We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite lodging of our trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was our favorite lodge of the trip. Really nice tents (concrete base, permanent structures, with nice furnishings but nothing overboard), really tasty food, amazing view, and friendly staff that communicated well and were not too pushy. The food was also healthier and seemed fresher than other lodges. There was even a pool, though I didn't swim for long because the tsetse flies were on me immediately.

The owner was very welcoming and was good at reading how much information and interaction we needed/wanted. We loved that the tents felt out in the open (we actually had monkeys in our bathroom briefly -- watch out and keep the different rooms zipped up), and that we could look out onto a valley and see animals. Wish we could have stayed here longer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Jambo A S
"Our favourite lodging of our trip" - what a wonderful review! Thank you for sharing your positive
experience. = )
Happy you enjoyed your surroundings & the comfortable atmosphere we try & create.

A very warm welcome back again!

"Asante sana"!

A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 942 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

This place has about 30 tents and half a dozen bungalows. We stayed again in one of the bungalows, which are rather spacy compared to the tents. They might cost a little more, but it`s worth the price. The tenst are very close to each other.
The view from both is spectacular, as you can see at any time animals, small and big. Early morning very often Dik-dik, Impalas and Waterbuck wander around your accommodation. It also can be a Elephant. The facilities are standard, very functional, working, useful and not fancy. A great experience inmitten of the bush. The place is often the relaxing place for the alpinists who have just climbed up Kilimanjaro and spend a day or two before heading home or to the beaches of Sansibar.
This was our second stay within the last 2 years. Very recommended. The food - you are normally on a fullboard plan - is good and plentiful.

Room Tip: I prefer bunglow over tent at any time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Jambo rajang,

Thank you for your review & your second visit! = ) AND for Recommending our property.

In fact our bungalows are the same price as our tents and originally built for triples in mind.
Happy you were satisfied with your accommodation & cuisine and your overall experience here.

"Asante sana" & karibu tena"

A.Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Had three lioness surround our tent and become angry because I screamed having a dream. My wife was telling me there is no lion as one just outside tent let out a deafening roar! Shined flashlights on it and it backed away. Then sensed it was not alone and shined light on one on opposite side of tent and it let out a roar! The light got them to move away. Good thing that I had read that they stay away and don't attack when lights are present. This is rare they say. But be aware, you are in middle of park with no protection except tents and flashlights. No Masai Warriors staying up all night. Attacks have happened, so be very cautious. I got my close encounter with big cats that I wanted, but a little more intense than bargained for. This is no joke.

Room Tip: Follow safety guidelines and have flashlights handy and stay quiet. Closer to lobby the better, les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hogwithacamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiesimonson, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Hello Hogwithacamera,

Thank you for your review & happy to hear you enjoyed your accomodation, dining and service!
Wow! Such a lively experience with lions!
As you mentioned, we are in a national park, and the lodge is unfenced, so caution is necessary.
Being indoors and being quiet after the lights are off, is safety enough. However, as you did, shining the torch at them does make them move on, if you'd like them to.
We do have night quards who watch the comings and goings of animals, and are around should anyone require their assistance. Walking to and from your room is safe during the day, however at night it is recommended that you walk with the guard.
Hope the rest of your Tanzanian safari was enjoyable & equally exciting!

Karibu tena/welcome again!

Warm regards,
S. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Recently returned to Tarangire Safari Lodge in the dry season. The landscape and animals are very different from the wet season and the animals more concentrated. Annette Simonson and her staff were exceptionally accommodating. The meals were excellent, especially the beef dinners and the curried dishes. The beef was the best I've had in Tanzania. The tents are on cement slabs and very secure; the beds are very comfortable; the shower welcomed after a dusty game drives. The views from the lounge, dining room, the terrace and from the individual tents are awesome, especially at sunrise and sunset. The lodge is located on a high bluff overlooking the Tarangire river and large plain with lots of animals coming to the river.Two recently added features are highly recommended (for those over 16 years of age): the night game drive (fantastic experience) and the early am game walk with armed staff naturalist and park ranger. The game walk was far better than I've experienced in Ndutu or Arusha National Park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pttuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you Pttuva for the wonderful, descriptive 5 Star review!! = )

Happy you enjoyed your stay & the dry season.

Also pleased to hear you enjoyed the Night Drive and Bush walk.

A very warm welcome back again!

"Asante sana!"

A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The lodge has a great location in the park overlooking the river. There is a lot of wildlife right in the camp. We saw monkeys and antelope while walking to our tent. The tents are permanently set up and pretty close to one another and have real showers and flush toilets in them. I was actually a little disappointed. It wasn't the same experience as sleeping in a tent in the Serengeti.

The food and service were good. The lounge area had the best Wi-Fi connection of the trip.

Was probably my least favorite place to stay. The views are great, but that was all that I was impressed with.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluebird711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you Bluebird711 for your review.
Happy the view impressed and the food, service, Wifi met with your satisfaction.

Not sure how to respond on the Serengeti camping comment but I can only guess it
was an entirely different experience and possibly more for the intrepid.

I hope your Tanzania tour was memorable.

"Asante sana"

A.Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Thanks to Annette and all of the team at Tarangire Safari Lodge. They have the best location in Tarangire to view the river and the herds of elephants and all in the valley. Gorgeous! Lunches are excellent and the tents all view over the valley. Stunning place to sit and I enjoy being there as much as on the safari.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you GenSafaris for your review.
A wonderful review to bring guests in for a look and a lunch for hopefully some bed nights!

A warm welcome back again for some game viewing from our new terrace.

"Asante sana & Karibu tena!"

A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This Lodge came recommended by friends, and they were absolutely right. The lodge is nice, the tents, bandas and the main restaurant area laid out in a row along a ridge overlooking the plains and the rives below. Since it was pretty dry there during our stay lots of animals came to drink from the river .. a wonderful sight. We did go on great game drives (drove ourselves) but couls also have simply sat and watched from the veranda of our banda. We took a banda, thinking it would be easier with a 2-year-old in tow, and it was a good choice.

Room Tip: The tents to the left of the reception area (with your nose pointing away from the road) have views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Hello Venlal,
Thank you for reviewing our lodge. Great to hear we came recommended. = )
Happy that you enjoyed our location, staff & stay here.

A warm welcome back again.

"Asante sana"

A. Simonson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
625 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
89 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
412 reviews
25.4 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
489 reviews
5.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarangire Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor terrace, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats ~ a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing