We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarangire River Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Glomfjord, Norway
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Tarangiri river camp for two nights on our visit to Tarangire National park in february. I am very happy with the stay at the river camp. The hosts were nice, the food was very good and service was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sturla_nilssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    66
    23
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
131
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Gillis-Waas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Nicely situated on a cliff of Tarangire river which didn't contain a drop of water when we stayed there)you sleep in a sophisticated tent "with a view" from all tents the view is superb. Between sunset and sunrise we were brought to our tents by Maasai to cope with possible (too) close encounters with various wild animals. Game drives in the neighborhood are superb with e.g. giraffe, zebra, monkeys, antelopes, elephants, hyena etc., not to forget the superb Baobab trees that shape the landscape. The sunset here is unforgettable. The food was OK but not superb.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at this permanent tented camp for two nights on our recent visit to Tarangire National Park. The place was pleasant enough but needs a bit more money spent on it to more it up a star. A few things were a bit worn- for example the pool side lounger covers were ripped. The food was generally good but water was not provided at meals and there were no large bottles on offer so these little extras added up.
The linen in the tents was good and that seemed very new. Even though we were a couple we were given a family tent which was a bit full of beds and not over looking the river- be sure to double check when you book.
The drive to the park was longer than we thought- about 20 minutes over rough road. We actually skipped one afternoon game drive as we could not face the drive into the park again.
As elsewhere on safari the animal sightings did not disappoint, especially the birds and elephants which this park is famous for.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank istanbulhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver bc
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Once the road from Arusha is finished, this will be an easy drive with just a half hour bit of rough road to contend with. As the river only runs during the rains, our Landcruiser crossed the dry river bed over to the camp, which is on an escarpment overlooking the river.
Tented rooms on wooden platforms were very comfortable. A nice touch was the provision of a Maasai 'warrior' (teenagers I think!!) to escort us from room to Hotel and vice versa.
We thought this was posturing for the tourists but indeed we heard lions roaring and lots of animal prowing around during the night. Bring a flashlight!
Breakfasts are very good and the evening meals quite excellent - no menu choices.

Room Tip: Room 10 is quite a hike as it is at the end of the line of tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
everywhere
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We started our safari with 2 tented lodges to really get into the mood of our trip. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at this place. Dinner was good - pumpkin soup and then chicken (tomato coconut sauce) with rice. (Though the best food we had on the trip was surprisingly at the Serengeti Sopa Lodge)

Place is well kept. We went when there were only 2 other couples, so the camp was rather quiet. Fantastic view and just felt you were in the nature.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EverywhereAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed 1 night in this camp before going to Ngorongoro.
The location is very nice, close to the river but outside of the river so you have to drive 15min to get into the Park.
Our tent was very comfortable, the swimming pool is lovely and the food is OK.
Overall, the price we paid for 1 night including dinner was quite expensive (around 330 euros 1 night for 2 people) but I believe it is due to the location itself which quite difficult to access.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoulouGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stunning views with amazing lovebirds all over the place. Kind staff.

Sexy bathrooms and with hot water at night and sometimes in the morning. Pool onsite.

Liked the staff but found the manager a challenge.

Eating breakfast and watching elephants in the river bed was amazing.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FraserCarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
12.8 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
12.4 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
23.4 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#16 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
13.6 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarangire River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarangire River Camp

Property: Tarangire River Camp
Address: | Minjingu, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarangire River Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tarangire River Camp is located in a Wildlife Management Area bordering the Tarangire National Park. Situated on top of a high river bank over looking the Tarangire River. With spectacular views over the valley and river below, there is no shortage of amazing views and scenery. An abundance of animals come down to drink at the river all day, offering guests that little bit extra. Tarangire River Camp is a popular stop over for most as they travel to and from the Ngorongoro Crater, Serengeti and Lake Manyara. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarangire River Camp Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing