We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“true tenting and safari - booked via TrueAfrica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“true tenting and safari - booked via TrueAfrica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I am late in writing this. We stayed at Oliver's the first week of September 2013.
We booked the stay through Troy Smith at TrueAfrica and we were very happy with everything.
This is a true tented camp and we absolutely enjoyed our stay!!
Rangers, food, staff, safety ==> all excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    25
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
103
214
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Tarangire park and its elephants are wonderful. The camp is fantastic with a family atmosphere. Food is lovely. The tents are nicely isolated and very comfortable. At night, we saw hyenas right in front of the tent. The walking safari was an unforgettable experience and Lewis, the head guide, is by himself worth the trip. I can't remember the name of the manager who was there a few weeks while the usual managers took a break, but she was great a gave a very nice atmosphere. Thanks to all.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ludwig63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Camp and it was really fantastic. Everything is great; the staff, the outdoor shower, the food and the hospitality was amazing. The people are all so friendly and it was nice to sit around the fire and have diner together with the other guests. In the night you hear many animals and one morning we saw the footprints of a lion. We would love to come back very soon.

Room Tip: The rooms are as far as I know all the same! I would not hesitate and book whenever you want to go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Loved this camp!!!!!! Was very active with animals. Felt incredibly safe and loved the outdoor shower.
The camp managers Jackie and Justin were so welcoming, and the staff just a delight, especially the local massai Supert who was as sweet as they come. I wanted to pack him up and bring him home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwafricakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Could not recommend Olivers, it's staff and it's managers, Jackie and Justin, more highly. We stayed for the first two nights of our honeymoon and were just blown away by the location, food and service. Make sure to take a walking tour (hopefully, with Blessed).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Oliver's Camp in late November of this year. We stayed for 2 nights. Everything about our stay was magnificent. The accommodations were great, very comfortable, love hearing the lions roar at night. Views down into the valley were beautiful. The food was excellent as well as the friendly setting. Jackie and Justin were excellent hosts. My daughter, 18 yr old, loved talking conservation with Justin. We went on a walking safari for 3 1/2 hours with Blessed and it was exciting and we learned so much we had not known. We were especially lucky to see a Serval on the walk. I would recommend this camp (and have) to everyone who is thinking of going to Tarangire.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staugtaximom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our family visited Olivers just prior to Xmas 2013, 17-19th Dec. 3 things make this place precious. 1) The People. From Jackie and Justin to all the staff it is very special. Our teenagers loved Blessed, one of the most knowledgeable persons on Africa any of us have ever met (animals/plants or otherwise). 2) The Service. From the food to the 'bush television' drinks, it is extraordinarily welcoming and open. The night cameras gave everyone additional insights, (no Honey Badgers this time for us). The crew who got us out when we got stuck in the safari mud were just hilarious. Talk about enthusiasm and swift action! 3) The Ambiance. The place feels and sounds like the Africa you might hope for. You are right amongst nature, birdsong and night-sounds. The layout of the camp and style encourages you to be a 'natural' part of this experience. In short, this is an experience for all ! While this camp may 'peak' in terms of animal density at other times of year as some of the animals migrate further North or out of the park at/after the short rains, there is no shortage of interest. Would love to return and spend more time, maybe as part of a 2 stop tour in Tarangire (north and south). The beauty of the park is hard to put into words. Vast elephant herds, giraffe and beautiful baobab trees make it very special indeed. Worth supporting the camp charity/environmental project too. It looks very forward thinking as well as crucial to the ecosystem.

Room Tip: Any room ! We were at 6 and 7 and the sunset is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
8.4 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
25.3 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#22 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Africa, just as it should be. Oliver's Camp - in the remote southern reaches of Tarangire National Park - has just 10 beautifully appointed safari tents in a spectacular location close to the game-dense Silale Swamps and overlooking a flood plain of the Minyonyo Pools. Oliver's was inspired by the trailblazing camps that pioneered the early days of safari. It gives you direct access to the dense concentration of wildlife you will find year-round in this remote region, as well as the chance to enjoy walking safaris and fly camping. Oliver's is intimate and personal, staffed by a world-class team that has worked together for many years to perfect a safari experience that guests consistently rank among their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver`s Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing