We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre hotel”
Review of Battleground Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Battleground Inn
Ranked #47 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“mediocre hotel”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We felt it was dark and very dated. Light color, new bedspreads would go a long way to brighten up the rooms. The staff was helpful at times but not as friendly as some have mentioned here. The cleaning staff was wonderful. They had a terrible time keeping the WiFi on. We had internet service sporadically and it would go out in the middle of work on the computer. This hotel is centrally located in Greensboro but I would rather spend more money and get a higher quality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uniquetraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    12
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
23
6
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We have stayed at the Battleground during many trips to Greensboro, probably 6 times now. It is a clean, friendly place. The staff is marvelous, one lady and I became friends and catch up on each other's family each time we visit there. The free breakfast is small, but if you want more there are several places to go in the area, including an IHOP within walking distance. There is also a great pizza place across the street, a Target a few blocks away for shopping and a neat small town Drug Store across the street, for buying souvenires. We enjoyed our stays there, but unfortunately, our daughter has moved so we won't have a chance to stay there any longer. But we may just drop by to say hi when we are in the area again..

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms by the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pats8e8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We were visiting our son in Greensboro, so we found this inn nearby. We checked in and immediately I was impressed with the service we received. I asked for extra pillows and within a few minutes someone was knocking on our door with the pillows. Their attitudes were great and they made us feel we were really welcomed there. My husband was put in the hospital while there and we had to extend our stay, which was handled extremely well and without a hitch. Even the housekeepers were caring and solicitous. I was amazed by this treatment. The rates were unbelievably reasonable. The rate also included a free breakfast in the lobby. Coffee was plentiful. Cookies showed up at various times in the lobby. Just a homey atmosphere. We definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gabe65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

This hotel was very well-located for me, very close to everywhere I needed to go, and convenient to stores, restaurants, etc. The hotel staff was very nice and polite and helpful. The free breakfast was adequate, and included oatmeal, bagels and other breads, fruit and cereals. The room was a little on the small side, though the bathroom was enormous (I had been placed in a handicapped room, which was fine.) the only "problem" was my room was right near the entrance and the window opened DIRECTLY onto the parking lot; I had to keep the shades closed at all times, when I would have preferred to let a little sunshine in. I probably could have had my room changed had I asked, but I decided not to bother. But overall, a good stay, very reasonable, and I recommend, especially for a traveller on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jabeish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed at the Battleground Inn for one night. My husband had business in Greensboro so I started looking for a place to stay. After reading about the Inn, we decided to try it. The online reservation process is simple, but not many choices. I called to ask about other choices and discounts. The lady I talked to told me to just note it in the comment section and they would take care of it.

The Inn was very nice. Nice clean rooms and friendly atmosphere. They have wifi. The continental breakfast was ok. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spcovelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greensboro hotels
1.9 mi away
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
Greensboro Marriott Downtown
#23 of 76 in Greensboro
389 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Biltmore Greensboro
The Biltmore Greensboro
#9 of 76 in Greensboro
326 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Greensboro Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Proximity Hotel
Proximity Hotel
#2 of 76 in Greensboro
473 reviews
0.8 mi away
O.Henry Hotel
O.Henry Hotel
#1 of 76 in Greensboro
529 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Greensboro Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battleground Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battleground Inn

Property: Battleground Inn
Address: 1517 Westover Terrace, Greensboro, NC 27408-7111
Region: United States > North Carolina > Greensboro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 76 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Battleground Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quaint, 48 room interior corridor, 100% non smoking facility is convenient to shopping and restaurants. We are located next door to the Women's Hospital and within 10 minutes drive from Battleground National Park, Downtown Greensboro, Greensboro Coliseum, Greensboro Science Center, Greensboro Aquatic Center, UNCG, NC A&T, Elon Law School and Greensboro College. We offer complimentary breakfast and internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Battleground Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Battleground Hotel Greensboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing