We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent but wouldn't go again.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moliden

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moliden
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Zürich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent but wouldn't go again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

First of all, we had a pleasant experience there. Our room was clean, service was very friendly and helpfull and the location is excellent - at the riverside, close to the 'center', but not in the middle of things.
The hotel is very cozy and has an overall friendly athmosphere. However, the rooms and especially the bathroom are very dimly lit. I literally had to take my torchlight to the bathroom to be able to have a decent shave.
Also, our bedsheets wherend changed and the room wasn't cleaned for 2 out of 3 nights we stayed.

It's not a bad place at all, but for this price it's also not a great place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    21
    16
    13
See reviews for
4
38
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

When I first stayed at Moliden three years ago, it was quaint and a bit quirky, but a great homely experience. Made the mistake of trying to revisit the past and all I can say is it was bloody awful.
The place still looks lovely from the outside and is still, obviously, in a cracking position in the centre of town, but omigod, the rest...
Rooms were clean - bathroom wasn't. The room wasn't cleaned or the sheets changed or towels changed for three days - even after I asked. The final straw was when I put my foot through the rotting bathroom floor in the middle of the night.
They moved me to another room, but the powerpoints didn't work and the shower had loose tiles and dodgy plumbing.
We were supposed to stay 14 nights - left after three and went down the road to Riverside.
A real shame -because it had been lovely.
Honestly, there are other places for similar money that are MUCH better all 'round.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kampot hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Husband and I stayed here for 1 night. Centrally located, beside the river.

Room was spacious, clean, large attractive double timber bed, en suite with hot water, A/C and in forfeiting a window, cost less that others at just $15pn.

Very comfortable night sleep - though we could hear every tooth brushing stoke of our neighbours, fortunately they had an early night!

Food wasn't on par. Though atmosphere of the bar was nice and the fairy lights serve their purpose to lure you in, the food totally failed to deliver. The 'best spare ribs in town' were dry as a Boxing Day turkey and the chicken noodles contained but a few shreds of poultry. Poor quality and overpriced.

Would definitely recommend the accommodation, but the restaurant falls below the high standard of the many others dotted around town.

Room Tip: Save $10 with a windowless room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LettsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This would have to be the biggest letdown of our journey. Downstairs deceptive even if no customers! Should have realised by the dust on the stairs that no one had been there a while. Room smelled musty, luckily windows opened, toilet leaked. We had booked a double room but only got amenities etc. For one. No extras in room, just fuzzy tv, aircon needed re gas. When trying to explain to staff could not get them to understand, no manager to complain to and think this the problem. When asked for extra pillows, they were taken from another room where staff member sleeping!! Breakfast menu is not the menu on the bar! Careful. Could be so good, but... Worst of all got e-mail from booking agent demanding reason for not showing at hotel and wanted to charge us $60

Room Tip: Avoid unless a duty manager that cares is found.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here 2 nights on my second visit to Kampot town. Moliden is right next to the old bridge on the riverfront, putting it smack dab in the middle of everything. The rooms were clean with decent beds and bathroom, hot water and AC, but our room was quite hot until we let it air out. We had some trouble when we ordered breakfast the morning we left, which was the only meal we had there--neither of the 2 waiters could understand our order, and I spoke as slowly and clearly as I could, something I'm used to dealing with non-native speakers on a daily basis. After only bringing one breakfast (fried eggs, two tomato slices, and a stale baguette) for two people, we had to leave and catch our bus a bit hungry. For the $20 a night we paid, you can find a better place in Kampot with an equally desirable location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calitravler87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Wanted to go to 'Little Garden' first And then stumbled over the 'Moliden'. Had a quick Look to the Interieur And Rooms And decided to stay there for two nights. In general we were happy there, Rooms are cosy, wooden paneled And ned quality is Fine. Volumen of water Flow in the bathroom Should be improved. Rooms in General clean although we had the Impression that the bathroom would have needed a Second Hand before releasing to next guests.

Staff is very helpful, breakfast is good and rest is also fine. The manager on Day Duty 'beautyful' has always a smile on her Face And her (english Traduction) name is quite realistic.

Cheers from Fabiola & Stefan

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

If you just stay on short term for the City, not looking for River view, Pool etc. this is a good place to stay. Wooden Khmer House with nice terrace towards the River, opposite old Bridge. Prices are ok and staff is trying hard to give a good service.

Room Tip: "Yellow" has 2 Big Beds and a bit of a view to the River, quiet and nice ... but there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernhardow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.0 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Two Moons
Two Moons
#7 of 17 in Kampot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kampot Riverside Hotel
Kampot Riverside Hotel
#6 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Makk Hotel
Makk Hotel
#5 of 17 in Kampot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moliden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moliden

Property: Moliden
Address: Kampot, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing