We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boundary Hill Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Lake Manyara Wildlife Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Breakfast included
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
      Reviews (134)
      Filter reviews
      134 results
      Traveller rating
      96
      17
      9
      6
      6
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      96
      17
      9
      6
      6
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsdining areaamazing viewsmasai villagesamazing placelast stoptoiletlodgetarangiresafarianimalsplainsecosystemsettingblendcamp
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      104 - 109 of 134 reviews
      Reviewed 27 September 2010

      Last month we returned from 18 days Safari in Tanzania (without Zanzibar). We stayed at different places in the triangle of North Serengeti/Babati/Arusha.
      Of all those 18 nights the greatest place we stayed was Boundary Hill Lodge in Tarangire Conservation Area.
      The Lodge is, in one word, magical. Its location is superb, the view of the area and the vista of the surroundings from the lodge can’t be describe. I attached some pictures; but they are not doing a good job.
      When you enter the room; you do want to go out of it (actually my wife really stayed one full day in the room while I went alone with Bernard, our excellent guide to the N.P.)
      The breakfast and dinner are taken above that paranormal valley – you wish that the meal will never finish. You feel so relax in front of that vista that you need no more.
      The local team is marvelous. Good food, good service good beer. What else is required?
      The Lodge is one of the very few examples we faced of partnership and corporation of local tribes (in this case The Maasai tribe and East Africa Tour and Safari – Managed by Mr. Simon King). This example demonstrates that such approach can succeed and be fruitful for the three parties involved (The local tribe, the tour company and the travelers). We should hope to see more examples like this. Especially when we see that the local tribes are not flourishing too much on there own
      Cons in the place are: The place is outside the N.P. itself and the road up to the place in not a good one. But as I wrote; the minute you step inside you forget all about it. (b.t.w on that road we faced on the very first evening a Cheetah with her three cubs).
      Note: In spite of all written above; it might be useful to arrive to a new place without too much expectation. One might have personal preferences which could lead to different point of view

      • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank hp75210
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 26 September 2010

      We were on an East African Safari and Touring Company 6 day safari and stayed in villa 2, which we think must have been the best villa as it was so roomy and spacious and had a 180 degree balcony overlooking Tarangire! Shame that it was the dry season and so we could not use the balcony bath. The entrance of the lodge is so unassuming and we loved how the villas were all tucked away and just blended in with the surroundings. Had one night where an ant and beetle war occurred on the bathroom floor, but it was cleaned up the next morning and they didn't return. The staff were very lovely and the food was nice (albeit the breakfasts were very small). The night drive began with a shaky start (light kept malfunctioning) but another one was rustled up which did work. The walking tour was pretty average and we didn't see anything much of interest. The visit to the Maasai boma was fantastic, as it was the home of a true Maasai family and not at all touristy. Make sure you wear a good sports bra though, as the road going to the lodge are extremely bumpy!!

      • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Ritasaurus
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 20 September 2010

      While on a twelve day safari with East African Safari and Touring Company we stayed three nights at Boundary Hill. The food, service and friendly staff were a highlight of our trip. We visited the villages who own the lodge and went on a night drive were we were lucky enough to see a leopard.
      The open fire place in the dining area created a great atmosphere for before and after dinner drinks. This lodge is just outside the park entrance and the road to it although rough was part of the experience.
      The food was more than enough and pretty tasty. Lazarro the young "person in charge" was very friendly and went out of his way to be nice. Moses took us on a bush walk and he was entertainment in itself.
      All in all this lodge is more than 5 star and shouldn't be missed. The night drive and walks really make this lodge special.

      • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank Jennyritchie
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 8 September 2010

      Boundary hill in Tarangire was very charming almost like a fairy tale lodge. Our room cannot be called a room due to its size. It was more like a presidential villa overlooking the tarangire national park. we always saw herds of elephants from our balcony and the restaurant. It was luxury personified. It was a perfect ending after sleeping mostly in tents for the past 15 days.

      The bidlife in tarangire was spectacular & I overall loved tarangire park. The walking safaris and night game drives were an added benefit of staying at boundary hill which is outside the park gates. I was very suprised when the guide during the night game drive spotted a small chameleon on a distant tree when it was pitch dark. It seems the Tanzanians have special lenses fitted in their eyes. The food could be slightly better. The staff here was very hospitable.

      • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank bigislandhopper
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 6 September 2010

      My husband and I ( bot6h in our 50s) spent 3 nights at Boundary Hill Lodge as part of a 18 day safari organised by Simon of East Africa Safari. The room was fabulous, with an outstanding view from the terrace, the freestanding outdoor bath was AMAZING, the food and service were great especially as there was a terrific fire blazing in the open air fireplace and I can think of nothing cooler than being escorted to dinner by a friendly Masai, complete with spear.
      I really enjoyed the night safari and the game walk identifying footprints was lots of fun. The most amazing experience was without doubt our visit to Papa'a family Boma, where I was honoured to be welcomed by his family. We both felt very privileged.

      Thank you Simon for such a wonderful experience, I have recommended you to all of my friends.

      • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank rootstogrow
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews