We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A+ for cleanliness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kampot Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kampot Riverside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A+ for cleanliness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

What a great place to stay in Kampot with fantastic views of Bokor Mountain and the Kampot River scene from the balcony or rooms facing the river. My legs tire easily so had a room on the first floor to minimise climbing. Although the view from the window of my room wasn't terribly exciting, there is easy access to the balcony to take in the riverside views. The furnishing in the room is rather basic but it is comfortably spacious, air-conditioned (with a ceiling fan as well) and everything is just super clean. Rooms are reasonably priced and the breakfast is great, especially if you like a generous serve of fresh tropical fruit salad! Owner Aussie Ray does everything to make my stay a happy one - thanks, mate! Did I mention the complimentary wi-fi? I'll be back...

Room Tip: Unlike me, if you have no problem with climbing stairs, the rooms on the higher floors facing the ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzLadyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    67
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
22
72
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MANCHESTER, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

stayed here for 5 nights at the end of april,great room at the front,lots of space,great view,b/room,ac,bed, perfect,brekkie in the morning very filling,ray and mai (owner and staff) brilliant very helpful and chatty,at the bar around tea time ray gets a few ex-pat visitors who are friendly and quite funny(the "geezer" from london is hilarious).thanks ray and mai for a great stay in kampot(hatien travel would not be my 1st choice)

Room Tip: rooms at the front have river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLUEMOON95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

An awesome place to stay in Kampot on the riverside. Great quality clean rooms at reasonable prices. It was wonderful falling into such a comfortable bed with nice clean sheets! Can't say enough about how helpful and entertaining Basil was during my time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grimlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Our Tuktuk driver recommended this boutique hotel run by an Australian man called Ray. We were offered room 1 on the first floor with a fabulous view of the river from our bed. The room was spacious and flooded with natural light. Everything worked well, the towels were soft, thick and fluffy unlike most places we have stayed in Cambodia. The bed was comfortable and the room was spotless. It has a large bathroom, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Breakfast is included and was an ample breakfast including eggs, bacon and tomatoes, a plunger of coffee each and a huge fruit salad as well as juice and a baguette.
The bar downstairs offers well priced drinks and is quiet and ambient.
We went for one night and stayed for two but could easily have settled in. The staff were helpful and friendly without being intrusive. We love Kampot and this was far the best hotel we have stayed in. The only suggestion is to bring a head torch if you like to read in bed as there were no reading lights in our room. Ray has only owned the place for 8 months and requests feedback.

Room Tip: There is no lift so first floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Kampot and preferred Riverside over the equally nice Rikkitikkitavvi for several reasons.
Location and views (it is slightly north of the old bridge, excellent mountain and river views and our room 3rd floor, had a balcony.
Rooms were spotlessly clean and well attended with toiletries and nicely laid out. TV too small (but we didnt watch it anyway) and bathroom door designed for Khmers not Westerners were the only downsides; that and no lift.
Ray, the hotelier, is reserved but very open to talking about the hotel, the city, his thoughts and he and Mai paid attention to details without being obsequious.
Breakfasts lacked variety but were huge and excellent (eggs, bacon, baguette, fresh pressed coffee, juice and large fresh fruit bowl included). Nice vibe for drinks and watching the river flow.
Recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Riverview is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRoy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and paid $30 a night. The owner Ray does not initially come across as overly friendly but warms up! His staff are all lovely though. Rooms are good and everything is very clean and new. View over the river is great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chill1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed at the beginning of April weather was just cooling down and was great the locals did tell me that it would get a lot hotter though. The hotel staff were friendly and the service was great. Room was very clean generously sized, tea and coffee making facilities were in the room. Best air conditioning very quick to cool the room.

View over the river from the room was excellent

Close enough to walk to the markets and catch a tuk tuk to bring back your purchase.

Would advise any one to book and stay overall great staff, prices and location.

Room Tip: Front room was great with terrific views of the river. The other guests inform me that their rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owenm232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.6 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Two Moons
Two Moons
#7 of 17 in Kampot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bamboo Bungalow
Bamboo Bungalow
#8 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bokor Mountain Lodge
Bokor Mountain Lodge
#10 of 17 in Kampot
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kampot Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kampot Riverside Hotel

Property: Kampot Riverside Hotel
Address: 32 Riverside Road, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kampot Riverside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighteen new, clean and well equipped rooms to make you feel right at home. Idyllically located on the elegant Kampot Riverfront Boulevard. We strive to provide our guests with a service second to none so as to make your stay as memorable as possible. Swiss/Australian owned and managed with a team of attentive and hospitable Khmer staff always at your service. Nearby attractions and towns include Bokor Mountain, Sihanoukville, Kep and Rabbit Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kampot Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing