We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, great hospitality”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed at Kirurumu through our Imagine Africa-planned safari. Service was great - everyone went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay. A great spot if you are on safari in Tarangire / Manyara and want to stay in the middle of nature. Permanent tents are simple and a bit dated but overall a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYtraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    37
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Located just outside Tarangire National Park, you feel like you're sleeping in the wild at this tented camp! The accommodation is very clean and comfortable. You do hear some strange and slightly scary noises during the night, but that just adds to the experience!

Food is very good although not a lot of it. The staff were fun but we were never once told about the facilities such as the bar or outside seating area during our stay.

We were also slightly delayed in the morning as there were some elephants wondering through the camp and we had to wait for them! Again, it shows how close we were to Tarangire national park.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazlar_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I spent the first 2 days of our safari at Kirurumu Lodge. We really enjoyed the hospitality of the people and the room we stayed in was great. The first night we could hear an elephant's ears flapping and smell the hay that was being eaten-the elephant couldn't have been more than a few yards away from us.

I would recommend staying at the lodge to anyone who enjoys camping, but wants to still have the comforts of a bed and shower. Overall, it was very enjoyable place to stay on our first nights of the safari.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My adult daughter and I spent our last night of a 7 day/6 night safari with Safari-Infinity at the Kirurumu Tarangire Tented Camp/Lodge (also sometimes known as Tamarind Camp) and what a perfect way to end the adventure. The "camp" is located down a very bumpy road that weaves through many Maasai homes and pasture land. We were greeted with damp towels to freshen up with, and fresh juice.

The tent was on a concrete slab with a permanent thatched roof, with a front deck overlooking the wooded landscape. We were immediately advised by management that elephants and other wildlife frequent the grounds and what to do in the event of a sighting (we were provided with an emergency whistle to blow!). The tent had a solid glass and screened front door, and a beautiful balcony on which to sit and enjoy the amazing bird life. We did hear wildlife walking past the tent during the night, not elephants but maybe antelope of some variety.

We were located in tent #5, which was quite a hike from the main reception area and dining tent, but it afforded the feeling of being alone in the wilderness. Unlike at Kirurumu Manyara, we could see a tent off to our left, but we were the last in that group of tents with no neighbors to our right. It was very peaceful! I think there are only 10 tents here. We enjoyed a campfire before dinner, and dinner was served in a communal tent (I think you can request dinner beside the campfire). Dinner was ordered from a set menu with options from which to chose. Our guide was able to join us for dinner, which is important to me.

Nearby to the dining tent was a tented lounge where we spent the night chatting with our guide, Thadei, drinking a celebratory bottle of champagne as a poignant closure to our safari. Breakfast for our last morning was fresh fruits & juices, and toast and eggs made to order. Delicious!

The tent itself was clean and comfortable, as was the bed. We enjoyed the best shower of the five weeks we were in Tanzania, in an ensuite bathroom located at the back of the tent.

The staff and management were friendly, helpful, professional and gracious. My only regret is that we had only one night there. We will definitely return, and highly recommend this beautiful camp!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I had the opportunity to spend a couple of nights at the Kirurumu Tarangire lodge with my wife and son a few weeks ago. Nested up to the edge of the Tarangire National Park is a huge plus. Often the wildlife come right up to the edge of your tents. There are plenty of local Massai staff around that made our stay not only confortable but authentic. Beautiful views out onto the african plains and the food was good to boot!

Recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Despite there being so many tents around, it felt like we were quite secluded and we had a fantastic view of the bush. Love the accommodation - not a typical tent. More like a house but instead of bricks or wood, canvas has been used. Very spacious and quite luxurious. Would love to return!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This little lodge has changed over the years and has got better with age...the staff are efficient and friendly, making sure that your wants and needs are met. The tented rooms are on concrete bases with slidding doors making it feel structurally safer, particularly as you are made aware of the possibilty of elephants being in the camp at some point during your stay (we had a noctural visit along with the sounds of hyena woops and the soft rumbling of flumps and trumpting which added to the 'African safari experience'). Massive beds gave us room to spread out.
The dinning room and bar are a little away from the rooms and have not yet been made into 'permenant structures' and there is a seating area in front of the dinning room where a fire is lit every evening in prep for guests to enjoy the sun going down.
The food was table d'hote (vegetarian option, kids option and service times were offered for the kids so that they could eat before us) and was very good.
Remember to take your binoculars as the bird life is abundant, plus take advantage of the maasai led walks around the camp, we got quite close to a herd of zebras!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
0.0 mi away
Mount Meru Game Lodge & Sanctuary
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Acacia Farm Lodge
Acacia Farm Lodge
#5 of 48 in Karatu
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karama Lodge & Spa
Karama Lodge & Spa
#15 of 160 in Arusha
274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#22 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge

Property: Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kirurumu Tarangire Lodge is built on the site of the old Tamarind Camp, in land we own and looking out on a flood plain that is seasonally a rich feeding ground for elephant and much else. It is bordering the park boundary, and is ideally situated being only 10 minutes off the main tarmac road and only 15 minutes drive from the main Tarangire park gate. There are 10 permanent tented cottages built in exactly the same style as the new Kirurumu Manyara Lodge cottages and the standards are the same high standards you have always been familiar with at Manyara. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing