We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
112
35
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
35
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerspent nightsmasai guardsoverlooking the valleymagnificent viewhot waternature walkinfinity pooltarangire riversafari tripfirst stopbungalowescortlodgeparkelephantselectricity
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at this lodge a couple of weeks ago and had a great time.

Positives include the size of the lodge, a clean bathroom including solar powered showers. There is also a great view from each room and a really nice dining area overlooking a pool. The staff are extremely helpful and David the manager pays special attention to all the guests. There are animals around the area at night which is a nice touch. We found the quality of the food offered was quite good and each visitor had a personalised menu which is based on your preferences. There are only about 12 rooms and the staff outnumber the lodges comfortably.

Considering the location the negatives are not things that would prevent me from coming back however there is limited electricity, it is on for about 4 hours at night and 2 hours in the morning. There is also no wifi but if this is an issue I highly recommend that you buy an Airtel simcard before you hit the safari circuit. This lodge is within range of the internet and the simcard will cost you less than 10 USD for a week and will give unlimited internet.

This was one of the better lodges we stayed at during our stay and we really enjoyed our stay. There are also Masai walking tours offered for free (plus tip) and I highly recommend them. We went for a 2 hour tour and it was a great experience.

Overall I would stay here again in a heartbeat simply because we were treated very well.

Room Tip: A room next to the dining room would minimise your walk. Although the Masai patrol a bunch of them are permanently camped near the dining room which increases your chances of getting them immediately when you need to walk out of your room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schowdhury60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This delightful grouping of individual lodges in just outside the Tarangire National Park. The food is some of the best in Africa and the Maasai serve as security at night. The lodge is skillfully overseen by David Ole Moonka, the manager, who carefully and artfully sees to his guests' needs. The swimming pool is an excellent touch, and I went for a swim as the sun went down, with the stars overhead. At night, the lions in the distance can be heard and it makes for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letitia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is a great lodge, set right in the jungle. Each room is in a separate "boma" and Maasai warriors show you to and from your room. This appears to be more than just for show, because there were lion paw prints on the path from our room to reception!

The staff were all very friendly and attentive.

Rooms were superb, with panoramic views over Tarangire Park through the huge room windows and from the veranda. We saw Impala and Giraffe from our room and Elephant from the swimming pool area.

Food at both dinner and breakfast were excellent.

At night there was a nicely presented Maasai dance.

The rooms might get very hot. There are currently no fans or a/c, but the manager has plans.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Spent two nights as part of a tour of the northern safari circuit. The "cabin" was spacious, clean, and very comfortable with a wonderful view of the park. I had a "cabin" on the end and saw a large herd of impala grazing nearby and could hear lions and other animals at night. We arrived hot and tired and were greeted with a wet towel and a tasty glass of juice. Staff - who were so friendly and accommodating - escorted us to our rooms and were always available to escort us to the lobby and dining area and back at whatever hour. Meals - breakfast and dinner - were superb (we all loved the soups) and the menu was nicely presented each time by David, the manager. David and his entire staff made us feel like family with their pleasant demeanor, willingness to do whatever to make us comfortable, and their welcoming and friendly smiles. Thank you for a most memorable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewtravelerHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We spent 2 nights in a great room that overlooked Tarangire Park. We could see giraffe and elephants from our rear deck. The room was large and the bathroom had both an inside and outside shower. The location of the lodge is a bit off the beaten path but that added to the whole experience. There is no WiFi and they are not set up to take credit cards but that was fine with us. The staff is amazing. Very friendly and genuine. the morning walk to look for animal tracks is a must! The good was excellent, fresh and healthy. The combination of the setting, staff and food made this a very pleasurable and memorable place for us.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank pwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews