We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
117
35
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
35
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower large picture leave your room a wonderful place to stay spent nights masai guards overlooking the valley magnificent view hot water nature walk after dark safari trip infinity pool food was great tarangire river first stop bungalow
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Wonderful Lodge. It is located in a great place with nice views. The service and the food was very good. They are very kind people and allways worried about you and your stay there.
If I go to Tarangire again I will go to this lodge for sure.

Room Tip: Room number 5 was fantastic!!
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Osupuko lodge was part of our safari package and we had an amazing experience.
After a long day of our tour through Tarangire Park, we were ready for a hot shower and some relaxation. We were received with big welcome by the manager and the staff (with a refreshing glass of watermelon juice and wet towelette to wipe dust off our face). After a brief introduction, we were shown to our bungalow and one of the staff members came along to explain very thoroughly all the amenities in the It was right around the sunset and what a magnificent view we had! A small herd of zebras walked right by in front of our balcony!
The room was very clean and tastefully decorated with huge glass windows facing the park so that you get a full 180 degree view.
They had an indoor and outdoor shower (hot water!!), which was really wonderful.
After washing up, we called out for escort (they don't recommend you wander out of your bungalow after the sunset as there are animals roaming around freely). The dining area is set outside next to a beautiful swimming pool and a cozy bon fire. Before the dinner they had an evening entertainment of the Maasai group dance, which was a lot of fun.
Our dinner was very delicious and the wait staff was very friendly & efficient.
We were escorted back to our bungalow under twinkling stars (even the Milky Way I hadn't seen since I was a little girl!) and tucked ourselves into a comfortable, large bed.
At night we were awaken by a very strange loud noise. We were a bit freaked out by it, but in the morning we found out that it was a herd of elephants passing by our bungalow! Wow!!!!!
We set out early in the morning and the team made sure to get up an hour early to accommodate our schedule with breakfast and check out. We really wished we could stay longer to take in all and enjoy the great activities they provide as well.
The service level at Osupuko was exceptional and I really appreciated the fact that the local Maasai people were on staff. Even though we only got to stay for a day, we would love to return to Osupuko one day (hopefully soon)!
Thank you "King" David and the Osupuko staff for your hospitality and kindness!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

A small lodge with friendly, personalized service on the edge of Tarangire Nat'l Park. Rooms are in separate buildings along trails that are set off from the central dining / bar / pool area. Animals roam the grounds, meaning you do not leave your building after dark without a Maasi escort, guaranteeing an opportunity to talk with local men about their heritage and locale. The manager is well-versed in local flora, fauna, and medicinal uses of both, and my only regret is the lack of time to walk with him through the area immediately surrounding the lodge. Only less-than-perfect element is water pressure when many people are trying to take a shower simultaneously - piped water does not have enough pressure to keep everyone wet at the same time. Daytime heat is tempered with in-room fans, though mosquito netting limits the fans' direct impact when in bed. But little by little the night-time temps drop and even become chilly. Sitting areas outside each room allow private contemplation of sunrise or watchful waiting for baboons or dik diks to come up from the trees. A large variety of birds could keep one busy with binoculars and bird books, as well. A lion or leopard in the night, with elephants close nearby, is not unusual. An AM walk to check the sand for tracks of night-time visitors is advised!
Food was delicious, with some local foods accenting a Euro-Indian cuisine. A limited bar with reasonable prices encourages a brief sundowner before dinner. About a 30-minute drive to the park entrance, a great stay with comforts of an urban hotel.

Room Tip: there isn't a bad room!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baglady1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This lodge is in amazing place. Really facing the Tarangire Park, from your "hut" you could see elefants...so unbelievable! Excellent service, the staff very friendly and the food excellent.
I really loved the peace of the place, so quiet, just the animals and wind! There is a shower inside and outside for the nature lovers.
Everything really perfect, just a bit hot (September) the room. I would strongly recommend it

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The general thread that runs through several reviews is regret – regret at not having been able to spend more time at Osupuko. Our sentiments entirely. It was the last stop on our 2-week safari .We arrived at about 5.30 in the evening and left at 8 A.M the next day. Too little time to take in all that Osupuko had to offer – be it the serene and tranquil surroundings ,the peace, the hospitality and warmth of the manager,David and staff ,the wonderful Maasai dancers , the knick-knacks on offer, the food etc.

Nevertheless the 14 hours we spent there were a pure delight . Thoroughly enjoyed the room allotted to us which was spacious, simple,rustic , with modern amenities and in total sync with its surroundings. The view onto Tarangire nat’l park from the sitout at the back was breathtaking and we could see animals at a distance.

The Maasai dance in the evening was entertaining , the dining area delightful, the wine and food delicious. For once the portions were the right size for us small people. Their lunch box was also the most imaginative .

Paucity of time meant we had to forgo the morning walk to look for “footprints” that had passed in the night ,something we’d been looking forward to . A pity no wild animal ventured close to the lodge during our stay(or did they?)

Osupuko was a last minute switch by our travel operator from the Maramboi .It turned out to be one of our favourite lodges on the safari .Would love to return and stay longer.

Ashe oleng David , Lucy , the Maasai staff and the beautiful Maasai women.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 250vimala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews