We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service in Tanzania”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kikoti Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kikoti Safari Camp
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best service in Tanzania”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We got a warm welcome upon arrival, after a day-long drive. It was by far the friendliest place I've stayed in, while in Tanzania. The "tents" are houses on stilts and are very clean and comfortable, even though I'm not the camping type. The setting is in the wild without a fenced in boundary around the camp but you get to experience it without having to rough it.

Masai staff escort you to and from you tent should you need to go to the lobby or restaurant after dark. Wifi was working throughout the duration of our stay, which was repaired after the elephants played around with it. The food was also excellent.

I also loved that the manager asked us to not tip individually, but place the entire amount in a jar so they could split it evenly among all of the staff. I wish more camps/hotels would do this.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for the amazing review! we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Here at Kikoti we work as a family, and it is as a result of this great team effort that we believe we achieve our unique 'friendly' atmosphere. We have a wonderful group of staff here and we feel they all deserve to share the 'thank you', whether they are a member of the housekeeping staff or kitchen staff - or even the water truck driver - they are all invaluable to our little 'family' and we couldn't do without them!
Thank you for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    31
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
70
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Drove most of the day from Arusha to get to Kikoti but once out into the bush, we saw lots, and I do mean lots, of animals on our way into Tarangire National Park and our first night on safari at Kikoti. We were so excited to see our first zebras - two of them standing off in the distance - and our cameras clicked away. A half mile down the road we ran into the whole herd and then we saw elephants, then gazelles, then more zebras, then more elephants, then giraffes. This was our first day and already our breath was being taken away. Early in the evening after many a mile on very dusty and very rutty dirt roads, we arrived at Kikoti Tent Camp. The young couple who run the camp personally met us and saw to our immediate comfort with glasses of fresh fruit juice. Upon checking in we were led to our private "tent" which is really a rustic cabin on stilts and it had all the comforts of home. A nice porch with lounge chairs to enjoy the scenery, a comfortable king size bed with lots of covers, plenty of storage space, two sinks with running water, a shower, and toilet. It could not have been nicer. All the food is buffet style but it is cooked fresh and is delicious. Before dinner, an inviting bar area has comfortable couches to lounge on and enjoy a cocktail or Kilimanjaro beer. Dinner is served outside under the stars while a roaring fire blazes in the fire pit. After you tell the staff what time you want to rise so they can build your fire for hot water, a member of the staff guides you back to your tent with a flashlight and is on the lookout for any wild animals. It is so dark that you will see more stars than you have ever seen in your lifetime. Since it is quite cool, even cold during July, a nice surprise when you go to bed is the hot water bottle that has been placed between your sheets. If you want to experience Africa like you have probably dreamed it would be then Kikoti Tented Camp is a terrific place to start.

Room Tip: All tents at Kikoti are good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hokie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us! We love our guests to feel at home as soon as they arrive, Danny and I are always on hand to help you settle in, and answer any questions you may have; whether they be about the camp, the park or just Tanzania in general!
Karibu tena (welcome again!!)
Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Having flown overnight from London, we spent most of our first day in Africa driving to Kikoti with our Guide. We really didn't know what to expect. We were warmly greeted by the staff and immediately shown to our tent on stilts which was simply furnished. The camp has wonderful views and is located just a km outside the national park. The young couple who manage the camp were friendly and very helpful. The evening meal was good and the staff very attentive. The sound of the bush was extraordinary. Our Safari the next day was incredible. We spent an hour surrounded by a herd of up to 100 elephants who decided to entertain us with bathing, mock fighting and playing in the water. On returning to the camp we decided to take a short foot safari with the camp personel, which was educational and exciting.

This camp is a great place to stay and we would thoroughly recommend it, especially as a first place to stay on Safari. The service is good and location amazing. We have been told that the camp has been recently reburbished and that all profits go towards conservation.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marshcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our camp! Yes you are absolutely right, we have just renovated the camp this year adding many new features, including our wonderful sunken stone fire pit! As of the 1st of June we have also gone Non-profit, and the camp is now owned solely by the 'African Wildlife Trust'! So the money you pay during your stay with us goes directly back into conservation!! You can find out more about the trust online before you visit us, by searching http://www.africanwildlifetrust.org/
Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Very few drawbacks here. The tents are comfortable and the setting is superb. Good friendly service. I hope they can eventually supply 24/7 hot water, and better coffee with genuine milk, but as I indicated these are modest cavils. I would gladly return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rerooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on trip advisor. Unfortunately the hot water system is not '24 hours' (we light the fires for the boilers in the morning and again in the evening,which creates hot water throughout most of the day and evening) although upon request we are happy to light your wood fired boiler at any time,and with just a 10 minute wait you will have hot water throughout your room.
Thank you again for your review - Karibu tena (welcome again)!!
Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Kikoti may well have been our favorite place to stay in Tanzania. It offers a way of experiencing the wilds of Tangire in a setting respectful of the natural setting but without roughing it too much. The staff is exceptionally welcoming and includes Masai men and women eager to share their culture. The tents are actually cabins on stilts with comfortable beds, running water and electricity.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Al6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
I think you are absolutely right - Kikoti is certainly 'enchanting'!! and we are so thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us. Our staff love to interact with the guests here in camp, young and old alike, and this really creates our friendly, welcoming atmosphere that so many people comment on! Thank you for your review.
Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

What an incredible experience for Coletta to walk up your steps with your choice of beverage and to hear her say, "Good Morning, this is your wake up call". Then to enjoy that favorite beverage overlooking the Tarangire National Park on your own front porch. We spent 15 days in Tanzania including 3 nights at the Four Seasons and Kikoti was our favorite. Even though they were in the midst of putting in a fire pit (which we got to initiate) and a swimming pool the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The stars are unbelievable ... be sure to take your binoculars as you can see nebulae and "falling stars". We did not get to meet Danny as he was on vacation, but Patrik and the staff amazing. Thank you for a wonderful memory.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are also sorry we didnt get to meet you, as we were away from camp that week. But we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your experience at Kikoti! Karibu tena (welcome again!)
Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

I think this tented camp was my favorite lodging place in Tanzania. It is operated by a darling young couple who are intent on making your stay perfect. The "tents" are actually cabins on stilts, with a large covered front porch, beautiful furniture in the main room and luxurious bath fixtures. Hot water and electricity make this seem far from anything that could be called a tent.
The mornings began with a staff person calling into me that my coffee was ready. A wooden tray with a coffee pot, cup and creamer would then be placed on the table on my front porch.
The camp treated us to a cocktail party in the bush one evening, where we watched a spectacular sunset over the Tarangire National Park. One afternoon, we were led by a Masaii on a walking safari from the camp. It was very fun and extremely educational as the Masaii found numerous animal's footprints, signs of blood and a hyena's cave with fresh bones. On our last morning, we were driven to an overlook where we watched the sun rise as we were served made-to-order omelettes, fresh fruit, pastries, coffee and juice.
In the camp, the food was delicious and plentiful.
My only complaint is that they did not accept credit cards, whereas all the other lodges do. In addition, I was overcharged for my drinks and was in such a rush I didn't realize this until after I had left. That's my fault, though. At all the lodges, since they don't have computers to keep track of the charges, it is important to double-check what you are being asked to pay for.
Overall, though, I would return here any chance I got!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljenks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely long review! We are aware of the issues associated with not having the facilities to accept credit cards in camp, and we really hope that this is something we can resolve in the near future. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in camp, and we hope to see you again one day!!
Alice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#22 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kikoti Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikoti Safari Camp

Property: Kikoti Safari Camp
Address: PO Box 284 | Arusha, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kikoti Safari Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kikoti Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing