We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful view and friendly staff”
Review of Maweninga Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maweninga Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful view and friendly staff”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The staff is all native and very very friendly. Not very professional but still good enough to make you feel fine. The views from the social area and rooms are astonishing. One of the most beautiful sunsets we have ever seen, mountains, lake, baoba trees, the sun. You can sit on cushions laid on the warm rock, around fire, drink the good tanzanian Serengeti, Nduvu or Kilimanjaro beer and relax waiting for your dinner. Food is only correct, nothing more then this. But despiste a very simple place it is in one of the best parks, the Tarangire.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FABKIRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    42
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
68
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This camp has a great view over Tarangire - beautiful setting for watching the sun set and a nice fire pit for sitting round at night.

Good base for exploring the park also.

It can be a little tricky to remember which tent is yours but apart from that liked this tented camp a lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband and I were here the second week of Feb 2013 for 2 nights. The first night that we stayed we were the only two people there which was very cool. The service was excellent and the people who worked there extremely friendly. My husband and I learned quite a bit of Swahili in our first two days. We loved the tents, they were elevated on rocks and very comfortable with full bathrooms and showers. The view from our room and from the dining room of lake Burungi is spectacular. It was great to sit out there after a hot day on Safari with a cold beer. The staff even surprised us with a cake for our anniversary. we booked the trip through ATR and everything they booked for us was perfect. Our only issue was the tse tse flies, but they were not in the camp itself and only in some places in the Tarangire park. It was a small price to pay for such a beautiful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kellyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and thought the food was excellent at this camp. We loved the sweeping views (watched a huge distant lightening storm on our first night) and sitting watching the light change at the end of a safari day with a cold beer. The fire pit was gorgeous. We went at the end of November and had the camp to ourselves for 2 whole nights. The staff were relaxed and friendly and the bar/restaurant perched on the boulders is spectacular. The tents were comfortable with hot showers and spotlessly clean. Tsetse flies mainly come out in certain areas of the park mid-afternoon and we had no problem with them in the camp at all. A few rustling of rock Hyrax running over the tent roof at night but all adds to the rustic yet comfortable experience of something utterly different and memorable. Look out for the stunning blue and orange lizards that bask on the rocks!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

When we arrived at the Mawe Ninga Camp and were met in the parking lot by an entourage of very polite staff bearing welcome drinks of fresh fruit juice we realized the word ‘camp’ did not have the same connotations as it does in North America. We were then shown around the dining area, bar and the outdoor lounge. The tour ended with a viewing of our digs for the night.
The rooms are permanent tents of the luxury variety. Very nice rooms with ensuite and a great view. You do have to watch out for the rodents. Even though we had the tent zipped and velcroed a squirrel managed to get in and tried to steal a bag of cashew nuts we had on the table.
Dinner was served in the dining room at the prescribed time and was excellent. Chicken curry was the main course was very tasty and not so spicy as to make ones mouth burn. I had to use a little restraint to not over eat.
Due to the remote location the night sky was astounding. I do not know which stars I was looking at but was mesmerized by them just the same.
We returned to our room under the escort of an armed guard. I think a bit of overkill but they may prefer not to loose too many clients to the animals.
In the morning we woke to a symphony of birds, a very pleasant alarm clock.
The cost of the room listed on our itinerary was about $500/night for a double room. I don’t know the breakdown details but even with the good service and nice rooms I do think it is too expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MurTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union Grove, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Maweninga is built on a granite outcropping overlooking Lake Burungi on the western side of Tarangire. The camp is well laid out with each tent located in such a way as to provide privacy from surrounding tents. All the tents are built on elevated platforms with private decks offering fantastic views of the surrounding area. Tents are large, well appointed and contain an in-suite bathroom/shower. Everyone meets around the campfire to enjoy a drink and watch the sun set over Lake Burungi before dinner. While the food was basic, it was good with dinner being probably our favorite meal. We chose to pack a box lunch each day and stay out on safari all day. We found the staff to be very friendly if you made an attempt to get to know them.
This camp provided excellent value and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Tent #15 at the back of camp was newer and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monceaux sur Dordogne
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Having had a spectacular first day on safari, we possibly wouldn't have noticed any "faults" if there were any! Good camp layout, nice restaurant / bar area, space between tents & lovely individual verandahs. Friendly welcome, but, overall, not all staff perhaps as willing to please as in some of our other stops. None-the-less, we really enjoyed our stay and would go again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChezArchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
6.8 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
575 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
391 reviews
10.0 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#10 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
265 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
438 reviews
15.7 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maweninga Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maweninga Camp

Property: Maweninga Camp
Address: | Tarangire National Park, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Mawe Ninga Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing