We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine, Rustic Way to Begin Your Safari”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Fine, Rustic Way to Begin Your Safari”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My wife and I recently began our East African safari with a three night stay at the Tarangire Safari Lodge. Overall, though not a 'luxury accomodation' we were quite happy with it for a number of reasons including:

- Location: the Lodge is right in the middle of the park with a 'awesome view' from the tents of floor of the park. Sitting outside my tent, I could see elephants, antelopes, zebras at various water holes. We actually had a number of zebras and impalas wandering around by our tent. So, you definitely will feel you are immersed.

- Accomodations: accomodations are basic but perfectly fine. The tent has a comfortable bed and ensuite shower and bathroom. Please note, these are not, by any stretch, "luxurious" accomodations but, for the money, are fine. Plus, you aren't going to be spending much time in your tent anyway.

As a inexpensive, rustic way to begin a safari, we were quite happy with our stay at TSL. However, I would note, if you are looking for a lux experience or you have come from a place like Olakira or Mara Explorer or Governor's Camp, then this is probably not for you (try Olivers or Treetops). Other notes:

- Service is friendly though occasionally hit or miss. Some of the waitstaff are extremely gracious, others are clearly there for the paycheck.

- The food is not the best you will have on your trip though I give the camp points for trying to keep the meals varied (Mexican for lunch one day, Indian the next). Breakfast is fine.

- Power outlets are available during morning and evening hours in the bar area. They use power strips that work with US plugs without adapters (if you are traveling from outside the US you may need to use an adapter/convertor).

- Drinks on the patio overlooking the park are an excellent way to enjoy the end of your safari day.

Room Tip: Our room had a king size bed in it, which is what we wanted. Others have two doubles. Make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GJK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Jambo GJK11 !
Thank you for taking the time with that very descriptive review! = )

Your remark about some of the wait staff waiting for a paycheck was a pity. They do wear name tags, so if you could remember or describe who looked less engaged, we would appreciate knowing. We appreciate that Staff & Service are so important for the overall experience.

"Asante sana!!"

A.Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    238
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
206
374
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We went on a life changing safari with Infinite Safari Adventures (www.infinitesafariadventures.com). They did an amazing job for us. One of the places we stayed at was Tarangire Safari Lodge. We loved this place! The views were incredible, the tents we cozy and great to sleep in, the entire lodge grounds were wonderful between the pool and delicious food we got every night. Thank you Infinite Safari Adventures for putting us there!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JMC77154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Hello JMC77154943
Thank you so much for your review.
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay !! = )

Welcome again!

Asante sana.
A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at the lodge in a bungalows room for 2 nights.
The lodge is amazing, amazing view. You are inside the reserve, surrounded by animals.
The animals were literally in the lodge (be careful though when walking alone on the trail, we were chased by an elephant. Was a bit scary  )
The staff is very nice and welcoming; the afternoon snacks were a very nice touch. The food was ok, not amazing.
The tented rooms looked great as well to us from outside, we would take them if we knew ahead.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Hello Yaelle H.
Thank you for sharing your review. Your experience. = )
And with all the wildlife we have around here!

Welcome back again for a tented accommodation next time.

Happy that you enjoyed your stay here.
"Karibu tena"!

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This was our favorite lodge out of five. It was a tented camp with proper bathroom facilities, toilet and hot water, solor flashlights if necessary. Waking up to the lions roaring at night, seeing the impala drink the water outside our tent from our shower were some of the highlights. There was also elephant dung outside our tent when we woke up (seems we missed some action that night) :) It was a wonderful safari experience and not once did I feel afraid, I just enjoyed every moment. They had a hour before dinner with snacks and drinks to enjoy on their amazing terrace overlooking the Savana. We definately want to come back but for a longer time.
The service was always friendly and available. Food was just average but it didn't matter to us!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcat4mjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Hello pcat4mjt,
Thank you for choosing us as your preferred accommodation &
your wonderful 5 star review! = )
And that you enjoyed the nearby night noises. = )

Welcome indeed for a longer stay next time! And if we can improve
on our catering, will appreciate your feedback.

"Asante sana"!!

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson, wy
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights(July 2012) at the Tarangire Safari Lodge and felt, in our 4 weeks traveling Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania and staying in various lodges, that TSL is unsurpassed in wildlife viewing- especially in the "dry" season ...we were absolutely enchanted with the spectacular panaroma as we watched hundreds of zebra, elephant, wildebest stream out of the hills to drink and play in the river. Without the jouncing of the game drive vehicle, you can just sit and absorb...really watch in leisure and even with cocktail and snacks. We also loved living among the wildlife, awakening with giraffe browsing behind our tent, hearing a lion take down an elephant a short distance away and laughing as a troop of baboons ran through camp. The diningroom staff were very personable, but the owner was the ultimate hostess- helping us arrange a walking safari and getting us transportation to Arusha. She went out of her way to insure all guests were taken care of. Lots of food, lots of choices. Great open air diningroom and lounge. If anyone is thinking they need to go budget in Tarangire and stay outside the park- THIS is the time to splurge. We did, no regrets, it was a highlight! Rick and Marilyn, Jackson, WY

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachcomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Hello beachcomin / Rick & Marilyn,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the big wide world ! = )
Happy you enjoyed the view & the wonders of it.
Also happy to hear that you enjoyed the lodge services.
Welcome back for more when time & opportunity allows.

"Asante sana"!!

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Tanzania is one of the beautiful Country in East Africa which offer different attraction from each step you move forward you will have different landscape with different scenery which each of it can offer you the different meaning from low elevation to high elevation where you may be at the Roof of Africa!! Many Travelers when their Traveling they asking for the wild animals especially those called a Big Five and when they saw those they thought they have finish their needs which is not true as their so many attraction things which are very interesting things to watch and even you may learn different things even from those big animals like Elephants and even from Termites or ants with their life style!!
Tarangire National Park is where I may recommend people to visit during the dry season and learn a lot from different creatures which leaving there from Big Mammal to Smallest creature Termites!! The Nature itself which welcome you from the main gate with biggest Baobab Tree which is home of more than 15 different creatures it will makes you wonder in each step you go with different stories about the tree according to your guide!!
This National Park is one of the flexible National Park in accommodation as if you will stay at best location Lodge in the Park, Tarangire Safari Lodge but still you may stay at the camp sites where you will be even more close to Nature and experience the different than any of those lodges. You may have a visitors in your camp in your first night or in single night you stay there who are wild animals like Elephants or other animals like Impalas and even more others who are coming and pass through your tent or few steps from your tents! Most of people they don't like to hear about camping as they don't have any experience about camping but is lucky of information which cause people to ignore about camping Safari but the camping Safari is only the Safari which you may DREAM about Africa and gives you the reality for the true African Nature! No limit and distance to Nature for camping Safari!

Room Tip: The last Room at the West side it has the best view to the Tarangire River! The Old Public Camp Site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chistopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Jambo Christopher,
Thank you so much for your 5 star review!
You are right about the Big 5! There is so much more beyond that to enjoy & appreciate.

A warm welcome back again.

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed in the permanent tents. Having stayed at a horrid bungalow in Arusha, I was hesitant as we walked toward our tent. Not to worry though - these were nice accommodations for tents. The beds were comfortable, and the bedroom tent was set up right next to the more permanent bathroom portion, which is big and clean. The bathroom is also enclosed in a tent and adjoins the bedroom via a zipper door.

The tents don't have locks on them, so I was also worried about my valuables. Nothing happened to them, but some luggage locks would give you a bit of security (although definitely wouldn't prevent anyone who really wanted to from stealing your stuff).

They have afternoon tea with snacks, which is a nice touch. Everyone comes out to have a snack and enjoy the view.

There is also a nice pool, although it was a bit creepy having one of the staff members clean the pool while we were in there and then sit and watch us when he was done. Granted, the locals are not used to so much skin, but what else am I supposed to wear but a swimsuit at the pool.

Anyway, my real issue with this place is that both my husband and I got sick from the food. It put us out for a whole day or so. Just be careful of what you order, keeping in mind potential refrigeration and food handling problems. We blame the curry paneer dish.

My last piece of advice is to bring a flashlight. You are in fact IN THE PARK, so be careful. The dining room is separate from the tents, so you will be in the dark when walking back to your tent after dinner.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank localo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Hello Localo!
Thank you for your review!

We're sorry & surprised that you felt ill after your stay here!! We haven't had any food complaints and no one else has reported being ill! Hope you quickly recovered to enjoy your Safari!
Our pool requires frequent cleaning to remove leaves and other debris brought in by the wind! And regarding the pool attendant, we will mention that he ought to be discreet!
Once it is dark, we do have guards here to escort guests to & from rooms. And we do provide solar torches in all the the rooms.

We hope you enjoyed your Tanzania tour.
"Asante sana"

Cheers,
A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
575 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
391 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#10 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#19 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
155 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Property: Tarangire Safari Lodge
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarangire Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor terrace, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats ~ a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing