We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold, expensive & noisy”

Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 895 Restaurants in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: GTA weekdays every 1.5 hours between 5:43 am - 12:08 am & weekends every 1 hour between 6:38 am - 10:38 pm with in 1/4 mile of the center
Description: Fleming's Greensboro, NC is an ongoing celebration of exceptional steak and wine. We are located at The Shops at Friendly Center, near Downtown Greensboro, College Hill, and the Greensboro Coliseum.
Oriental, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cold, expensive & noisy”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Went to dinner - price $136 for two ( one glass of wine). The room was too cold to enjoy the meal. The noise level made conversation almost impossible. Tables were too close together, I was constantly bumped by staff. My steak was warm, even after the " be careful of the extremely hot plate " speech.
They have a iPad wine list...had to be rebooted to work. They are proud of it, but so noisy couldn't hear the directions. It was "slow tonight" - loose it.
I can't recommend this restaurant & will not come back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JFR502S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    26
    17
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Triad, NC
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Average ...... And Had To Think Long About This Rating”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My wife and I traveled to Fleming's for an early Sunday Prime Rib Special. First, the salads were great. I had the 'Wedge' and my wife the Ceasar.

Let's move to desserts. The sorbet was refreshing and the Turtle Pie were both good. The downside here was the 'Fresh Chantilly Cream' was served with ice crystals. This is code for 'not fresh'.

Now for the prime rib. We both found the prime rib to be average and not spectacular as expected for a Fleming's meal. There was certainly a lack of marbeling in our prime rib resulting in a lack of tenderness and certainly lack of good flavor. I had the need to eat every piece with the rather mild horse radish sauce served with the meat. Give me a little 'heat'!!!! Or better meat. Perhaps the menu special had a lower quality prime rib selection?

Service was fantastic. And the fact I was able to enjoy the benefit of a menu special saved the 3 star rating opposite the expectation of what should be delivered by Fleming's.

Maybe if we we were not so tired and just anxious to eat and return home, we would have returned our entrees and requested another choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerfield, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Their Sunday Special is a true Value”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I recently took advantage of Flemings Sunday night special for 29.99. It included a salad, prime rib and dessert. These were all full portions and I would estimate the prime rib at 10-12oz. All the food was excellent and I especially enjoyed the Flemings Potatoes. Also in the bar, were several wine pours at $6.00 and appetizers at reduced rates till 7pm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcdjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Dinner!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We hadn't been to Flemings for awhile and were very impressed with the service and food.

We enjoyed the seafood tower, which almost filled us. We followed that with the Fleming salad and the mozzarella with sweet tomatoes salad while we shared The filet mignon appetizer, which was perfectly and cooked.

Plenty of food, pampered service and great wine. Could not have been better!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING EXPERIENCE!!!!!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We did the $30 Sunday evening special (I believe they are adding Monday!) and I don't care what it cost, a top 10 meal!! It is prime rib, soup or salad, side and dessert. There were 4 of us and each got a different side - enough to share with all of us. French onion soup a 9, salad a 9, sides all 8s or 9s. All 4 prime ribs a 9 -10, all 4 desserts 9-10, esp. the chocolate lava cake. Service was excellent and he was well tipped. Nice atmosphere and one of best dining exp. I have had in a while!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing