We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stay As Long As You Can!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knai Bang Chatt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Knai Bang Chatt
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stay As Long As You Can!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Oh I loved this place. It is beautiful; beautiful architecture, beautiful design, beautiful landscaping, beautiful setting. It is expensive, expensive enough that I couldn't convince my husband to stay a few more days but I wish we had!

We stayed in Room 9 which was on an upper floor and looked out to the common library and deck. It was clean, spacious, fantastic wood bed, large bathroom. The wood furniture throughout the grounds/common buildings are really amazing pieces.

Breakfast is served at a long natural wood table facing the sea and was excellent. Fruits, breads and pastries, cofee, tea, juices, eggs, and yummy noodle soup made to order.

We went on a moped excursion one day. I hugely recommend it. It was great fun to get on one after watching the rest of Cambodia running around on them. And fortunately Kep and surrounding area was a fairly quiet introduction. Two of us ride motorbikes at home and two of our group had not ridden before. The guide was extremely cautious, safe, slow, and always checking up on everyone. We went to look at the salt flats, some limestone caves. A fantastic lunch was served to us at the Vine Retreat where we were also able to see the pepper vines and buy some pepper to take home. And on the way back we stopped in at the Hand In Hand project with which the Knai Bang Chatt is associated and we were given a tour and introduction to the project and we were able to buy some craft work from the gift shop. Definitely consider it, it was a lot of fun.

The pool and pool area is lovely with lounge chairs, a washroom and a shower. You can order drinks by the pool - nice. We had a laugh because we got up to swim in the ocean at 7 in the morning and people had already staked claim with towels and books by the pool.

To swim in the ocean you head to the pier by the sailing club restaurant. It's great, it is very shallow and you can walk out quite far. Our friend took out a small hobie cat one morning and tried some sailing. The pier is a nice spot to watch the sun set. We also watched the local fishermen (many) hauling in a huge net of fish...that was interesting.

The sailing club restaurant is a great spot for dinner or drinks or snacks. It is open air and right on the water. It's just through the secret door in the gate. I loved that door in the gate, it seemed right out of a book.

The crab market is a short walk. It is useful to bring a flashlight or headlamp for walking around Kep at night. It is quite dark.

The beach area of Kep is maybe a 20-25 minute walk. And if you keep going farther along the water you will reach the dock where the boat goes to Rabbit Island and even farther the post office and the local market where pop costs half the price than at the crab market!

If you take pleasure in staying in unique boutique type accommodations you will really love and appreciate this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlayAtTremblant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    88
    46
    10
    11
See reviews for
88
267
40
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

We spent two nights in KBC and overall had an excellent stay. The property is amazing and in a glorious location. You must have a trip around Kep to see some of the French villas which have been left to fall to ruin including the Kings summer house. The crab market is also worth an early morning visit. We spent over three weeks travelling around Cambodia and Vietnam and the massages at KBC were the best we experienced.

We very much appreciated the welcome gift and the pepper leaving gift. A nice touch.

We had Room 1, which was okay but on the ground floor close to the reception area so not very private and had to keep the blinds shut at all times to stop people from looking in. The door to the outside seating area wouldn't open so we didn't get to sit outside, however this is not a problem as the grounds are wonderful with a great swimming pool. Pool service is available, you just have to go and look for it.

This is not the place to visit if you are looking for night life. Everything shuts down around 10pm. It is however a great place to relax and recover from some hectic travelling.

There were a couple of things that let the hotel down. The service and the cleanliness in the Sailing Club restaurant was less than 5 star and the food indifferent. Much better to risk the unlit walk into Kep village. We had an early check out on our last day and were unable to find any management the previous evening. We ended up leaving a note on reception to sort out payment and a packed breakfast.

Unfortunately however our packed breakfast left us with a really poor impression of the hotel. We felt like they had taken our money and now that we had left didn't care. The packed breakfast consisted of one slice of stale white bread and one bite sized pastry. No fruit and no water. The insult was that they included two butter pats in each breakfast box, all of which had previously been opened and partly used. In two of the pats there was scrapings of jam from the previous recipient. Never experienced anything quite so poor before. They would have been better off refusing to do us a packed breakfast and refunded our money. Shame that such an easy thing to get right should give such a poor final impression. I would like to think that this is a one off, although I think I did read another complaint on the same subject. Dont let this put you off, its a lovely place to stay for a bit of quiet relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k9todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frittole
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

The Hotel is fine, the staff is nice BUT, you can find in Cambodia and in Kep hotels better than Knai Bang Chatt at a 1/4 rate.
OVERVALUED
Price not justified.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elguanarteme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

At the end of our stay the hotel management asked us for comments and suggestions for improvement. We had none!

Beautiful garden, special architecture, the most welcoming staff and a very relaxing atmosphere in a luxurious setting.

Don't expect a white sandy beach... something we didn't missed for a second though!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huibert74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

Staying at the Knai Bang Chatt was just wonderful. We enjoyed our room with sea view (which we think was the best) very much. When we opened our eyes in the morning we enjoyed the amazing view out to the sea. The restaurant served tasty breakfast and very good dinner. The setting of the long table with sea-view was calming and so beautiful. The tasty fruits that were brought to our room every day. The friendly staff who always had a smile and some kind words for us. The whole atmosphere - just everything. We enjoyed our holiday very much. We felt at home and really hope to be back one day. Uhhh - almost forgot - the sunsets are stunning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenik90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

From the welcome drink to the little bag of Kampot pepper upon our departure, the service was excellent. We were there in low season and felt like the only guests. This place is just so cool. VERY interesting decor. We found the food delicious, and LOVED eating at their sailing club just next door. Amazing sunsets, total tranquility.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamkronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

The location is great, peaceful, right on the water. The mornings are fantastic when the water is very calm. The problem is the price - it is overpriced for Cambodia, and we had a room without balcony and not facing the ocean. This means you rely on the common facilities to sit in - there are a couple of day beds which are great but they are usually hogged by people who place their towels there from 6am to 6pm so you will never get to sit there. There is not enough seating in the common areas to chill out during the day. The breakfast area is nice, but the lunches/dinners are average and over priced - there are better places to eat elsehwere. The rooms are clean, very bare, but quite small - there isn't much privacy so one doesn't feel as though one can leave ones windows open. This place has potential but needs some things added.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.4 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kep Lodge
Kep Lodge
#9 of 17 in Kep
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knai Bang Chatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knai Bang Chatt

Property: Knai Bang Chatt
Address: Phum Thmey | Sangkat Prey Thom, Kep 908, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kep
#2 Family Hotel in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Knai Bang Chatt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene and pure, Knai Bang Chatt, an exquisite lifestyle resort, will enchant you. Located in Kep, right onthe southern east coastline of Cambodia, the resort gives you a blend of privacy, serenity and exclusivity.Three renovated villas built in the 1960s by protégés of Vann Molyvann, a pupil of the world renowned Le Corbusier, are extraordinary historical landmarks you can now experience as your very own private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Knai Bang Chatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knai Bang Chatt Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing