We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent base for viewing this national park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An excellent base for viewing this national park”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Tarangire Sopa Lodge was good standard lodge with the all mod cons and good food but a limited choice. There is a open area pool area where we relaxed with a buffet lunch and very welcome cold drink.. The staff were very pleasant and attentive but sometimes tried a bit too hard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLNEYONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    253
    87
    18
    5
See reviews for
129
283
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Over the preceding two weeks we had been staying at various Serena Lodges and had only one night (fortunately) at this property at the end of our safari. On arrival, at lunch time, we were TOLD where we had to sit and with whom we HAD TO sit at the pool restaurant, despite the fact there was only one other table occupied! The property gave the impression that it was going broke/about to close. Only common area lighting that absolutely had to be on was on. 80% of the lobby restaurant was roped off (and, hence, the views were off limits as the area we were forced to eat in was at the furthest point from the windows). The kitchen staff sat at a table next to us and had their evening meal...very strange. Breakfast consisted of the smallest, meanest buffet we have ever seen. It's a real pity - the staff are mostly friendly, the rooms are fantastic and the common areas beautiful (you just can't enjoy all that marble, as most of the lights are off!) To get from the rooms to the lobby or restaurants you must walk through a strange, seemingly unfinished, concrete area under the main lobby. There is a large fountain there but it's turned off. It's all kind of creepy and sad. On a positive note, a herd of elephants crossed our path as we wandered back to our room after dinner. There are gorgeous Bush Hyrax everywhere at this property. Take note, though - the property is awash with scorpions!

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a distance from the lobby/restaurants/pool. It didn't bother us but anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregtrevGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This lodge is right in the middle of the Tarangire National Park. It has a lovely pool area, where guests can also dine alfresco and sip a cool drink. The bar area is decorated to character and the terrace has excellent views, particularly at sunset. The rooms on the ground floor, which is where i stayed, seemed very dark. They are sheltered by the trees, and therefore do not have a view or much light. However, they are very big rooms and mine had 2 double beds in complete with mosquito nets. the bathroom is also large and in particular the shower, although not very powerful. The beds are turned down and the nets pulled across whilst you are at dinner. Staff are polite and helpful and food good, although more of a choice on the menu would be welcomed.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor to ensure you have a view and daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel, and specifically its staff has been the highlight of all our travels of the last years. Attention to detail, excellent food and spacious family rooms are but a few of the highlights. Book a packed breakfast and enjoy it at the picnic spot in the park with an excellent few of nature. Sopa's service made us recommend it to many people, all of which had excactly the same delightful experience there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Wow! We were really impressed with this hotel. Rooms were very large with a sitting room at the entry and two double beds with mosquito net around both. Everything was first class with enthusiastic and attentive staff. These hotels operate on generated power so that hot water is limited to morning and afternoons. The only down side, we agreed the meals, although good, we're not at 5 star standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed here on day 6 of our 6 night safari booked with Bobby's Tours in Arusha. Our last night away.

The rooms were very good here. Smaller than the Serengeti Sopa but nice. They were a little warm at night tbh, even with the fan running.

Our room was downed (prepared for bedtime) each night. The mosquito net surrounded both double beds and it was like a little camp. Really cosy! I must say the room attendants were great here too.

We thought the internal public areas here were fabulous. Very classically decorated and furnished. Very similar to the Wildlife Lake Manyara (not a Sopa Lodge). We didn't have much time to enjoy these areas during our trip but on this occasion we ordered a bottle of wine. Drank in the bar area, relocated to the restaurant to eat, then returned to the bar with what remained. We paced ourselves! It was a great environment to enjoy a drink in.

The restaurant here for dinner was half table and half buffet service. There was more staff interaction here than Ngorongoro but less than Serengeti. Breakfast was a buffet type set up . Food was good with a variety of choice.

The atmosphere here was far better with the staff doing a similar performance during dinner of singing at one end of the restaurant and then walking round. Their 10min performance was greeted with smiles and clapping. Again a really great touch and experience.

A small down side was some of the external public areas smelt of animal urine. It can be expected though due to the environment you're in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncle-Jayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had a good stay at the lodge. We were there as a family and the children and I enjoyed playing in the pool. Very good for children as it is not too deep and has an interesting round shape which was good for playing all sorts of racing games, etc, and most importantly not crowded with too many guests at any time. The room was clean, more basic than luxury. I did enjoy the buffet as did other in the group. There were interesting dishes and some very nicely spiced, even Indian-style. Given the fact that food in anglophone Africa is not half as good as that in Francophone Africa, I was pleasantly surprised and ate very well. This was our first lodge and it was better so as they got more luxurious as the trip continued. All in all I can recommend for clean, decent lodging, especially if with kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
394 reviews
15.7 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
442 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#10 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#20 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#23 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Property: Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarangire Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tarangire Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarangire Sopa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing