We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough about Tarangire Safari Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarangire Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't say enough about Tarangire Safari Lodge”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife, some friend and I visited the Tarangire last month and stayed at the Tarangire Safari Lodge. It was a great experience! The lodge has a view of the Rift valley that is absolutely unmatched. The owner, Annette , ws so warm and welcoming. Here son gives tours of the park that are very reasonably priced, and he is very knowledgeable. He grew up in the park, so its literally his backyard! I recommend, if you can swing it, to get one of their bungelows toward the end of the rows of tents. This will give you the best view. You literally wake up to elephants walking below your vantage point! Its truly a surreal place. The buffet was wonderful, and a great end to a day in the park. I cannot say enough about this lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelatheart85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you travelatheart85 for your review!
So pleased you enjoyed your stay, your experience here.
And great that you would recommend Brenden for an activity! Were you able to enjoy one?

A warm welcome back again!

"Asante sana"!

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    238
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
206
374
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Near the Adirondacks in NY
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This lodge was recommended by our tour guide, Africa 2000 Tours, and we loved it! This lodge is exactly what I had wanted for my second safari trip. Last time we stayed in the Sopa Lodges, but I felt it was lacking the sincere African experience. I had done a little research and I requested the #22 tent and it was the last one near the end of the bluff, so privacy was a little better as far as people always walking by. You are staying in tents, so the noise from the tent near you will be obvious, but we had no problems with that. Listening to the lions, elephants, etc in the evening was an experience that we will not forget. After one long day on a game drive, we came back to the tent and had impalas all over the back area. The staff, food, and views were outstanding. Also, the box lunches were the best that we had during our 7 day safari. The charging station at the desk was also a plus. I did have a hard time connecting to the wi-fi, but I finally decided that I am in Africa and really should just put it away and enjoy the beautiful views! Another plus of this lodge is it is located, in our opinion, in the best area for a safari-The Tarangire National Park. Even though we went to Ngorongoro Crater and the Serengeti afterwards, we still thought the Tarangire was our favorite.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the end of the line, away from the lodge. Also take their suggestion and store all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1adklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Great experience - loved it. = )
"Asante sana" for the 5 star review.
So happy you would recommend our lodge for the View & Staff & Food.
....and that the Wifi was less important in the grand scheme of things.

A warm welcome back again!

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

As others have said the reason to stay here is the great location on a bluff overlooking a river valley where the animals are constantly coming and going. The huge baobob trees along the cliff edge are truly impressive. The main drawback here is that the tents are too close together and you can hear every word your neighbors say if they speak at a normal conversational level. Our first night we had quiet neighbors but the next night it was a different story. However when we started speaking as loudly as our neighbors were they realized we could hear everything they were saying and they quieted down. Our tent was comfortable and clean but not fancy. We loved hearing the animals at night. The staff was friendly and helpful. The main buildings are well arranged. The WiFi in the main lounge worked very well. And it was convenient to have the use of a hair dryer in the swimming pool changing facility since there is only solar electricity in the tents. The food was ample, varied, and tastey.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astrobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello astrobob,
Happy to read you enjoyed the lodges' location
along with our staff, service & catering.

Sorry the neighbors were annoying.

I hope you enjoyed a memorable TZ safari.
"Asante sana & Karibu tena"

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at Tarangire Safari Lodge for three nights in early June. The facilities were wonderful and the staff very warm and helpful. The tents are on a ridge looking down at the park, so we were able to watch elephants and giraffe coming to the stream from our front porch. The main lodge is nicely laid out, with both an outside balcony and shaded indoor sitting area also looking out over the park. The tent was very spacious and comfortable with solar LED lighting, and very clean en suite bathroom facilities (just be sure to not leave any medications in the bathroom part-our friends did and some vervet monkeys got in and went through their stuff). Meals were buffet style and very food. There is a place to charge batteries and laptops by the manager's desk. Best part: hearing the sounds of the animals (including lions roaring) at night. Great experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a higher number tent (I think it was 20) which is a short walk from the main lodge, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you David B for the 'Outstanding' review!

So happy you enjoyed your stay here at the lodge; together with
our service, catering & staff.
I hope all others reading your review will experience the same.

"Asante sana & Karibu tena"!

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new mexico
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

First and foremost is the terrace. It (along with the rest of the lodge) is up on a bluff overlooking acres of wildlife - giraffes, elephants, lions, and on and on. It is stunning. You could spend the entire day just sitting on this large terrace observing animals - and then spend the evening watching the stars!

The permanent tents are nice with hot water for your much needed shower at the end of a game drive. The beds are comfortable. For those of you who are not familiar with this sort of lodging, it is rare to have full-on electric current in your tent. Sometimes you get it for a limited time but usually you have to do without a blow dryer.

The dining rooms serves food buffet style and the servers are very nice and attentive. Especially Stella. We all fell in love with her when she started singing.

There is a charging station at the bar that has electricity at certain posted hours.

This is the lodge that I would return to. The views are divine.

Room Tip: I would recommend the tents.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank aprilgirl415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello aprilgirl415

So happy you enjoyed your stay and Stella's singing! = )

And maybe just to mention, we Do have hairdryers for Women
at our poolside changing room - available with the power on from
5:45am - 10am and again from 6 > 11pm.

Wonderful that you would like to return again.
A very warm welcome indeed!

"Asante sana & Karibu tena!"

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for one night and had a very nice time.
Marvelous views from the terrace at sunset and sunrise.
Food in the restaurant was good both at dinner and with breakfast.
We had one little water supply issue with one of the tents, whch was corrected instantly.
The location, friendly staff and nice bar and reception area make this a place worth visiting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BROCOAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello BROCOAntwerp,
Thank you so much for sharing your review AND for recommonding our lodge & location.
Happy you enjoyed your 1 night stay.

Welcome back again! = )
"Asante sana."

A. Simonon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theni, India
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for one night in two Bungalows & one tent. Reached late & found the Owner Annette giving us a warm welcome & showed our tent. We had a quick shower & headed to the Dinner. Their service in the restaurant was very good. The dinner was buffet and had some decent spread. The taste was also good. Desserts were served in the table & tasted nice. After dinner we went for a night safari for 2 hours & saw the very rare Aardwolf. Other than this there was absolutely nothing during our night safari. But in the day time Tarangire was full of action and non-stop wildlife including 2 sightings of Cheetah, a big pride of Lion with giraffe Kill, Lot of Elephants, Fantastic Bird life, dotted with Huge Baobab trees. Amazing. Breakfast was also good with Hot & Cold items. The picnic lunch box was not that great but no big complaints. TSL is good choice during the visit to Tarangire.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvm_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porini64, Owner at Tarangire Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello kvm_77
Thank you for your review!
Happy to read that you enjoyed the catering here.
Night drives can be quiet at times - full moon may cause this - or it may be very active.
Great that the park wildlife met your satisfaction.

"Asante sana"

A. Simonson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
575 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
391 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#10 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#19 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
155 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire Safari Lodge

Property: Tarangire Safari Lodge
Address: Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tarangire Safari Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on top of a high bluff with a breathtaking panorama, our lodge is superbly located in Tarangire National Park, providing one of the best views in Africa. Carving out the landscape below the lodge is the Tarangire River, a favourite watering place, which attracts impressive numbers and a variety of game. The scene unfolds before you while lounging on the outdoor terrace, allowing you to appreciate Tarangire's diverse wildlife. At the heart of the lodge are the impressively high thatched roofs of the lounge and dining room. The open-sided design allows an uninterrupted view of the landscape and wildlife below, and captures the cooling breeze while you dine on our delicious home cooked safari cuisine. The lounge area has oversized armchairs made from old dhow boats ~ a perfect place to relax. Those wanting something a bit more active can take a dip in the pool, a bird walk around the lodge grounds or hunt for souvenirs in the Baobab boutique. Our twin tents combine the authentic safari atmosphere of 'nights under canvas', with more modern comforts of electric light and en suite bathrooms with solar hot water. We also have bungalows that provide the space and convenience of solid walls yet blend into their surroundings by using local stone and echoing the traditional round Maasai huts. Tarangire Safari Lodge offers morning & evening bush walks along the river, Night Drives and Game Drives and don't miss a massage with a view at "Patulivu"! Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire Safari Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing