratch menu. With a World Class Bar program consisting of 24 craft beers on draft, 24 wines by the glass, and a 10-page menu– we’re sure you’ll find something to please your taste buds. Our two-story restaurant has plenty of room for all your friends and we’re eager to accommodate groups of all sizes up to 130 people. You can even reserve the fire pit areas and theatre room for private events! Enjoy your meal in a glamorous theatre room, floating ferris wheel seat, elevator booth, jailhouse or snuggle up with S’mores for dessert by one of our outdoor fire pits. Located across from the Koury Convention Center and close by the Greensboro Coliseum.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Menu Selection - tip on reservations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Darryl's has been an institution in Greensboro for decades so we have eaten there many times over the years. The current menu has a great variety. At a recent visit to celebrate a family graduation entrees for our group ranged from a Black & Blue Salad to Ribs to lasagna with several options in between. The food was excellent - well prepared and good portions. The service was acceptable but not stellar. They were busy which might account for the speed, but the overall feeling was one of disinterest.

Darryl's has online reservations, but our group wanted a table at a time different than the hour or half hour options. When I called to make the reservation I was told they didn't take reservations on the weekend. When asked about the online reservations, the answer was that the manager often forgets to turn those off. I immediately went online, made a reservation and our table was waiting when we arrived. We didn't have to wait for 30+ minutes like others without reservations. So if you want a weekend reservation, go online.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MauraD100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for the review, we're glad that you and your group enjoyed yourselves! As far as reservations go, we do not accept reservations of 10 or more during our busiest hours on the weekend. (5pm-9pm) If we become fully booked, we then turn off our online reservations so that we do not become overbooked. Hope you've been able to come back again since then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    175
    56
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Snow Camp, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dining out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I would go back to visit because the food was really good. The waitress took time to tell how the food was cooked. I wish it was more locations local.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thanks for the review! We are now privately owned, and are looking to expand in the future. Hope you've come back again since!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AWESOME FOOD service MEDIOCRE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Pick this restaurant because it was close to the hotel we stayed at.... atmosphere was great... service was mediocre due to the table we had the servers had to change shifts... the wait was only 30 minutes long. The next time I go to Greensboro I'm going to stop again and see if I can't give this restaurant a better service review

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Justified44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hopefully you were able to change your mind about service! Hope to have you back again soon! Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretna, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We ate at Darryl's on our way back from a mini caption and the food here is very good! The service was great and even my picky two year old gave it a thumbs up! Great restaurant choice!

Helpful?
Thank chelseym10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Glad we could provide something for everyone! Even your picky 2 year old! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sub Par Food, Great Beer Selection”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We have visited 3 times thus far. Food only so-so (along with service being so-so) Was drawn in when they tapped Sexual Chocolate by Foothills. We will visit for speciality beers but will choose to eat elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer H, Public Relations Manager at Darryl's Wood Fired Grill, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We hope you can reconsider our menu. Don't forget to ask about our burger of the month! We're happy to hear you enjoy our drink menu, as we have just updated it, you should come by and check us out again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darryl's Wood Fired Grill also viewed

 

Been to Darryl's Wood Fired Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing