We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must stay!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

What a special place Emmanuelle, Stephanie and team have created. We absolutely loved our time here and could have quite happily stayed longer had time allowed - and that was after already extending our stay! Definitely one of our favourite places in our South East Asia adventures. The food and cocktails are amazing, and fantastic value (seriously, would recommend coming out just for the food!). If you stay, make sure to order something from the BBQ - the fish and prawns are to die for. The accommodation really is fabulous, definitely much more than the basic we expected for it's setting. And although located slightly out of town, there is enough to keep yourself occupied - Stephanie is full of suggestions for spots to visit and such a spectacular setting means you don't have to go far to see things that your unlikely to come across otherwise. Our walk to the hill next to the budda was a real highlight. And if not, the bike ride into Kampot isn't too strenuous either! Or of course you could just laze the day away in the lounge area reading or playing darts and pool and listening to Emma's great music. This is definitely a must stay in Kampot (if not Cambodia), even just for one night...but I bet you'll want to extend your stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank akd90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    40
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
28
107
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

What can I say, amazing!!! I was at Ganesha a couple of years ago and unfortunately I had a motor bike accident when I rented a bike from town. I was rushed back to Ganesha in a taxi and for three days was looked after and watched by Emmanuelle and Stephanie. What staff goes out of their way to do that! To Emmanuelle and Stephanie you both deserve all the success, well done.

Its the place to be everything is wonderful including the people!! :)

Miss you both x

Room Tip: River hutts!!! love
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EVE_TUNNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We tried to book online but it said they were full, so we rang them and fortunately they had space. Run by Emmanuelle and Stephanie (and super chilled dog Burt), two French guys who have really made this place something special. The attention to detail, the advice ranging from trips, motorbikes, political persuasions, medical issues, food, pool techniques and general banter was fab. We felt truly relaxed and at home the minute we arrived and extended our stay so we could make use of the free bikes to ride into town, the Kymer canoes to gently paddle in the morning and the incredible food that their local staff rustle up. I can highly recommend the Kampot Pepper crab which wasn't even on the menu but they went to the market to get fresh ones for us, and the Kampot Pepper and Midori Margarita was gorgeous!
The stilt house we stayed in had a fan, really comfy double bed, mozzie net and a balcony for sunrise and sunset views. All for $15 a night. It's 4km out of town but easy to ride a bike into town or hire a moto.
Genuinely sad to leave, thanks for a great Kampot experience!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Ganesha for 4 days, and enjoyed every minute of it. The owners are fantastic and the place itself is simply magic! The beautiful surroundings are hard to leave behind, and you will see stars like nowhere else here. The place is perfect for everything, whether you want a comfy chair with some amazing vegetarian food and a glass of red wine with your book or to borrow bicycles for free and explore everything there is to do in the area. We still talk about the food we had at Ganesha, and really hope to come back one day! If you're heading to Kampot, Ganesha should be your obvious choice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This place exceeded my expectations. Our hut was magical. The grounds were peaceful with so many quit places to just sit and relax. The food was incredible- the best I had in Cambodia. Stephanie, the manager, could not have been more helpful, accommodating or genuine. She made us feel at home for the short time we were there and I will absolutely be back next year when they finish the pool. Probably the only thing that could make this place better. Some of the best drinks we've probably ever had. Try the Elephant Lips and the Pomegranate martinis. You won't be sorry. Also book the day tour that takes you thru all the fabulous places Kompot has to offer like the Salt Farm and the Pepper fields. It stops in Kep for a dip in the ocean and the best crab I've ever eaten for $8. By far my favorite part of my travels.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LaurenStanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was staying at one of the livelier back packing placed on the other side of the Kampot river and discovered this place by accident while cycling around the riverside mangroves, I immediately booked to stay and returned the following day and stayed for around five nights, I loved it. I had my own hut on stilts with a beautiful view of the surrounding fields and trees with a variety of colourful birdlife and the hills in the distance. The French couple who run it were fantastic and made me feel like a friend.The food was great and they also had some good French wine.They have a traditional Khymer canoe which guests can use to explore the mangroves. Although not as cheap as some as the basic back backing places both the food and accommodation are fairly inexpensive and very good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

What a place !! I stayed here many times . This place is making me feel at home for my holiday . I stayed at the riverside yurt , it is above the water .It was very nice and fresh air that made me sleep very well .
I did also swimming in the small river . It was great when you are feeling hot then you are in the water ...
The owners ,Emmanuel & Staphanie are friendly and attentive , they help you with every thing you need .
The food is amazing .

Staff are awesome and very friendly !!!
This place is making you feel comfortable to stay .
I will definitely stay here again .

Thanks Emma, Staphe & staff
Cheer Ganesha !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daralyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampot hotels
3.1 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
315 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
118 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bamboo Bungalow
Bamboo Bungalow
#9 of 17 in Kampot
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Two Moons
Two Moons
#8 of 17 in Kampot
297 reviews
1.9 mi away
Samon's Village
Samon's Village
#4 of 86 in Kampot
295 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sabay Beach
Sabay Beach
#3 of 86 in Kampot
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More

Property: Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More
Address: Kompeng Kreang Village | Wat Tuk Well, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganesha Kampot has been designed with your spatial experience in mind.. We are an unusually low density guesthouse, of just 9 private units and 4 rooms, spread across 4 hectare, amid rich mangrove and tropical gardens. We welcome you to create unique memories in our hidden paradise, away from the high density and hustle of Asian cities.. Off of the beaten track, your experience starts upon an adventurous transit to Ganesha Kampot, taking a ride through breathtaking scenery, rice paddies and the beautiful surrounding mountains. We are located in Kampot Province, we are on the outskirts of Kampot city center, close enough to cycle, grab a tuk tuk or take the 10 minute drive. We welcome people who seek to immerse themselves in the culture and feel of an authentic Cambodia. Ganesha Kampot offers the perfect serene location for yoga, meditation, photography, reading or the simple luxury of granting yourself time and space, for you! Gaze at the crystal clear Milky Way on the balcony of your very own Tribal Hut in the garden, or enjoy the stunning 360 panoramic views from the top of The Tower. Wander in the incredible tropical garden, take a lazy boat ride down the river drift along in our traditional Khmer canoe or explore the beautiful Kampot countryside on one of our mountain bikes. During your stay here we are happy to introduce you to the extensive choice of outdoor activities, as well as directing you to our favourite local businesses in Kampot. Our restaurant offers both local Khmer cuisine, and Western dishes, all lovingly and expertly prepared by our amazing kitchen staff. We have a large menu for vegans and vegetarians and our staff would be happy to cater for your dietary requirements. Our bar also offers a wide selection of natural fruit drinks as well as cocktails, wines and spirits. Your inimitable stay in the heart of the Kingdom of Cambodia awaits at Ganesha Kampot... See you soon! The Ganesha Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ganesha Kampot Eco Guesthouse and More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing