We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Tented Camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maramboi Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Tented Camp”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This place was great. The staff was very nice. The grounds were beautiful. The tent was perfect. It was clean and had running, hot water at all hours of the day. We had zebras and impala right off of our porch. The food was average. For the box lunch, you got to pack your own which was nice because you waste less food compared to other places that pack it for you. They had a charging station in the main area that was always turned on. We happened to have the very last tent that was furthest away from the main area. It was nice and private. However, I was a little scared walking to it in the dark. They did have Massai people with bow and arrows to walk you to your room at night.

If you are debating if a tented camp is for you, this one is very comfortable and I would recommend to anyone.

They gave us the best exchange rate of anywhere. 1400TZS per $1.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie1427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    231
    44
    9
    2
See reviews for
278
434
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Having stayed at the Lake Manyara, Seronera and Ngorongoro Wild Life Lodges, the last night of our safari was spent here, and it proved to better than all of them. Welcome was great, room was lovely, bathroom was lovely, food was very good, breakfast was plentiful and you could actually choose what you wanted for a packed lunch in the Park. Swimming pool was very pretty, as the location is beautiful, although we arrived too late in the day to swim, but enjoyed watching the sunset with a drink in hand. Unlike the other lodges, no problem here with hot water or electricity - they have sensibly put in solar panels. If we are on another safari, we will definitely try out the other luxury tented camps, as they are better than the hotels. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms have terraces and a view watching the wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellersalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at Maramboi for two nights and loved every minute of it.
The tented lodges are clean, spacious and offer a great view of the park and zebras grazing.
The atmosphere was simply beautiful, the food was of good quality and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckdnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Great location if you would like to see the Tarangire National Park (it is actually in the part area). The location has tented rooms (but of course the word tented in this context is different). Full bath and WC, tables, beds with mosquito nets. The service and personnel are outstanding. The food is so so, as it is rather on the bland side and very european (read white). Would have preferred more spiced food. Mosquitos are a problem so use OFF or equivalent. Would recommend this highly!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCruiser914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeeland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This place is beautiful. The staff was courteous and the food was delicious. Upon arrival, we were welcomed with fresh juice and snacks, and our tent was perfect. The setting allows for plenty of wildlife viewing as zebra, wildebeest, reedbuck, and warthog were commonly seen right off our porch. We had dinner one night and then breakfast and lunch the following day, and all meals were very tasty. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would surely return if in Tanzania again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AZB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Our second night of our honeymoon and we stayed for 1 night. The room was fine, the food was nothing special, the swimming pool was the best bit overlooking the savannah. My biggest concern was that we had to leave camp very early at 4am to meet a hot air balloon. We had an animal out on our stairs all night which was not put off by us moving about in the room when waking. It was pitch black outside, the flash light was not charged and we had to walk unaided some distance on our own in the dark to the entrance to the camp to meet our guide. No one answered the phone when we called for assistance and we ended up walking in the dark armed only with the umbrella provided by the room! Considering they walked us back to the camp after dinner armed with a bow and arrow this was quite an experience and concerning that in the event of an emergency the reception/manager house is unmanned at night.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The idea of sleeping in a tented camp was very romantic. The reality wasn't quite as nice. I don't know if it was like this in every tent, but our tent had two beds, neither of which was really large enough for two people. So much for romance!

It was a walk from our tent to the dining area, and the walkway was sandy - which meant we kept finding sand in our shoes for the rest of our safari. The view from the tent was fantastic, and the dining/reception area was a lovely place to hang out and read or enjoy a drink. It was great to see the animals pass by.

The food was good, but nothing outstanding. The main thing this lodge offers is ambience and scenery - not a bad combination.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
20.7 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
398 reviews
21.5 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
593 reviews
33.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
271 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#19 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
157 reviews
30.3 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#8 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maramboi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramboi Tented Camp

Property: Maramboi Tented Camp
Address: Dodoma Road | Minjingu, Tarangire And Manyara Pans, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maramboi Tented Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanent luxury tents. Situated on a palm tree populated plain close to Lake Manyarawith magnificent views of the Rift Valley in the background. Maramboi Tented Camp features 44 suites, 4 for of them with interconnected rooms, ideally for families with children.The camp has electricity from the main electric supplier, solar panels and with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Tarangire/Lake Manyara 1 hour away.Activities: Game drives in Tarangire National Park, guided nature walks or swimming pool in the pool. Guest can visit a boma (village) of the local Datoga or Masai people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maramboi Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing