We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding location and lovely people”
Review of Osupuko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Osupuko Lodge
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here with my wife on the first day of a mini safari and it was great- real Out of Africa stuff. Views and wildlife from the lodge were out of photobooks and the all the staff were so friendly. We loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trekalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Wonderful Lodge. It is located in a great place with nice views. The service and the food was very good. They are very kind people and allways worried about you and your stay there.
If I go to Tarangire again I will go to this lodge for sure.

Room Tip: Room number 5 was fantastic!!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Osupuko lodge was part of our safari package and we had an amazing experience.
After a long day of our tour through Tarangire Park, we were ready for a hot shower and some relaxation. We were received with big welcome by the manager and the staff (with a refreshing glass of watermelon juice and wet towelette to wipe dust off our face). After a brief introduction, we were shown to our bungalow and one of the staff members came along to explain very thoroughly all the amenities in the It was right around the sunset and what a magnificent view we had! A small herd of zebras walked right by in front of our balcony!
The room was very clean and tastefully decorated with huge glass windows facing the park so that you get a full 180 degree view.
They had an indoor and outdoor shower (hot water!!), which was really wonderful.
After washing up, we called out for escort (they don't recommend you wander out of your bungalow after the sunset as there are animals roaming around freely). The dining area is set outside next to a beautiful swimming pool and a cozy bon fire. Before the dinner they had an evening entertainment of the Maasai group dance, which was a lot of fun.
Our dinner was very delicious and the wait staff was very friendly & efficient.
We were escorted back to our bungalow under twinkling stars (even the Milky Way I hadn't seen since I was a little girl!) and tucked ourselves into a comfortable, large bed.
At night we were awaken by a very strange loud noise. We were a bit freaked out by it, but in the morning we found out that it was a herd of elephants passing by our bungalow! Wow!!!!!
We set out early in the morning and the team made sure to get up an hour early to accommodate our schedule with breakfast and check out. We really wished we could stay longer to take in all and enjoy the great activities they provide as well.
The service level at Osupuko was exceptional and I really appreciated the fact that the local Maasai people were on staff. Even though we only got to stay for a day, we would love to return to Osupuko one day (hopefully soon)!
Thank you "King" David and the Osupuko staff for your hospitality and kindness!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A small lodge with friendly, personalized service on the edge of Tarangire Nat'l Park. Rooms are in separate buildings along trails that are set off from the central dining / bar / pool area. Animals roam the grounds, meaning you do not leave your building after dark without a Maasi escort, guaranteeing an opportunity to talk with local men about their heritage and locale. The manager is well-versed in local flora, fauna, and medicinal uses of both, and my only regret is the lack of time to walk with him through the area immediately surrounding the lodge. Only less-than-perfect element is water pressure when many people are trying to take a shower simultaneously - piped water does not have enough pressure to keep everyone wet at the same time. Daytime heat is tempered with in-room fans, though mosquito netting limits the fans' direct impact when in bed. But little by little the night-time temps drop and even become chilly. Sitting areas outside each room allow private contemplation of sunrise or watchful waiting for baboons or dik diks to come up from the trees. A large variety of birds could keep one busy with binoculars and bird books, as well. A lion or leopard in the night, with elephants close nearby, is not unusual. An AM walk to check the sand for tracks of night-time visitors is advised!
Food was delicious, with some local foods accenting a Euro-Indian cuisine. A limited bar with reasonable prices encourages a brief sundowner before dinner. About a 30-minute drive to the park entrance, a great stay with comforts of an urban hotel.

Room Tip: there isn't a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baglady1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This lodge is in amazing place. Really facing the Tarangire Park, from your "hut" you could see elefants...so unbelievable! Excellent service, the staff very friendly and the food excellent.
I really loved the peace of the place, so quiet, just the animals and wind! There is a shower inside and outside for the nature lovers.
Everything really perfect, just a bit hot (September) the room. I would strongly recommend it

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The general thread that runs through several reviews is regret – regret at not having been able to spend more time at Osupuko. Our sentiments entirely. It was the last stop on our 2-week safari .We arrived at about 5.30 in the evening and left at 8 A.M the next day. Too little time to take in all that Osupuko had to offer – be it the serene and tranquil surroundings ,the peace, the hospitality and warmth of the manager,David and staff ,the wonderful Maasai dancers , the knick-knacks on offer, the food etc.

Nevertheless the 14 hours we spent there were a pure delight . Thoroughly enjoyed the room allotted to us which was spacious, simple,rustic , with modern amenities and in total sync with its surroundings. The view onto Tarangire nat’l park from the sitout at the back was breathtaking and we could see animals at a distance.

The Maasai dance in the evening was entertaining , the dining area delightful, the wine and food delicious. For once the portions were the right size for us small people. Their lunch box was also the most imaginative .

Paucity of time meant we had to forgo the morning walk to look for “footprints” that had passed in the night ,something we’d been looking forward to . A pity no wild animal ventured close to the lodge during our stay(or did they?)

Osupuko was a last minute switch by our travel operator from the Maramboi .It turned out to be one of our favourite lodges on the safari .Would love to return and stay longer.

Ashe oleng David , Lucy , the Maasai staff and the beautiful Maasai women.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 250vimala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the staff , who were great to deal with for the whole two days that we were there. It's a fairly small lodge, which was good for us, with only 12 guest rooms, which were large, clean and functional, with beautiful ensuites, having both indoor and outdoor showers. From the bedrooms, you have a view overlooking Tarangire national park. At night animals graze right up to the rooms, so you do need to get staff to walk you from the rooms to the dining/reception area. The Maasai Men walk around most of the evening for security, so you feel safe! The main meeting pavilion is a modern African building, which houses the dining area, lounge area, bar, and is open to a large swimming pool. The pool is built into the side of a hill, so whilst your swimming, you can see elephants and giraffes grazing 60 metres away. The food and customer service was fantastic, the best we had in Africa. The only down side was the Tarangire National Park, wasn't a great experience, with all the sand flies swarming the car, and we felt the wildlife is so much better at the Serengeti! But this Lodge is still worth the visit just for the relaxing value and location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingsley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
13.4 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
92 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
630 reviews
13.4 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
285 reviews
24 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#3 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osupuko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osupuko Lodge

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing