We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Boundary Hill!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boundary Hill Lodge
midwest
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Boundary Hill!”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed at Boundary Hill for three nights while traveling with EASTCO on a two week safari. We had the most wonderful stay!

The setting of the property is breathtaking, the rooms are beautiful, the staff wonderful and the food great. While we were there we went on a night drive where we saw some really interesting animals including an Aardwolf. We went on a morning walk with a guide and a Maasi which was also interesting and a nice change of pace to be out walking instead of riding. And, we also visited a Maasi boma where we learned many things about the Maasi, their culture and way of life.

While staying at Boundary Hill, we met a Tinga Tinga painter named Mr. Nchimbi who did beautiful work. We bought one of his paintings and are so glad we did as the quality of his work was so much nicer than the paintings along the roadsides.

Boundary Hill offered a restful, relaxing and unique place to stay and we are so glad we had the opportunity to stay there. It was a great addition to our itinerary!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joby01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    16
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
72
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at Boundary Hill over New Years Holiday and it was the perfect hotel to end our stay with. We did not want to leave and wish we had more time there as this was one of the highlights of our trip. I would advise arriving in the mid-morning/afternoon to maximize your time or spend 2 nights. We cannot wait to go back again. I would rank this as one of the top 5 places we have ever stayed (not because of amenities and extras but because of the property and views!).

There is no proper reception/concierge etc...so don't expect that. The staff/local Masai will carry your luggage to your room and you will probably feel like the lodge is very isolate (it is!). I was worried I would get lost if I ever left my room as we arrived at night but the staff is always around to escort you.


Pros:
- The staff was delightful and so attentive. It's a joint partnership with the local Masai which was awesome. It was just a 2 of us for the night so we had the place to ourselves.

- Food was pretty good. I really loved the soup at dinner and breakfast.

- Our room was massive. We had a king size bed with sitting area and downstairs was a large bathroom. We also had a enormous balcony with stunning views. Words cannot do it justice.

- The walking safari is incredible and a must. We learned so much and saw a giraffe carcas in it's entirety from a recent kill.

Cons:

We didn't have a problem with any of the below but this more of FYI for future guests

- The grounds and room are a little dark at night (bring a flashlight)

- The road to Boundary Hill is a long one (and I am not exagerating). It's more of a dirt path through trees which was fun but tiring after a long day (hence why i recommend getting their earlier rather than in the evening). The drive is totally worth it and don't get dismayed by this as you have to take this road to several other properties as well so it's not unique to Boundary Hill.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matrix02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

What a truly amazing experience we had at Boundary Hill Lodge. We have just returned from our trip to Tanzania and our stay at Boundary Hill is one of the moments we will never forget. We had a beautiful room with a jaw dropping panoramic view - even from our bed! It was nestled into the hillside with a wrap around terrace, perfect for unwinding after a busy few days. The mornings were the best, waking up to the sunrise over the far away mountains and a bird symphony to compliment it. The staff were absolutely wonderful. Everyone there was friendly, courteous and accommodating. We enjoyed all of our meals which were always served hot. We loved our morning walk with both of our guides and our night drive was better than expected. We saw many animals that night and we even saw a chameleon! The lodge is located in a remote area so yes, there is a bit of a drive in but nothing to complain about - it's all part of the adventure while on safari and the reward of this unique lodge and the surroundings is worth it. Thank you to everyone there for making this part of our trip so special.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed 3 days in the Boundary Hill Lodge in December 2012. When receiving our travel itinerary by Eastco Safari we were pleased to read about this eco-friendly lodge where part of the proftis go to the local Masai. After 6 days of safari we arrived in the Tarangire Conservation Area. It was hotter in this area as in the Serengeit, so after some hours in the jeep, I really was looking forward to have a shower. When entering our room we were amazed by the stunning view although we already had seen pictures. You have to see it with your own eyes! Unfortunately I cannot stand the heat so well, so I fell sick for a day, but.. I couldn't imagine a better place to get sick. The bath tub on the balcony was just great! I really enjoyed taking a bath with such an amazing view. We enjoyed the night safari, a visit to a little Masai village, a walk in the conservation area and ofcourse the day safari and seeing so much game in the Tarangire national Park. Really would recommend Boundary Lodge as a very comfortable base to explore this region.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tzims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

On the plus side: beautiful surrounding, bungalows are attached to the rock or at the top of the hill, charming design and layout, a lot of windows so you feel like being in the open yet very private as there is no one that can see you, huge rooms… Simply I did fall in love with the place and none of the negatives, and there are negatives, did not bother me.

Now on the negative side: I was mad even before we left the park when driver told us that we can not access the lodge from the Boundary Hill Gate as the road was washed out due to the recent rains. So we left the park through the main gate following the Tree Tops vehicle that was going in the same direction (I did not know that two lodges are close to each other). It took us exactly two hours to get to the lodge. I do not understand why Simon and Tree Tops can not agree to make a bridge as they must have the same issue every year. Other issues are related to the low usage rate and if property does not generate sufficient income it is difficult to keep up with maintenance. There are obvious signs of water damage that need to be addressed and boiler in our room needed a repair (I think that electronic controller is not working properly, so just an ordinary plumber will not be able to resolve it).
Signs of ageing are visible in common areas as well: one can see that sofa was of very good quality once but it will not last long any more.

After all, I do not regret we went to BHL even having to drive that long. Lodge is different from any other accommodation we’ve been at in TZ and it is a pity that Simon does not team up with some investors as place has so much potential.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drago_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

V. disappointing experience. Beautiful location and that’s it. There were 4 of us who stayed in a cottage style building with a shared living room and 2 separate en-suite bathrooms. Very basic decor - do not expect luxury. The bed was v. comfortable and warm. View from the rooms, porch and bathroom was really something else. Beautiful outdoor fire was lit in the evening.

There was a problem with the hot water - none of us had any, and the water pressure was v. low. As it’s chilly anyway due to the windows having no glass, this really was a painful experience. The owner said it was because there wasn’t enough sun to heat it, but other people staying in the lodge that we chatted to did not have this problem. There wasn’t enough power in the rooms for anything other than lights – we had to ask staff to charge phones/camera batteries and they were reluctant to do this for some reason. I’ve stayed in other accommodations where only solar power was available and the same problems were not an issue. The Masai who accompany you to the rooms were friendly.

Dinner was not good. The manager saw we had sent it back uneaten and came to speak to us about it but did not stop talking for about 30 minutes on other topics. Never inquired why we didn't finish it, didn't even give us the opportunity to say why. One staff complained to us about the cruelty of the manager. We had planned on staying 2 nights, but due to these issues we left a night early. The owner offered a refund for the missed night and excursions we had booked which we were happy about. While I loved the location - it really is wondrous - I cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Litzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonking, Owner at Boundary Hill Lodge, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
These clients stayed at the lodge 8 months ago. The probational manager was dismissed after their stay and they received a full refund. They paid resident rates as such they had the rooms with the only solar hot water system, which are the last rooms we allocate. No other room has solar hot water hence the other clients all had hot water. In discussions with them afterwards this was their major problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Despite being pretty far off the beaten track, even in the Tarangire Natl. Park, the Boundary Hill Lodge was the best of the safari experiences we had. We had a bungalow on the rocks, with an outdoor shower, an outdoor bathtub and views for 100s of kilometers of the park and the conservation area. So nice, great sunsets and sunrises. Food in the dining was great, staff was wonderful, game drive and night game drive and wilderness walk (with our Masai guide carrying his spear against lions and hyenas) were secondary pleasures to the lodge itself. Doug

Room Tip: One of the best rooms is #1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug197807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarangire National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge
#19 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#7 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boundary Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boundary Hill Lodge

Property: Boundary Hill Lodge
Address: | Sakina, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Literally perched on the edge of Tarangire National Park, among trees and rock outcrops, the lodge is nestled into the cliffs and huge granite slabs. Built of natural materials, predominantly local stone, wood and burnt brick, Boundary Hill Lodge offers outstanding views over the Silale and Gosuwa swamps, where elephant and buffalo graze among the acacia and baobab trees beneath the vastness of Africa's sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Boundary Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boundary Hill Hotel Tarangire National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing