We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable lodge with amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boundary Hill Lodge
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable lodge with amazing views”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Boundary Hill was our last stop on a 9 day safari in September, and it was a treat. We did not experience any issues with electric outages or run down rooms- maybe they recently refurbished?

It was nice having electricity and hot water 24 hours. this was our only lodging with that on our trip! the shower was wonderful- good pressure. Nice, comfortable bed with a mosquito net. The highlight for sure was the beautiful views. we had three walls of floor to ceiling windows, and a wrap around balcony where we spent some time unwinding drinking wine.

the staff was wonderful- so friendly and accommodating. Joseph was a great host, spoke good English and had a good sense of humor. One of the Maasai escorts also spoke a little English, so it was nice to talk directly to him (instead of through a translator).

No walking outside after dark without an escort, but this was our standard experience throughout the trip. We didn't mind.

The dining area was exceptionally beautiful. Also overlooked the cliffs. We loved sitting out there looking at the sky- we saw two shooting stars! We just don't see night skies like that at home. Lovely place, great relaxing way to finish our amazing safari.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SASMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    16
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We spent two nights here during a long safari during which we stayed at many places, and this was the only one that disappointed us. The location and idea are really superb, but it seems that it is really poorly maintained and in a state of disrepair. We arrived after dark, and it was quite pitch black going down the stairs to our bungalow, excepts for our escort's flashlight. I realized the next morning that that there were FOUR broken lanterns that could have been lit to help us. Also, the banister between you and a 10 foot drop was broken, wobbly, and wired back into place. Our room had no radio or means of contacting anyone for help after dark.
The rooms were sparsely decorated, which is fine. However, what was there was not in good shape. There was holes in our towels because they were so old, and there was duct tape holding the screens into their frames.
The night game drive was comically bad. The vehicle was sputtering and stalling the entire trip, making so much noise that I think all animals within 5 miles of us would have been alerted to our presense. We honestly didn't think we'd make it back up the hill to the lodge.
The food was respectable. The staff was all very nice and tried very hard, though I don't think they had much training.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAndreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Boundary Hill is spectacular. We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our safari and loved every minute. Each room is a separate cabin built into the hillside, with a balcony looking out towards Kilimanjaro and the sunrise.

The staff are exceptional and can't do enough to help you (or feed you!). You can do as much or as little as you want - we went on a game walk with the Masai, had an arrow-shooting session, went on a night drive and still found time to relax and unwind.

Some of the negative reviews on here seem to be mainly due to the lack of home comforts (electricity, tarmac roads etc!). Remember this is Africa, and to enjoy the unspoilt views and secluded setting the Lodge has to be remote! There are solar powered lights in the rooms, hot water, and if you need anything charged there is a generator so the staff will happily charge stuff for you in the dining area.

I would recommend staying here to anyone who gets the chance - particularly if you prefer somewhere more relaxed and quiet than the larger lodges available.
Thanks to everyone at Boundary Hill for an amazing time - especially Saif and Danny!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_W82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We loved this lodge, the roads to get there is like much of Africa - pretty poor. The location is fabulous - lodges built into the hill. The rooms are huge, I think I was in no 2 which includes a 4 poster bed, lounge area, desk - a toilet with a full wall of glass overlooking the valley (no one can see you) and a bath complete with good hot water out in the open. What a beautiful experience to lie in a bath watching the skies darken. Electricity was not great, several of my lights weren't working - so take a headlamp and or torch. Remember this is Africa - and this lodge is in the middle of nowhere. We also loved the Masai 'protectors' who walked us to our rooms particularly at night.

The staff were lovely and we enjoyed the food, also the walk with the Masai and the visit to the Masai village - I am already very conscious of how lucky we are but looking at the tiny size of their houses and the hardness of the sleeping platform confirms what a comfortable life I have. I felt quite claustophobic inside.

We loved everything about this lodge and it was a lovely opportunity to rest a little at the end of a hectic two weeks.

Room Tip: One of the rooms - not sure which share a lounge area and porch - it was great for two of our party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isa_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This place was breath-taking. The views were sensational and the staff were fantastic. The guided walk with the Masai was particularly enjoyable. The lodges were massive and the balcony was amazing with a bath! The food was always really lovely and there was lots of it. A great place to stay. Thank you to all the staff at the lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linz83890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We are a family of 5 with 3 teenagers. Stayed for 3 nights, probably our best in Africa. We got Room 2 which is stunning with a bath on the balcony from which to be overwhelmed by the night sky! (Plenty of HOT water)The kids got an awesome bungalow with a huge balcony where they had an open fire lit each evening! The lodges are all placed for superb views and privacy, very special. The location is out of this world and the individual rooms have been designed and built with imagination and flare in a spirit of fun. The activities where of the very highest calibre with outstanding guides. On the game walk, we were enthralled to see a baboon spider's lair and watch a chamelon changing colour - all introduced by a Masai warrior and excellent guide. There is far more to Africa than just large animals (of which there where plenty!)
The night drive was also a highlight, well done and exceeded our expectations for the number of species seen, the Spring Hares were quite comical and endearing.
At every meal the food was excellent and the service we experienced very special, all the staff were concerned that we enjoyed our stay and seemed genuinely happy in their work. We couldn't recommend Boundary Hills more highly.

In reference to some of the less flattering reviews, it is important I guess to understand that you are on the very edge of a remote national park in Africa, a long way from a sealed road and the mall. If guaranteed power, gushing high pressure water and an endless supply of tissues is of the highest importance, maybe another continent should be considered.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We were a group of 6 (4 adults + 2 children) that spent 3 nights at the Boundary Hill Lodge (mid-June 2012). We stayed in the 2 biggest villas there overlooking the valley on the rock face. The views were stunning. The villas were huge and more than sufficient for our needs. But here is where things sucked. There was ABSOLUTELY NO WATER in our room !! I mean no water!! repeated complaints to the maintenance staff/supervisor was met with an answer of "there is water in the storage tank so you should get it". Even when some water trickled down, there was no Hot water. We literally were trying to run between the two showers trying to see if we could salvage a small shower!! One of the bedrooms had absolutely no power!!! We sort of managed, but this was pardonable as much of these rooms were powered by solar :-) !!!

Next started the fiasco of food. All of us are vegetarians and we had repeatedly reminded both while booking with the company (East African Safari) and while checking in at the lodge. The first evening they serve fish after an atrocious 1.5 hour wait at the dining area!! The dining area had NO electricity, and we had a "candle light ONLY dinner". The next day dinner was even worse, because there was NO DINNER whatsoever!! They said the supplies hadn't arrived from the town!! This was announced after making us wait for 2 hours !! (I am not exaggerating)!! We were just livid!! Kids were starving and cranky!! It is not like you can walk down to the next restaurant or town to grab a bite! This is really in the middle of nowhere!!!

But I have to say that the staff members on-site were super nice and courteous and were genuinely apologetic!! But apology doesn't cut it, especially given that we had paid a lot of money for this trip!!

FInally after several phone calls to the owner, Simon King, we did get some credit back for all the "hardships" !!! Later on things were explained as failure to clean filters, truck problems etc. May be we hit a perfect storm, but it was SO traumatic that I had to write this review and let it out!!!!

Room Tip: Do not get the rooms that are located higher up as the water flow would suck big time!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceevee97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#8 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ecoscience Science Center and Luxury Lodge
Ecoscience Science Center and Lu...
#22 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boundary Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boundary Hill Lodge

Property: Boundary Hill Lodge
Address: | Sakina, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literally perched on the edge of Tarangire National Park, among trees and rock outcrops, the lodge is nestled into the cliffs and huge granite slabs. Built of natural materials, predominantly local stone, wood and burnt brick, Boundary Hill Lodge offers outstanding views over the Silale and Gosuwa swamps, where elephant and buffalo graze among the acacia and baobab trees beneath the vastness of Africa's sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boundary Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boundary Hill Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing