We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with a make over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bokor Mountain Lodge
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Could do with a make over”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great location and beautiful old building. Unfortunately the rooms 'old' too. Windows didn't shut properly and bathroom very old and tired and very ordinary shower. Building has so much potential. Bar/restaurant area is great. Some great outdoor areas upstairs and perfect location opposite the river.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr64Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    54
    27
    32
    22
See reviews for
19
83
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for a few days in Kampot, it was quite a pricey hotel for Kampot/Cambodia, but its in a good location on the riverside. The staff seemed quite helpful (they replaced the broken TV for us straight away). We found the river view room too noisy as there is a very loud karaoke bar across the river and the very large windows don't shut properly. The next day we moved to the cheaper back room, however we found the bathroom very smelly as the smell of sewage comes out of the shower drainage hole.
Day Tour Tip: We found the salt farm, pepper farm, caving, crab lunch and rabbit island tour the best, in fact it was one of the best days of our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Staying at Bokor Mountain Lodge would have been the highlight of our trip to Cambodia. The lodge itself is an amazing old building with really comfortable, clean rooms. It overlooks the river and beautiful Bokor mountain. The staff were so helpful and accommodating especially since we arrived early in the morning, they watched our bags for us and organised us a tour to go on that day so we didn’t miss out on any of the sights around Kampot. The owner Eric was wonderful and we really enjoyed watching the Bledisloe with him ( my kiwi partner especially!!), and I am sure we will see him again on our travels! The restaurant HAKARI within Bokor Mountain lodge served amazing meals (I even had a roast lamb dinner on Sunday night!!) and very well priced drinks. We would thoroughly recommend Bokor Mountain lodge to anyone going to Kampot, even if you are going to Cambodia and don’t know where to go, you should make the trip to Kampot it is an amazing place and Bokor Lodge is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Es1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Had a great feed after a long day in the road. Value for money for food and drink. Staff couldn't do enough to help. Good chat with Eric to round off the evening. I didn't stay here but would imagine from the restaurant the rooms would be comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I wanted to take a break from the hustle-n-bustle of Phnom Penh for a few days and decided to stay at the Bokor Mountain Lodge. We also bought along my wifes siser and niece.

From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed and were not pressured into any touristy activities as some other people have mentioned. Check-in was quick and easy, the rooms were ready and clean, very spacious and had everything we needed.

The owners, Eric and his wife, and their 2 wonderful children, were very helpful, welcoming and friendly. Whenever we were eating a meal, one of the staff members would look after our 3 month old daughter for us...it felt like we were welcomed as a part of the family.

The food was amazing, I particulalry enjoyed the Sunday roast lamb special, and my wife thoroughly enjoyed all of the seafood specials on offer. The beer, and other beverages were always cold and refreshing.

I will definitely return to stay here and recommend it to other travellers with families.

Many thanks to Eric and your family for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

A one night stay in Kampot turned into 3 in part due to the relaxed atmosphere of Bokor Mountain Lodge. The staff were ultra helpful and even changed bookings made by another agent and booked accommodation for us at our next destination nothing in it for them just good old fashioned service. There is a bar and cold beer on tap downstairs but if your after a bit more a bona fide Irish bar is just next door which is getting a rep for making a mean bloody mary.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brett l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Decided to stay here due to the great location, we originally thinking of staying somewhere cheaper, but once we stayed the first night we decided to extend our stay by a further three nights. Eric and his family were lovely, and very welcoming! His right hand man Chunta will organise tours, mopeds anything you want, we didn't have to stress over anything! The food is amazing, breakfast which was included in the room rate was so delicious and filling! Sunday roast was mouth watering! We had a front room and were not bothered by any noise. The only negative was that whilst there is aircon in the rooms its not that strong, but hey we are in Cambodia lets not forget where we are. Cambodia is prone to electricity cuts, water outages etc, you just gotta role with it!

Room Tip: This isn't a room tip, but more a bar tip! Two doors down from Bokor is Oh Neills Irish Bar. Wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPY007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampot hotels
0.1 mi away
Good Morning Kampot
Good Morning Kampot
#10 of 17 in Kampot
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kool Kampot
Kool Kampot
#3 of 17 in Kampot
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mea Culpa Kampot
Mea Culpa Kampot
#2 of 17 in Kampot
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Columns
The Columns
#4 of 17 in Kampot
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Two Moons
Two Moons
#8 of 17 in Kampot
299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bamboo Bungalow
Bamboo Bungalow
#9 of 17 in Kampot
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bokor Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bokor Mountain Lodge

Property: Bokor Mountain Lodge
Address: Riverside, Kampot 07000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kampot Province > Kampot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Kampot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bokor Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bokor Mountain Lodge, previously Marco Polo, FCC, is a boutique hotel, restaurant and bar on the riverfront in Kampot. It has recently undergone a dramatic and extensive refurbishment and is now open as a hotel, bar and restaurant. This beautiful old building has once again taken its rightful place in the lives of expats, tourists and locals alike. Nestling on the banks of the Pek Kampong Bai River, which flows into the Gulf of Thailand, the Lodge is set amid wonderfully evocative crumbling French colonial architecture. In this setting, it is impossible not to dream of an age gone by while dining or sipping drinks in the bar and passing the time of day with Kampot's friendly and sociable local residents. Cruise up the river and watch the sunset or relax over a gorgeous 'fish amok' in our restaurant as another day drifts past and you'll begin to realize why Kampot is such a tricky place to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bokor Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bokor Mountain Hotel Kampot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing