We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun accomodations...but”
Review of Kikoti Safari Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kikoti Safari Camp
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We recently stayed at Kikoti on our safari in Tanzania and the treehouse style, tent accomodations were fun. Everything about this lodge was great except for the welcome we received, which was basically none, and the concern that was shown to us during our stay. The regular staff were friendly and helpful. I have to say that I really did enjoy hearing the birthday song, but beyond that things were not so great... there was a large group staying at the lodge and it seemed that the focus was totally on them. If you did not get down to the buffet style meals early, there wasn't much food left and no concern shown. I think that the mangement needs to focus more of their attention on all of their guests not just a chosen group. I felt especially sorry for a family of six when they came for breakfast one morning to find most everything gone. The management had every opportunity to repair the poor reception we were aforded but sadly fell well short

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on trip advisor, although we were shocked and disappointed to read your thoughts.
All our guests are welcomed on arrival with a face towel and a juice, and are then given a quick guide to the camp. My husband and I, as the managers, give the talk personally, very occasionally, when we are perhaps receiving more than two groups of guests at a time, our deputy manager will give the introduction, but certainly all guests are met on arrival and welcomed to our beautiful camp.
We had many large groups staying over the Christmas week, and I can only apologise if you felt as though our attentions were focused on them. This is certainly not our aim here in Kikoti. We do our utmost to make all our guests feel at home and always spend our evenings around the camp fire, and the lounge area listening to the stories from your day, and answering questions you may have. We realise that as couples or smaller groups being in a camp with a large group can feel a little overwhelming, this is why we have both the fire pit area and the lounge, and we try to make sure we engage with all our guests.
With large groups it can be difficult to get the food quantities exact, and we are very sorry if on this occasion you felt the food was not replenished quick enough, there is always enough food for everyone.
We are extremely disappointed that as managers you felt we fell short, we put our hearts and souls into what we do, and can only apologise if you felt it was not enough.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the birthday cake and song, and hope that you had a great time on the rest of your trip.
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2013 on our family safari trip across Tanzania.
The staff was friendly and outgoing. They even song a special song and baked a cake for a birthday. The food was great and the lounge area with the fire pit was a nice gathering place in the evenings. The rooms were very special with a lovely veranda to enjoy the room service of tea/coffee in the morning. Our room had a great view of the swamp and we could see the elephants walking across in the evening. Don't miss this great and unique property.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winchestr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review of our camp, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The swamp certainly makes for a wonderful view from our uniquely styled rooms, and it provides the perfect African backdrop to our evenings spent around the camp fire!
We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Karibu tena! (welcome again)
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This lovely resort was quite a surprise after a long, dusty day of wildlife viewing during which I saw no signs of human settlement. We were each welcomed with a refreshing damp towel and then taken to our individual cabins overlooking a deep ravine and forest area. The accommodations were thoroughly modern and when the giraffe and elephants strolled into view across the ravine, I enjoyed watching from our patio. Before dinner there was an opportunity to participate in a Masai dance ceremony. The food, service, and atmosphere were outstanding. I would have been happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!
Its certainly worth bringing a pair of binoculars to Kikoti, as you say, there's nothing better than sitting on your private balcony watching the wildlife in action-and sometimes you don't even need the binoculars!!
We have many massai that work for us in camp, and by far their favourite thing to do is welcome the guests with a traditional song and dance! It is interactive, and we encourage our guests to participate if they feel they would like to - its a great photo opportunity too, taking home a photograph of you trying to out jump a massai warrior will really impress your family and friends!
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is my second time having the privilege of staying at Kikoti Tented Camp and I am already looking forward to going back again very soon. Since I stayed at the camp last they have made some upgrades to the camp including a very nice stone terrace with a sunken fire pit that over looks Tarangire National Park. GREAT sunsets!!!

Another new nice feature are power outlets in the tents, enabling you to charge the batteries for your camera and any other equipment that you may have brought with you. One other addition which is extremely nice but part of me wishes wasn't there is the wifi in the main lodge area. I loved being able to communicate with my wife half way around the world but it didn't seem right to have internet access out in the African bush.

I stayed at Kikoti for twelve nights and everyone of them was perfect! We had something different to eat at every meal and all the meals whether in camp or out on a game drive was just fantastic.

I highly recommend staying at Kikoti camp if you are going on Safari in Tanzania.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertLouisCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

There's nothing better for us than a happy customer - except of-course a happy Return customer! and one who plans to come again next year - what more could we ask for!!
We are delighted that you like our renovations, the new sunken fire pit is certainly a hit with all of our guests, And whilst we understand your concerns with the wifi, its simply there if you want to use it, in fact many guests these days tell us that they've left all communication devices at home in order not to be tempted!!
We were pleased to welcome you back this year, and we look forward to your return next year! Thank you for your lovely review.
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent one night at Kikoti Tented Camp when we were touring the parks in Tanzania. It was an excellent experience, and we absolutely hope to come back and spend more time at Kikoti. Staff are courteous and helpful, facilities are comfortable and relaxing, and the food is excellent. We were able to go on a night game drive, which was great fun. Highly recommend it! Thanks for a great experience!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

You are most welcome!
We are so pleased you had such a relaxing and fun time with us here at Kikoti! What a shame you could only spend one night, we would love to welcome you back in the future.
The night game drives really are a highlight, and although we cannot guarantee which animals you might see, we can certainly guarantee you'll have a great experience!
Karibu tena - welcome again!
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Kikoti Tented Camp as part of our 12 day safari that included the north, east and central Serengeti as well as Ngorongoro Crater and finally Tanangire National Park. We stayed at some pretty amazing places but Kikoti was our absolute favorite. Kikoti is a non profit camp and all proceeds from your stay benefit the preservation of elephants. The accommodations are incredible - a beautiful tented room on stilts with a beautiful view of the swamp far below. The rooms have flush toilets and hot showers and the decor is imaginative and beautiful. On our first night a giraffe came to visit before dinner and on our second night five lions camped out below our tent! The staff is amazing and friendly and will do everything in their power to make your stay memorable. The food is delicious beyond description. We loved this place and I recommend it highly to everyone!

Room Tip: If you can get tent 8 or 18 you will be on the very end and have a better chance of getting visits f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Wow, we are thrilled to be your favourites! Thank you,and thank you for leaving us a review on trip advisor.
For most people who visit us, this is a once in a lifetime experience, and we do our very best to make it as memorable as possible for each and every guest. Our staff pride themselves on their hospitality and friendliness, and love nothing more than to see the guests having a great time!
It certainly seem as though your were popular with the animals during your stay too!
Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review.
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Kikoti as part of our honeymoon, and it was a wonderful experience. They have a beautiful location and the tents are very comfortable. We enjoyed delicious dinners every night and the hosts were great! We also loved the safari walk with sundowners and the night game drive. It was a perfect way to end our trip.

Unfortunately, after returning back home to the United States, we unpacked everything and realized that we lost all of our digital camera cards. We think we left them in our tent area. We tried emailing the camp to see if they found it and received a delivery error. There is no way for us to contact them directly.

Room Tip: Tent number 18 is a far walk but it's great for being away from everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mizmary17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisha_Kikoti, Manager at Kikoti Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for your review!
I am so sorry to hear of your misfortune regarding the loss of your memory cards, I can only imagine how disappointed you must be, especially loosing that fabulous shot of the leopard on the night game drive!
We did receive an email from our US representative a few days after your departure, and I can assure you that the camp, including your room and all the public areas were searched thoroughly, although unfortunately no cards were found. I do hope that they will turn up soon.
Im pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the activities on offer here.
Thank you again for your review.
Alice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
421 reviews
0 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#3 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
265 reviews
0 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
634 reviews
0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
501 reviews
0 mi away
Ecoscience Science Center and Luxury Lodge
Ecoscience Science Center and Lu...
#20 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kikoti Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikoti Safari Camp

Address: PO Box 284 | Arusha, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: £122 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kikoti Safari Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kikoti Tented Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing