We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a tent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maramboi Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent our first night on safari at Maramboi Tented Camp. What a great introduction to safari living! One is greeted with friendly staff offering hot scented towels for cleaning the dust off, then cocktails. Asante sana! Thank you very much. We relaxed on the deck/lounge/dining/pool area to recover from the day's journey and enjoy the sunset and wildlife that meandered by. The vistas were stunning. The openness of the facilities invited conviviality and interaction among the guests who had arrived from many different countries. Dinner was served buffet style, with many options for every taste. I had the lamb stew and found it to be quite tasty. Finally we made our way to our rooms, which were very spacious, very modern, and offered extraordinary views. The shower was one of my favorites of the whole safari experience. Admittedly, it is the only place in Africa I suffered any bug bites, it is also the place where I spent the most time outside after dark. Located between Tarangire National Park and Lake Manyara National Park, one has the opportunity to view the wildlife that migrates between the two protected areas. If I ever have the opportunity to return to this part of the world again, this lodge would definitely be on my list to visit again.

Room Tip: One must have an escort when coming and going to one's room after dark, and the rooms far from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DefyingGravity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Jambo is the Swahili greeting. This along with our "welcome" drink helped us relax into the "poly poly" life of Tanzania.

The Maramboi Tent Camp gives you the feeling that you are living life like Isak Dinesen except with a bit more luxury. We loved hearing the herd of zebras graze outside our windows at night.

This was a great way to start our safari adventure. Gladys of Gladys Adventures helped make all our travel arrangements.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake have a more expansive view. Also, the rooms further away from the dining r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenDark30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Friends and I stayed at Maramboi Tented Camp for a night in February and had a very pleasant evening. We arrived early enough to enjoy a drink in the beautiful reception/lounge area, watching wildlife roam in the distance. Our rooms were spacious and clean. Staff were friendly and service was attentive. All meals were served buffet style and we generally enjoyed the food. You can select from a somewhat limited selection of foods to make your own lunch box. That was a practice we endorse, in part because you can pick those things you like. As a result, there is probably less waste. As well, we generally found that the camps packed us huge lunches, much more that we could possibly eat. By packing our own lunch, we were able to manage portions and, again in this away, reduce waste. We really enjoyed the outdoor dining but wasps and birds were a bit of a nuisance in the morning. The wasps were only problematic at breakfast but they were around in large numbers and were quite off putting. The birds didn't bother us directly but, when no one was tending the buffet area, they were into the food on the tables. I recognize that it's tough to manage these "pests" when dining outdoors but sharing food with the birds is not a healthy practice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Where else can you have zebras outside your tent in the AM? This was truly a wonderful place to stay. As with the other "tented" camps, the only thing about the tent part was the walls are make of canvas. this place even had a real door. The staff were friendly and the food quite good (except for the box lunch). We liked the buffet style. We went for a walk with a Masai that was quite an experience too. After an all day safari drive, it is enjoyable to walk a bit. As with the other camps, wished we could have stayed longer, perhaps enjoyed the pool. No free wifi here, that would be nice considering how expensive it is.
Blake & Claudia

Room Tip: all seem to be great
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Blake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

6/1/14 - We arrived at Maramboi around 6pm after our tour around TNP. We were met with a much appreciated cold drink and towel, the bar area had great views over the Rift Valley and Manyara NP with zebras and warthogs wandering around in front of us and a lovely place to sit and have a cold drink whilst watching the sun set. Once we were briefed we had a cold beer and took a walk to look at the pool and take photos then we were taken to our “tent” and wow it was great. The "tent" was on a raised platform with a "proper" door and thatched roof. We had two big twin beds c/w nets, desk and chair, fan, somewhere to hang our clothes and put our case, spacious bathroom complete with shower, loo, sink and even a hairdryer. We had buffet food here which was good and ate with our guide. They do guided walks to the lake but unfortunately we did not have time to do this, it looked an easy walk as the ground was flat and I believe took about 1.5 hours.
Breakfast was a buffet and again very good. We were joined by our guide and also a cheeky superb starling (to be known as brown shorts) who sat on the back of our chair and then jumped onto an empty plate and picked about at the crumbs, he was then joined by another.
We didn't leave until 9.30 so had some time to admire the views of lots of flamingos and maribou at the lake with zebra, wildebeast, warthogs and impala wandering around the foreground.
Internet was available at a charge.
A very comfortable stay, we liked this lodge very much.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindyloo-2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Our 2 nights stay at this tented hotel were filled with adrenaline. They were mostly sleepless nights, but they so worth it. You want to sleep when gnu and imapalas come grazing near yout tent? Did not think so :). We made some incredible night videos. Not to mention that on our second night a lion came hunting.
The location itself is very nice, with incredible view and cgreat service. Food was very good, staff helpful and happy to be of service.
The tent is like a hotel room with no walls. Everthing is neat and clean and it come with a safe box. The bathroom is very spacious and all the utilities are sparkling clean.
We took box lunches one day, which I incourage you to take. You have everything you might want to eat in it and you won't have to make the trip back from the Tarangire reservation. They ask if you have allergies or any special demands before.
In conclusion, I would definitely come back here. The wild experience and the thrilling nights are incomparable to any lodge experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aerandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as we toured Tarangire National Park. We were welcomed w cold drinks and open arms. We sat as they explained about the resort and gave us info. The place was awesome. As they showed me to my tent, I was able to see zebra and wildebeest out the front porch. Tents were comfortable and large w all the amenities one would need. Food was great and staff could not do enough for you. Their love for the lodge and their country truly showed thru. Manager was on staff and was always checking to see if everything was ok. Awesome stay

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
21.5 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
613 reviews
20.7 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
406 reviews
9.0 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#11 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#6 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
283 reviews
17.0 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
81 reviews
33.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maramboi Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maramboi Tented Camp

Address: Dodoma Road | Minjingu, Tarangire And Manyara Pans, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maramboi Tented Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Permanent luxury tents. Situated on a palm tree populated plain close to Lake Manyarawith magnificent views of the Rift Valley in the background. Maramboi Tented Camp features 44 suites, 4 for of them with interconnected rooms, ideally for families with children.The camp has electricity from the main electric supplier, solar panels and with a generator as a backup.Nearest airstrip: Tarangire/Lake Manyara 1 hour away.Activities: Game drives in Tarangire National Park, guided nature walks or swimming pool in the pool. Guest can visit a boma (village) of the local Datoga or Masai people. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maramboi Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing