We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average lodge in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The lodge is located in a stunning location but like the other sopa lodge we stayed in this one too was tired and dated.

The rooms were very dark, even with all lights on it was difficult to see. My friend stepped on a scorpion inside her room. Luckily she had her shoes on!

The food was okay and the service was good.

The location however is great with lots of rock hyrax, agamas and hornbills around the lodge. The was the most charming part of my stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notintentonarriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We spent an overnight here on 2days safari in Tarangire and it was real nice. The lodge was luxurious with nice swimming pool, the room was large, clean and comfortable. The staffs were friendly and food was good. I wish we could have spent more nights here with less gamedrive

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 74tomn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for our last night in Tanzania and was so disappointed. The setting is lovely, the place looked luxurious, the rooms spacious and indeed the best mosquito nets on our whole trip. Sounds good? The whole place is very dark, the bedrooms are so dark that you cannot read in bed with the light all full on. In fact the feel is depressing. The hot water is only on for a few hours each day, and even then not when they say, we ended our amazing holiday with COLD showers and no hot water at all. Admittedly it was at the end of their season but no way to treat paying customers. There was not much choice for food with a limited menu again I think due to it closing for the rainy season.
This was the worst hotel on our whole trip and much prefer the Serena group of hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMM22101963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

A last hotel stay of a two week trip. Another hotel where we really weren't there long enough to give a very thorough review, but we found the time we were there to be just fine! One thing I appreciated very, very much, was having a ceiling fan over the bed!!! It's the little things in life, but I was genuinely excited about this!

The wifi worked in the lobby, the buffet meals were fine, pretty typical, but fine. We did have a lunch by the pool on the day of our departure, which was very nice. The food was good, the service friendly and it was a nice way to end a particularly fabulous visit to Tanzania.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jperkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Tarangire Sopa Lodge was good standard lodge with the all mod cons and good food but a limited choice. There is a open area pool area where we relaxed with a buffet lunch and very welcome cold drink.. The staff were very pleasant and attentive but sometimes tried a bit too hard.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COLNEYONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Over the preceding two weeks we had been staying at various Serena Lodges and had only one night (fortunately) at this property at the end of our safari. On arrival, at lunch time, we were TOLD where we had to sit and with whom we HAD TO sit at the pool restaurant, despite the fact there was only one other table occupied! The property gave the impression that it was going broke/about to close. Only common area lighting that absolutely had to be on was on. 80% of the lobby restaurant was roped off (and, hence, the views were off limits as the area we were forced to eat in was at the furthest point from the windows). The kitchen staff sat at a table next to us and had their evening meal...very strange. Breakfast consisted of the smallest, meanest buffet we have ever seen. It's a real pity - the staff are mostly friendly, the rooms are fantastic and the common areas beautiful (you just can't enjoy all that marble, as most of the lights are off!) To get from the rooms to the lobby or restaurants you must walk through a strange, seemingly unfinished, concrete area under the main lobby. There is a large fountain there but it's turned off. It's all kind of creepy and sad. On a positive note, a herd of elephants crossed our path as we wandered back to our room after dinner. There are gorgeous Bush Hyrax everywhere at this property. Take note, though - the property is awash with scorpions!

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite a distance from the lobby/restaurants/pool. It didn't bother us but anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregtrevGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This lodge is right in the middle of the Tarangire National Park. It has a lovely pool area, where guests can also dine alfresco and sip a cool drink. The bar area is decorated to character and the terrace has excellent views, particularly at sunset. The rooms on the ground floor, which is where i stayed, seemed very dark. They are sheltered by the trees, and therefore do not have a view or much light. However, they are very big rooms and mine had 2 double beds in complete with mosquito nets. the bathroom is also large and in particular the shower, although not very powerful. The beds are turned down and the nets pulled across whilst you are at dinner. Staff are polite and helpful and food good, although more of a choice on the menu would be welcomed.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor to ensure you have a view and daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
412 reviews
12.5 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
283 reviews
18.3 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#3 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
488 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#10 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
89 reviews
13.3 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Sopa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Sopa Lodge

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: £413 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarangire Sopa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Tarangire Sopa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarangire Sopa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing