We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mawa Ninga Camp - remote and beautiful”
Review of Maweninga Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maweninga Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Mawa Ninga is part of MKSC group which is French owned and also operates other camps such as Olaado, Ronjo and Olduvai.

Mawa Ninga is located on top of Tarangiri Hill and has a gorgeous panoramic view over Lake Manyara and Lake Burundi.
There are 8 fixed tent like cabins with shower (tank) and real toilet which are nicely appointed and all have a balcony , some with a nice view. In front of the restaurant is a fire pit with lounge chairs which is great for drinks at sundown. The staff is friendly and service can be expedited a bit through tipping. A lone Masai assists with various tasks while dressed in traditional clothing which must include a special pocket for his cellphone. Food is average but good which can be expected for such a remote location. Bring bug spray and watch the Tse Tse flies. Good location to see elephants. Good place for romance!

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchtreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2008

The Mawe Ninga camp is in a great position in the heart of the Tarangire National Park, which means that you can enjoy a great game drive on the way to the camp. The accommodation is simple, although having a proper shower and toilet felt like luxury, considering the remote location. Our Tent also had a little balcony so you could enjoy the sunset and the beautiful scenary. The restaurant is situated in an elevated position from where you can enjoy the view, after dinner you can sit around the fire and chat or simply enjoy the sounds of Africa. The staff was nice, possibly a bit shy. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this camp. Also, a lot of people we met on safari did not have Tarangire on their itinerary but it was an amazing part of our holiday and personally i'd recommend not to miss it while in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyds76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed today
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: demandez une vue sur la savane
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan7001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: apportez une torche electrique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JDG220643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#11 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
90 reviews
15.8 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#3 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
254 reviews
16.6 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
283 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
626 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maweninga Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maweninga Camp

Address: | Tarangire National Park, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Mawe Ninga Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing