We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an experience”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I have had the opportunity to visit tanzania 4 times. Tarangire safari lodge is definitely one of the highlights of the trip. The large patio is a great place to relax and enjoy the amazing view both day and night. A great place to see all the stars you might not get to see in the city. The tents are the best at night you can hear the sounds of the animals and see the sunrise in the morning. The restrooms and hot high pressure showers are wonderful after a dusty day of safari or enjoy the pool for a refreshing afternoon splash. The meals are delicious and Annette and her staff very welcoming and informative. A must stay if you are in Tanzania.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    235
    44
    10
    3
See reviews for
203
368
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

A beautiful location in the Tarangire Preserve, overlooks a valley and river where elephants roam in and out. I stayed in one of the "tents", but each unit was relatively insect free, had comfortable beds, and a private shower and bathroom. Not exactly roughing it! The proprietor of the lodge (I forget her name) was very welcoming and friendly, in a warm way in which I really felt she wanted my stay to be the best possible experience. What a fabulous way to be so close to the natural wonders of the Tarangire (can hear lions growling at night) and still remain so comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestforlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Jambo sana!
Just back from safari and want to say a big ASANTE !
for your wonderful review of your stay at Tarangire Safari Lodge.
Very happy you enjoyed it and thank you for sharing that.
I hope we can welcome you back again.
"Karibu sana"!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at Tarangire Safari Lodge for 1 night while on safari, and it was a trip highlight.

The location in the park is superb, and so is the placement of the property itself overlooking the river in the beautiful Tarangire National Park. We spent a lot of time on the main deck just looking out and spotting wild animals. There are even many that frequent the property - we saw gazelle's and a warthog wondering around while we were there.

We stayed in a tent, #17 to be exact, which has an absolute perfect view (see picture) of the park below. The tents are impressive with large king-sized beds, a desk, lights, and a large separate "room" for your sink/shower/toilet. The tent gets dark and comfortably cool at night, allowing for a great nights sleep. We heard lions roar outside our tent (a distance away) in the middle of the night, and thought it was one of the coolest things ever.

We found the food to be excellent here. Its a sit down meal, which was a welcomed change from the buffet dinners we got at the other properties we stayed at. The service was excellent. This includes the owner, Annette, who was lovely and took the time to get my boyfriend medicine (he had a fever), as well as chat with us in general. She is lovely!

For "Happy Hour" they offer complimentary cocktails and snacks on the deck, and at that time you can think of no other place you'd rather be than with a drink in your hand, a bonfire behind you, and a view that is hard to explain in words.

This is absolutely where we'll stay next time we're in Tarangire. A peaceful, beautiful property that offers a more intimate experience than a lot of the busier lodges while on safari. Well done!

Room Tip: Tent #17 has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bean820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Mongogarie Via casino NSW
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I first visited Tarangire in about 1972 and the difference now is remarkable. We stayed there 3 days in mid-October 2011. Annette and her staff could not have been more helpful, my wife has dietary special requirements and the kitchen staff were wonderful, our tent was very comfortable and the variety of game that walked passed it during the day and night was great. Elephant, Dik Dik, Warthog, & Baboons. As for the game veiwing it was really the best for elephants we had during our month in Tanzania, the country was very dry so some of the migratary animals were a bit sparce as they were scattering to search for grass else where, having said this we saw almost everything. When our 3 days were finished I was sad to leave such a well managed an happy place. The resort is also a great supporter of education in the Arusha region, the happiness of the place was infectious. Don't miss this resort in your Tanzania itinery!! "mahali pazuri kweli"
Justin Pennefather Australia.

Room Tip: Tents Have great veiws down over the Tarangri River with ever changing herds of animals coming to dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

When I initially emailed about availability and prices they stated there was availability but never sent prices as promised. It took a bit of chasing to get them and the reservation process was the slowest for all our accommodation that we booked for our 1 month trip in Tanzania. However, once I mentioned Trip Advisor things definitely speeded up!

Initially we booked a tent but after reading a comment on Trip Advisor we switched to one of their five bungalows as they are the same price and seemed better value. Although some people rave about their tents we thought that the bungalows were far better value. There are 2 rows of tents on either side of the lodge and the bungalows are down the far end on one side past the tents which means you don't get noise from people walking past. The bungalows are spacious, nicely furnished and bright. The very last one is the most private. The bungalows have mosquito nets but the tents don't.

The one row of tents is numbered from 1 to 22. The first few tents (about numbers 1 to 5) would get some noise from the kitchen. The very best tent is number 22 as it is at the very end of the row and therefore private and looks directly along the river with incredible views. The last 3 or 4 tents (say 19 to 22) are spaced further apart than many of the others. Certainly the tents on this side of the lodge get better views than the bungalows and tents on the other side as they are overlook the river rather than just the surrounding plain.

The view from the lodge's terrace is fantastic with at times masses of animals going down to the river to drink. We enjoyed the food and it was of good quality and plentiful. The Tanzanian staff were excellent. There is a nice pool but we didn't use it.

We had booked for 3 nights but in the end left a day earlier as the owners, who live 100 meters from the bungalows decided to completely redo the roof of their house resulting in a lot of hammering. They really should have known better to do it in early September when the lodge was quite full and they had guests staying near their house. Any way we found that 2 nights was enough for us at Tarangire.

Room Tip: The bungalows are very nice. Tent 22 is the best for location and quietness. Tents 19 to 21 are also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalawiExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Os Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We only spent two nights here before moving on to Ngorongoro and then Serengeti but could quite happily spent the entire holiday there. The location is spectacular! You have to see it to believe it. We were travelling with our two boys (11 and 13) who were a bit anxious about what they would do when not on a game drive, but they spent most of their time watching for animals roaming around the lodge and making friends. The pool obviously helped as well and was very welcome after a game drive. The wonderful friendly atmosphere among the staff and owner spread to all the guests and you immediately made friends and got to hear everybody else's safari experiences. The tents were immaculate and very comfortable and we were very sad to leave them. The whole family absolutely agrees that Tarangire Safari Lodge was the absolutely best part of a 16 day trip to Tanzania and Zanzibar - and that's saying something!

Room Tip: Tent number 17 has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saskvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

What a special, one of a kind place! I wasn't sure what to expect from a tented lodge before I came. But honestly, if camping meant having a king size bed, a private bathroom and electricity and running water, I would camp more often. It was lovely. I especially liked the coffee and tea service brought to your tent at an appointed time you schedule the night before.

I loved the central location in the park, the happy hour on the terrace at sunset and the food here. This was one of my favorite places to stay on our safari. The only inconvenience was that there was no outlet in my tent to plug my camera battery charger in. They have a charging station at the bar, but it fills up fast. Make sure you plug your battery charger in as soon as you return from your game drive or you may have to wait a bit for your turn at the electricity.

Room Tip: My tent was at the far end of the group of tents along the escarpment. This meant a longer walk to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav3lm0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
566 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
386 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
154 reviews
25.3 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Property: Tarangire Safari Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 2703 | Arusha, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarangire Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor patio, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats, which make a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! "Karibuni" or Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing