We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis on safari !!!”
Review of Osupuko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Osupuko Lodge
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here on the first night of an 8 day safari and were so impressed from the moment we arrived. Lucy, the manager, and the Masai's that delivered our luggage and gave us a 'room tour' were all so friendly and welcoming.
The rooms were beautiful with fantastic views over Tarangire . We loved all the food provided and the guided walking safari before breakfast with the Masai's .
We just wished our safari had included more than one night at our favourite accomodation of the whole trip !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BazAndColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was one of our favorite lodges. It was clean and very tasteful. The view from our room was amazing. I only wish we could have spent more time enjoying our private patio. We only stayed for one night so we didn't really get to enjoy our stay as much as I would have liked. The food was good and the staff were all very kind. We are planning a return trip in another two years and plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Znaoic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just got back from Tanzania (March 2014) where we spent 1 night outside the Tarangire park at Osupuko. Beautiful rooms! Quite spacious with a fantastic bathroom. Amenities and outside shower in addition to the inside one was grand! Great views from every one! Wildlife right outside our door! Great viewing patio from the room. Great location just 5 minutes from the park gate! Service was special and food was great. Only complaint was the ventilation of the room was poor but they provided fans that were a godsend! SO much food but it was better than some 5 star restaurants I've eaten at! Pool was a great way to cool off after a long safari. LOVELY!

Room Tip: Choose a dry month to travel, the room was just hot and muggy but that's not their fault! Mine f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Lucy the manager has the best handshake in Tanzania. What a great host for our two night stay here. Right on the edge of the Tarangire Park (excellent for lions, elephants, birds, baboons, cheetah etc...) From the pool I spotted a warthog walking by. Meals wee excellent. We took many box breakfast and lunch so we could be in the park which is a few minutes drive to get in through the main entrance.
But like I said your rooms are on the edge, so we saw waterbuck, baboons from our porch, and also a green mamba on our front steps. (Watch your step :) We also took a Maasai guided walk and had a blast with that as well. For sure if your plans include Tarangire Park, stay here. I had plenty of time to charge batteries, and take a warm shower.

Room Tip: closer to the main lodge will save you some walking, but all rooms looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianArtforAnimals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here with my wife on the first day of a mini safari and it was great- real Out of Africa stuff. Views and wildlife from the lodge were out of photobooks and the all the staff were so friendly. We loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trekalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Wonderful Lodge. It is located in a great place with nice views. The service and the food was very good. They are very kind people and allways worried about you and your stay there.
If I go to Tarangire again I will go to this lodge for sure.

Room Tip: Room number 5 was fantastic!!
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Osupuko lodge was part of our safari package and we had an amazing experience.
After a long day of our tour through Tarangire Park, we were ready for a hot shower and some relaxation. We were received with big welcome by the manager and the staff (with a refreshing glass of watermelon juice and wet towelette to wipe dust off our face). After a brief introduction, we were shown to our bungalow and one of the staff members came along to explain very thoroughly all the amenities in the It was right around the sunset and what a magnificent view we had! A small herd of zebras walked right by in front of our balcony!
The room was very clean and tastefully decorated with huge glass windows facing the park so that you get a full 180 degree view.
They had an indoor and outdoor shower (hot water!!), which was really wonderful.
After washing up, we called out for escort (they don't recommend you wander out of your bungalow after the sunset as there are animals roaming around freely). The dining area is set outside next to a beautiful swimming pool and a cozy bon fire. Before the dinner they had an evening entertainment of the Maasai group dance, which was a lot of fun.
Our dinner was very delicious and the wait staff was very friendly & efficient.
We were escorted back to our bungalow under twinkling stars (even the Milky Way I hadn't seen since I was a little girl!) and tucked ourselves into a comfortable, large bed.
At night we were awaken by a very strange loud noise. We were a bit freaked out by it, but in the morning we found out that it was a herd of elephants passing by our bungalow! Wow!!!!!
We set out early in the morning and the team made sure to get up an hour early to accommodate our schedule with breakfast and check out. We really wished we could stay longer to take in all and enjoy the great activities they provide as well.
The service level at Osupuko was exceptional and I really appreciated the fact that the local Maasai people were on staff. Even though we only got to stay for a day, we would love to return to Osupuko one day (hopefully soon)!
Thank you "King" David and the Osupuko staff for your hospitality and kindness!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
13.4 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#11 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
90 reviews
12.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
413 reviews
24 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#3 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osupuko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osupuko Lodge

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing