We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished I could stay here during the entire safari”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maramboi Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wished I could stay here during the entire safari”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Although not realistic that we would be in once place for the entire safari, Maramboi Tented Camp was hands down the best place we stayed at. The scenery was shockingly amazing, the staff were really friendly and helpful, the breakfasts and dinners were plentiful and very delicious. The "tent" itself was not a tent. It was better than some hotels I have stayed in. Overall, an excellent experience.

My only tip is, make sure your outdoor lamp is OFF while you are having dinner. Otherwise, you get 1000's of little + huge bugs stuck to your tent and you would have fun getting in without inviting them in as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SharonNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    226
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
264
429
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Our group stayed here following our trip to Tarangire National Park. I was really surprised about how much I liked this camp. It was my favorite of the trip. It seemed like a perfect
safari atmosphere. Sitting in the lounge area and soaking in the surrounding scenery. We
were expecting to stay in one of their tent accommadation but ended up in their hard sided family cottage. It was clean, spacious, with plenty of hot water and 24 hour electricity. I thought the dinner and breakfast buffets were good. There was a buffet to fix your box lunch which I liked doing. I regreted that we were not there long enough to use the pool and I wish we had stayed another day. It was definitely well worth the money.

The scenery was very pretty surrounding the camp with herds of zebra and wildebeest. It was a surprising contrast to the drier Tarangire park area and it was not that far from the main road to Tarangire Park.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EdenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We only stayed one night and I would give a 5/5 if it wasn't for a couple of little things. When we arrived, we were told that our rooms had a problem with the electricity and they needed to move us. We had combined triple and double rooms. After a very long wait with complete darkness upon us, we were shown to the very last possible building, a very rough trek and a very long way from the reception area. There were several men still reconstructing a third bed in one room. The doors were open, the lights were on and hundreds of various bugs had joined them. As we were fresh "Off the turnip truck" the mosquitoes were especially alarming. The bed nets in both rooms were still in their daytime positions, neatly rolled up around the bed posts. The adjoining door was open, so both rooms shared the bugs. Needless to say, we were all bitten several times by mosquitoes inside the bed nets that night.
The other problem I had was that the food for the boxed lunches was arranged on a table outside on the patio. When it was unattended, several bird were stealing meat from the partially protected trays of beef and of chicken. Yes there were also flies. The birds also joined us in the partially netted dining area. We scared a bird off of someone's unguarded breakfast. They need more of those hanging bead things. I think there were more screens that were not put down.
Now for the positives. The place was amazing. Absolutely beautiful. The rooms we stayed in were large and clean with real bathrooms with real doors. Nice hot showers.The rooms were bug tight with decorative grill work over the windows to keep out larger unwanted guests. There were lots of windows with heavy zip down covers. The back decks were wonderful and shared an extraordinary view of the lake. Early in the morning there was a wildebeest and a small herd of zebras calmly grazing while a lone hyena loped past. Flamingos looked like a pink cloud in the distance on the lake.
It was very quiet out where we were. As all the rooms are solar powered, only wildlife made any noise. Hyenas at dawn?
The food at the small buffet both at supper and breakfast was excellent. There was a local dish or two to try and everything was delicious. There was steaming hot milk for the coffee or for hot chocolate. Staff was friendly and helpful (other than the guys letting bug into rooms!). There was a place to charge batteries etc in the dining room.
The decks and sitting areas were large and comfortable both indoor and out with amazing views. We didn't try the pool, but it looked inviting and the entire place was beautiful.
There are washrooms by the reception area. Good thing as some of those rooms are far away! Bring your flashlight!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake, some do not have one. The furthest rooms from the central ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrishE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Spending the night in a very well-appointed tent after a wonderful buffet dinner and a long day spent in Tarangire National Park seeing countless beautiful animals was a luxury not completely expected. The rooms are large and airy with very comfortable beds - large singles - a large bathroom with an excellent shower & lots of hot water. There were lots of choices at the buffet table and for self-chosen lunch packs and the staff were friendly and efficient. Expectations of luxury on safari have to be different than luxury in a city hotel. Sitting on the deck and watching zebras browse right in front, seeing an impala make his way up to the tent and then dart past, watching the wildebeest in the distance - all luxuries.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Everything here was really really nice, but what stands out is the cabin. It had 3 beds, but each one can hold only 1 person. The bathroom is large and airy. There was a nice deck with chairs where we sat and watched zebras play, just feet away from us. Food was pretty good, buffet style. They let you pack your own lunch box, so you can make sure you'll have something tasty later in the day.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelerPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Mo
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Permanent tent camp near Lake Manyara and Tarangire. Comfortable, well appointed tents with full bathroom facilities and a large porch. Nice, open air dining area with lovely views and grazing animals. Buffet meals were average to good. Pool is set down a long walkway in the bush with a water hole beside it. Not a luxury camp, but very nice. Only negative is that the walkways are sand, which gets tracked in the tents and in your shoes, especially when wet.

Room Tip: 21 tents, with #1 and #21 farthest from the dining area. If you want privacy, choose those. To be cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pjce717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterbury, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed at Maramboi for 2 nights while visiting Tarangire National Park. We were in tent #7, which like all of the accommodations, enjoyed a great view of Lake Manyara. Liked the 24 hour power, the immersion in nature, and the huge outside deck. We used the pool area both nights and appreciated the excellent bar service there. The view of zebra and warthogs while you swim was unbeatable. It was nice that we could enjoy our meals here with our guide, and that we could pack our own lunches. The latter eliminates lots of wasted food. Breakfast and dinner were very good, served outdoors in a great setting. This was the 2nd best lodging on our trip.

Room Tip: Tent 7 has a huge deck which was perfect to sit and watch wildlife while relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjfarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
20.7 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
391 reviews
33.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
438 reviews
17.0 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#19 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
155 reviews
20.5 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#4 of 42 in Lake Manyara National Park
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maramboi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramboi Tented Camp

Property: Maramboi Tented Camp
Address: Dodoma Road | Minjingu, Tarangire And Manyara Pans, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maramboi Tented Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanent luxury tents. Situated on a palm tree populated plain close to Lake Manyarawith magnificent views of the Rift Valley in the background. Maramboi Tented Camp features 44 suites, 4 for of them with interconnected rooms, ideally for families with children.The camp has electricity from the main electric supplier, solar panels and with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Tarangire/Lake Manyara 1 hour away.Activities: Game drives in Tarangire National Park, guided nature walks or swimming pool in the pool. Guest can visit a boma (village) of the local Datoga or Masai people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maramboi Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing