We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better way to end 2 spectacular weeks in Africa !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Our family of 4, traveling with a guide and organized by a small tour company, spent 2 wonderful weeks in Africa. We stayed in many lovely places but Tarangire Safari Lodge, which was our last stop, was beyond our expectations in many ways! The Lodge itself is absolutely lovely, open, spacious and welcoming. The people we met were friendly, helpful and met our every need. One of our sons was ill and the management went out of their way to make him comfortable! Wonderful "happy hour" on the deck watching the sun set over the savanna, delicious food, absolutely gorgeous views down to the river, great tents.... what is not to love. If we could go back to Africa from California today, just for one night.... this is where we would go - hands down!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragonflylady3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarangireSafariLodge, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2011

Thank you so much for your positive review and happy to hear
that you all enjoyed your stay and that you recommend our lodge.
Look forward to welcoming you back again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
There are newer reviews for Tarangire Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

Our safari operator inadvertently did not receive confirmation for our stay at Tarangire Safari Lodge. While she tried finding alternate lodges (and finding out there was not availability in or out of the park) the park manager was very nice and gracious in explaining the situation. I am not sure if her being a friend of our safari operator played a huge role in the solution, but the management was more than gracious in trying to accomodate us. They set up tents for us in the swimming pool area along with mattresses and torches. The lodge staff made sure we were very comfortable. The meals were delicious and the view out of the is world. Annette was very kind and we were more than happy to be able to have stayed here...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank travelfamilysandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Feb 2011 was our 2nd visit to the lodge. It is a fantastic place to stay, hence the return visit. We cannot fault our stay in any way. Everything about the lodge was really great--accommodation great (tented area), the food-always plenty of it; everyone was so friendly and helpful, and of course the views and wildlife -absolutely stunning. When out on Safari we saw everything. It was a great time of the year to go--fully recommend the whole experience to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Great accomodation in either tents or small cabins. Swimming pool. We saw cheetah & a whole pride of lions & cubs and all in just 1 weekend from Arusha. The owners & the staff are the best, so friendly & knowledgable. And buffet breakfast wonderful after an early safari

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank V H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

When we arrived it appeared there had been a miscommunication and we had one room in the tents and one in the bungalows and both rooms were relatively far from eachother which is not ideal with children. There were no alternatives to move them closer as all other rooms were already occupied. When we were sitting later in the evening on the terrace, the owner came to us to appologize. Her friendlyness made up for the small inconvenience. In addition, the pool was great and the children had a very good time. We left as happy guests.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank arctickids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We had a lovely two nights here. Drnks on the big verandah in the evening is a must. We had a few great conversations with other travellers in the lounge area as well. The little dik dks (a pygmy deer) near the tents, and stories of animals crossing your path en route to your tent add to the ambience of the place.
Rubbing the dining room staff the right way and tipping generously are the only way to get a good table, no matter how early you might get there. Still, it's a small price to pay. The lady at the omlette station at breakfast was lovely too.
They take credit cards here, and will sell you stamps and mail your postcards for you too, so take advantage of that.
Avoid the pool. I made the mistake of taking a swim and got horribly sick for a day.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The whole property was clean and well kept. From the owner to the people waiting on you are Pro's.The wildlife roams through the grounds, one needs to be careful when walking around after dark. The only place I could get good beef, which for me was a big issue. The view below the ledge stone deck overlooking the African land and its wild life roaming free is the only way to end a day of bouncing around in a 4x4 catching the "Big Five" on film.This is, or will be a big part of your African adventure!

Room Tip: The cabana's are the best.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimAlAsad_Iraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#1 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
206 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
603 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#11 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
277 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
76 reviews
25.4 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarangire Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor terrace, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats ~ a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing