We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Last Night in Africa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent a wonderful 24 hours in Tarangire National Park and our overnight at Tarangire Safari Lodge was a major factor in making the visit so good. Coming in from a long day on the road, the lodge felt fresh, cool and welcoming with helpful, capable staff greeting us and taking care of our needs. Even after a day of great scenery along the way, the incredible view from the deck still stopped us in our tracks, topping everything we'd already seen. It would be enough to just sit on the deck and soak up the beauty, which makes this lodge a great choice as anyone who chooses to NOT game drive can still enjoy the huge panorama before them, should they stay in while the others go out. Our group had the best of both worlds with excellent game drives for some, as well as restful lounging for those who were road-weary. The tents were pleasant and we all slept soundly, delighted by elephant and lion noises as we drifted off. The food was good and the staff folks were attentive and professional. We were pleased to notice re-fillable water bottles providing clean drinking water in the tents, as well as re-fillable shampoo and shower gel bottles in the showers. Kudos to the managers for reducing plastic bottle waste. While no one in our party took advantage of the massage options, we did walk out to the massage banda and can only imagine that experiencing a relaxing massage in that setting would be wonderful. Overall, we were refreshed and well pleased by our time at TSL. It was an excellent culmination to a good trip. Thank you!

Room Tip: Tent #22 is the farthest away and we like feeling "away from it all." The pink sky reflec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Jambo Lisa B,
Thank you for the wonderful, descriptive account of your stay here!
Very pleased you were well looked after and that you all enjoyed your surroundings!
Thank you for mentioning our efforts to reduce plastic bottle usage. We are in the process of replacing all these bottles as soon as possible.

A warm welcome back again to try out a Massages with a View! = )

"Asante sana & Karibuni tena!

A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is one of my favorite places during the safari trip. The lodge is located inside the Tarangire NP (northern end of park, ~2.5h from Arusha) and has beautiful grounds. I stayed in a tented camp, whcih is nicely furnished, comfortable and looked out to the majestic view of the river in the grounds below and sunrise (if you wake up early enough). I have best memories of its shower (weird, I know...). But it is rainforest shower style - absolutely relaxing and refreshing!
Food is outstanding. Lodge staff is cheerful and friendly. Good starting point to begin/end game drives in the park. Free wifi is available at the common lodge, fast and reliable. You will get the best value for money by staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrcapybara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiesimonson, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Jambo Mishyq,
Thank you for sharing your 5 star experience!! = )
We appreciate the wonderful review!
Thank you for recommending us to all the rest.

Happy you enjoyed your stay here.

"Asante sana & Karibu tena"

A.Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is ranked No,2 in terms of the most comfortable lodging during my trip. Tents are comfortable and the food is good. It has a good view for sunrise and overlooks the park. Service staff are friendly and helpful. I will recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IceMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiesimonson, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hello IceMilo,
Thank you for sharing your review!
Happy that you enjoyed our staff & cuisine & location!
And for recommending our property!

"Asante sana & Karibu tena!"

A.Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The tents are very comfortable, the food is great, and the staff is excellent. This is a high end tent camp that has great view and amazing sounds during the night. Well worth it and a definite high point. It is also very well located in the park.

Room Tip: Choose a tent far away from the lodge for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Jambo Don B,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review!
Happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

A warm welcome back again/Karibu tena!

Kind regards,

S. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Basecamp Tanzania booked us into this lodge in September 2013, and I have to say, it was the highlight of all our accommodation. We had a magnificent stay in this place, our first night in Tanzania. In fact, it was so extraordinary, my mum and I looked at each other and said, "I hope this isn't the pinnacle of our vacation," but it turned out that was very nearly true. We were both newly drunk on the African air at the time, but when I think back to my holiday, sleeping in these comfortable tents with the side-flap wide open to a starry night, listening to lions whuffing in the distance, it was fulfilling beyond description. A nice pile of equine manure squarely in front of the tent flap told us in the morning that a zebra had also enjoyed the spot. LOVED this place, and Tarangire Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanjen680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you so much susanjen 680 for your wonderful review!! Happy with your subject line too = )
Great that you appreciated the wildlife up close. = ) And they are still very near!

I hope the remainder of your Tz safari was memorable!

"Asante sana and Karibu tena!"


A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

After a long day of bouncing around the roads of the park, this was a welcome relief. There is a very nice pool, and the patio offers amazing views of the park spread out below you. There's a big lodge with overstuffed furniture and wi-fi for when you can pull yourself away from the patio after dark. The food is buffet style and nothing exotic.
The tents have two single beds on a cement pad and the shower has plenty of hot water. They were comfortable and didn't feel like we were roughing it at all - other than the elephant trumpeting all night.
The only reason I wouldn't give 5 stars is the box lunches they gave us for the day drives were very minimal and what was there wasn't very good. Eat a big breakfast.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nobellhops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Hello nobellhops,

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback! Happy you enjoyed our location and slept comfortably though the elephants are still around the camp and not always quiet.

Can you please let us know
- what in the lunch box was unsatisfactory, so we can make amends?
And, for a more 'exotic' buffet - we do have african dishes & spices on our menu.
Suggestions are welcome!

Hope the remainder of your safari in Tanzania was enjoyable!

"Karibu tena/Welcome again!"

Kind regards,

S. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was our second visit to Tarangire Safari Lodge.in the last 3 years and there is a reason we can't get enough:
1.The terrace upon entering the lodge will capture you for life.
2. if you are not up for driving around looking for animals, Tarangire Park has the largest elephant population in Tanzania and if you are lucky as we were, the elephants may gently walk past your tents without a peep.
3.The food is like mama's home-cooking to the point and delicious, compared to many Lodge's that over-stuff you.
4. Brenden offers night drives and walking safaris one of the special moments that we must recommend.
5. The pool and spa were an added binus to our trip and we discovered this time a new Yoga and Meditation platform overlooking the animals. A jewel in the wilderness

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedomandleela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Jambo freedomandleela,
"Asante sana" for your Review and comment " jewel in the wilderness" = )
We appreciate hearing you have enjoyed your return visit with our Activities and Patulivu Massage, Yoga area.
AND your meals and elephant visits....

Welcome back for more! and welcome for a longer stay!

"Karibuni tena"

A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
626 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#11 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
90 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
283 reviews
25.4 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
492 reviews
5 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarangire Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor terrace, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats ~ a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing