We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place in the pak”
Review of Kikoti Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kikoti Safari Camp
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This lovely resort was quite a surprise after a long, dusty day of wildlife viewing during which I saw no signs of human settlement. We were each welcomed with a refreshing damp towel and then taken to our individual cabins overlooking a deep ravine and forest area. The accommodations were thoroughly modern and when the giraffe and elephants strolled into view across the ravine, I enjoyed watching from our patio. Before dinner there was an opportunity to participate in a Masai dance ceremony. The food, service, and atmosphere were outstanding. I would have been happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!
Its certainly worth bringing a pair of binoculars to Kikoti, as you say, there's nothing better than sitting on your private balcony watching the wildlife in action-and sometimes you don't even need the binoculars!!
We have many massai that work for us in camp, and by far their favourite thing to do is welcome the guests with a traditional song and dance! It is interactive, and we encourage our guests to participate if they feel they would like to - its a great photo opportunity too, taking home a photograph of you trying to out jump a massai warrior will really impress your family and friends!
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is my second time having the privilege of staying at Kikoti Tented Camp and I am already looking forward to going back again very soon. Since I stayed at the camp last they have made some upgrades to the camp including a very nice stone terrace with a sunken fire pit that over looks Tarangire National Park. GREAT sunsets!!!

Another new nice feature are power outlets in the tents, enabling you to charge the batteries for your camera and any other equipment that you may have brought with you. One other addition which is extremely nice but part of me wishes wasn't there is the wifi in the main lodge area. I loved being able to communicate with my wife half way around the world but it didn't seem right to have internet access out in the African bush.

I stayed at Kikoti for twelve nights and everyone of them was perfect! We had something different to eat at every meal and all the meals whether in camp or out on a game drive was just fantastic.

I highly recommend staying at Kikoti camp if you are going on Safari in Tanzania.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertLouisCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

There's nothing better for us than a happy customer - except of-course a happy Return customer! and one who plans to come again next year - what more could we ask for!!
We are delighted that you like our renovations, the new sunken fire pit is certainly a hit with all of our guests, And whilst we understand your concerns with the wifi, its simply there if you want to use it, in fact many guests these days tell us that they've left all communication devices at home in order not to be tempted!!
We were pleased to welcome you back this year, and we look forward to your return next year! Thank you for your lovely review.
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent one night at Kikoti Tented Camp when we were touring the parks in Tanzania. It was an excellent experience, and we absolutely hope to come back and spend more time at Kikoti. Staff are courteous and helpful, facilities are comfortable and relaxing, and the food is excellent. We were able to go on a night game drive, which was great fun. Highly recommend it! Thanks for a great experience!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

You are most welcome!
We are so pleased you had such a relaxing and fun time with us here at Kikoti! What a shame you could only spend one night, we would love to welcome you back in the future.
The night game drives really are a highlight, and although we cannot guarantee which animals you might see, we can certainly guarantee you'll have a great experience!
Karibu tena - welcome again!
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Kikoti Tented Camp as part of our 12 day safari that included the north, east and central Serengeti as well as Ngorongoro Crater and finally Tanangire National Park. We stayed at some pretty amazing places but Kikoti was our absolute favorite. Kikoti is a non profit camp and all proceeds from your stay benefit the preservation of elephants. The accommodations are incredible - a beautiful tented room on stilts with a beautiful view of the swamp far below. The rooms have flush toilets and hot showers and the decor is imaginative and beautiful. On our first night a giraffe came to visit before dinner and on our second night five lions camped out below our tent! The staff is amazing and friendly and will do everything in their power to make your stay memorable. The food is delicious beyond description. We loved this place and I recommend it highly to everyone!

Room Tip: If you can get tent 8 or 18 you will be on the very end and have a better chance of getting visits f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Wow, we are thrilled to be your favourites! Thank you,and thank you for leaving us a review on trip advisor.
For most people who visit us, this is a once in a lifetime experience, and we do our very best to make it as memorable as possible for each and every guest. Our staff pride themselves on their hospitality and friendliness, and love nothing more than to see the guests having a great time!
It certainly seem as though your were popular with the animals during your stay too!
Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review.
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Kikoti as part of our honeymoon, and it was a wonderful experience. They have a beautiful location and the tents are very comfortable. We enjoyed delicious dinners every night and the hosts were great! We also loved the safari walk with sundowners and the night game drive. It was a perfect way to end our trip.

Unfortunately, after returning back home to the United States, we unpacked everything and realized that we lost all of our digital camera cards. We think we left them in our tent area. We tried emailing the camp to see if they found it and received a delivery error. There is no way for us to contact them directly.

Room Tip: Tent number 18 is a far walk but it's great for being away from everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizmary17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for your review!
I am so sorry to hear of your misfortune regarding the loss of your memory cards, I can only imagine how disappointed you must be, especially loosing that fabulous shot of the leopard on the night game drive!
We did receive an email from our US representative a few days after your departure, and I can assure you that the camp, including your room and all the public areas were searched thoroughly, although unfortunately no cards were found. I do hope that they will turn up soon.
Im pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the activities on offer here.
Thank you again for your review.
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Wonderful reception area with a beautiful hand carved bar. Fire pit for entertainment by Masai. Our tent was adequate though we had issues with water leaking in the sinks. While maintenance came to fix it happened again.
Had to charge electronics in a separate area..not in our tent. That was a pain.

Room Tip: The tents are located down a sandy path away from the reception area. #1 is the closet. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acey071368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on trip advisor.
We are sad to see that you have only awarded us three out of five stars, and that you felt our rooms were only adequate.
We do our very best to ensure all our rooms are at their best before you arrive, and im very sorry you had some plumbing issues that you felt were not resolved.
In regards to the charging facilities it is true that at this moment in time only half of our rooms have plug sockets, and for the rest there is what we call a charging station. This facility is located in the same room as the reception and opposite the dinning and lounge areas, before our recent renovations all guests charged their batteries here, and even now some still choose to do so as the adaptors in the charging room fit all plug types. It is perfectly safe to leave items charging here over night and any member of staff would be more than happy to assist you bringing your items here to charge.
I also feel I ought to point out, that while you lists our camp as being 'in the midst of renovations' there is actually no renovation work being carried out while we have guests in camp. We started some work earlier in the year (during our low season, when we had no guests in camp) and unfortunately, due to an unprecedented amount of rainfall the work was unable to be completed, which has meant that the minor changes being made to the rooms - such as the addition of plug sockets - has only been achieved in half of our rooms to date. Not wanting to cause any disruption to our guests, we are waiting for our next low season to be able to complete the rest of the rooms.
Thank you again for your review.
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Kikoti is as pretty and comfortable as it can be while still giving you an authentic out-in-the-bush experience.

It's a small camp, with I think 18 rooms spaced apart, out in the game reserve, and up on a bit of a bluff so that you have an unobstructed view of the landscape. The rooms are called "tents," but they're really more like cabins -- solid wooden structures, up on stilts, with a broad roof overhanging the screened walls. Even by myself, I felt perfectly safe. Yes, I woke up at night to the howls of hyenas and what felt like an earthquake when a buffalo scratched his back on one of the support poles. But that's why you stay in a safari camp! It's clean, the decor is charming and warm, and the beds are comfortable. The little details like the hot water bottle at your feet at night really make it special. Another reviewer complained about the fire-heated water tanks. To me, that was just part of the place's charm.

The best part about Kikoti is the staff. Danny, the camp manager, made me feel right at home, and even sat with me at dinner so that I wouldn't be bored. Everyone else was great, too: the Maasai guards who walk you to your tent at night, Mary and the other cooks, the wait staff, Mzee John, the sweet lady who brought coffee to my room at 5:30 in the morning. And you can just leave your camera and your passport and everything in the room, and you don't have to worry about anything getting stolen, which you really appreciate if you've been traveling around and having to lock your stuff up all the time.

Based on some of the other reviews here, I would suggest that information about the wildlife be made available so that people aren't frightened by things like a bat flapping around outside. Maybe a booklet in the rooms -- a brief guide to the noises you might hear at night and what they mean. There's no reason for anyone to be upset about a bat eating up some of the mosquitos!

Finally, it's worth noting that 100% of the proceeds at Kikoti go to the African Wildlife Trust, a conservation organization that is working to save Tanzania's elephants. Given the current poaching crisis, that alone is reason to stay there.

But regardless, I would definitely recommend Kikoti. I got way too comfortable there, and was very sorry to leave!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Maraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you so much for your detailed review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much that you felt you didn't want to leave!! Im glad that the staff made you really feel at home here, that is part of our objective, you arrive as guests and leave as friends!
We would be delighted to welcome you back to Kikoti again!
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
0.0 mi away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#11 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
613 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kikoti Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikoti Safari Camp

Address: PO Box 284 | Arusha, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: £129 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kikoti Safari Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kikoti Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing