We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but quite expensive and outside of the Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tarangire River Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed 1 night in this camp before going to Ngorongoro.
The location is very nice, close to the river but outside of the river so you have to drive 15min to get into the Park.
Our tent was very comfortable, the swimming pool is lovely and the food is OK.
Overall, the price we paid for 1 night including dinner was quite expensive (around 330 euros 1 night for 2 people) but I believe it is due to the location itself which quite difficult to access.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoulouGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stunning views with amazing lovebirds all over the place. Kind staff.

Sexy bathrooms and with hot water at night and sometimes in the morning. Pool onsite.

Liked the staff but found the manager a challenge.

Eating breakfast and watching elephants in the river bed was amazing.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We arrived on the 28th of October at Kilimanjaro Airport where we were picked up by our private guide (Simba Safari). After a short stop in Arusha we drove directly to Tarangire River Camp.

The way to get there was already an adventure which we really enjoyed. Arriving at the camp a little after noon we were served lunch first. Nothing to complain about, just great.

After the GM gave us a brief introduction to the area and the camp facilities, we were lead to our tent. It was spacious, comfortable and very nicely embodied in the landscape.

The Camp is located approx. 20 minutes of the entrance to Tarangire National Park, overviewing a dried out riverbed because of dry season.
The game drives were awesome with loads of different animal to see. But back to the accomodation...

After dusk Masai Guards will accompany you to the main area due to the area is not fenced and wild animal can cross all the time. What a great experience.

After all the Tarangire River Camp is a very nice Camp, convenient located to enter Tarangire National Park. Not as luxurious as other Camps (which will be rated by me afterwards) maybe but for me (and my wife) just perfect.

I really can recommend it to everybody. It`s absolutely worth it`s money (which is compared to other lodges not very much..)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marco0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Loved this place!

Beautiful beautiful views, excellent tents and excellent service.

We had a family tent which had plenty of room and was immaculate. Loved the Maasi guide when it got dark and loved just sitting on the terrace watching Elephant and Giraffe meander across the dry river bed at sundowner.

Food was good and service was excellent. The pool was chilly but very welcome after a day in the amazing Tarangire National Park.

All sorts of animals roam the camp at night, I was convinced that there was a the very least a herd of elephant outside our tent one night but the footprints in the sand confirmed it was nothing more exciting than an impala (or a goat)!

Some animals don't just leave it until night time, during our stay a huge spitting cobra was found and 'dealt' with - apparently it had made its home under the restaurant!

Would I recommend this place! A resounding yes. Would I return? Oh yes please!!

Room Tip: We had a family tent for 4. Tents are a little spread out so if this is your first stop on the Safa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tringtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for one night at the start of our safari, and wished we had longer. The lodge is built on the ridge overlooking the river and is a fantastic spot to watch the animals crossing in and out of the park. So many animals cross nearby the camp that once its dark you need to wait for the local Maasai who work in the camp to take you to and from your tent.
As we were having breakfast we watched a family of elephants crossing the river into the park- an amazing sight as your sipping your coffee!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dani026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed here as an extended family in July. The location of the camp is very nice. It is at the ridge. Of the Tarangire river so you can watch animals that come to the river for water. The lobby area, dining area, pool and sitting area is very nice. They have a bonfire going in the evening under the stars. it is magical. The room that we stayed in was a family suite. It was very large with a large bathroom, tub, shower, sink etc. The room was very well decorated and had a lot of space. There was good size balcony.
At night elephants came right outside our tent to graze. We also heard a lot of commotion with the zebras barking and running around outside. Of course you had to be escorted to the tent after sun down by a security guard. The tents are a bit far apart so as an extended family it was not the best for us. There was a bit of inflexibility in terms of adding a bed to one of the rooms. Wish they were a bit more flexible with that. Other than that all was good.
Overall, I would definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefig2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We are a family of 4 (with 2 sons, aged 15 and 12) from the UK and Tarangire River Camp was the first port of call, after leaving Arusha to start our 8 day safari this summer. What a wonderful spot! The tents on stilts meander along the cliff top edge of the Tarangire River ( a dry riverbed a the time of our visit). This was our introduction to "camping" in the African wilderness with nothing between us and the animals, and we were charmed by our Masai guards escorting us to the restaurant and back after dusk. The swimming pool was an unexpected, and welcome addition - not advertised on their website at the time of our booking, and a relaxing place to unwind after a day's game viewing. We had a family "tent" - more a canvassed cabin on stilts, for the 4 of us, very comfortable, and standards of cleanliness were excellent ( as indeed we found them to be generally throughout the safari). Great food served by friendly staff. We would definitely return; beaten for atmosphere and general romance only by the Serengeti Wilderness Camps we were to experience a few nights later in the northern Serengeti.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
23.5 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#3 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
265 reviews
12.4 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
635 reviews
12.8 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#17 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
169 reviews
13.6 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
422 reviews
6.9 mi away
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp
#24 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire River Camp

Address: | Minjingu, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: £340 - £507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarangire River Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarangire River Camp is located in a Wildlife Management Area bordering the Tarangire National Park. Situated on top of a high river bank over looking the Tarangire River. With spectacular views over the valley and river below, there is no shortage of amazing views and scenery. An abundance of animals come down to drink at the river all day, offering guests that little bit extra. Tarangire River Camp is a popular stop over for most as they travel to and from the Ngorongoro Crater, Serengeti and Lake Manyara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tarangire River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarangire River Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing