We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Uzes, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lazy...”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

We felt overall that this was a very lazy place. Our room was tired with not enough lighting to read with and a bare bulb hanging in the bathroom. A bit grim.
The pool area is nice, but it feels as if no one is really trying here. Our experience of service has been exceptional in Cambodia but here we felt that nobody wanted to make an effort.
In the evening we were told that only fried rice was available from the menu which was massively overpriced for what it was, 6 $ can buy a lovely meal in town. The girl then sat and chatted on the phone for an hour, we felt like we disturbed her by asking for a drink.
And then breakfast. In all my travels I've never seen such a lazy breakfast. Four plates of fruit at the bar, plain bread rolls, jam and an egg dish. If you want orange juice you pay $1.50 extra for a glass of bottled condensed juice!
The owner was very helpful but generally I felt this place had run out of steam. Pay a little more and go elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marchan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricdeNimes, Gérant at Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hey hey Mark !! What can I say in front of your review !! Ah yes, as you said," Pay More and have more! !! You came here by booking the smallest bungalow and the lower priced too !! You had two icluded breakfast with fruits, jam butter and choice between omelet fried egg or pancake, a swimming-pool, one of the nicest in Kep in an amazing garden (read the comments of ours guest), and you are unhappy !! I think that is because maybe you are never happy in your life ?? If you expected, paying 35 dollars for two and having a service for 100, surely you mistaked the right place !!
Anyway, I remember we had a good contact you and me, and I want to keep it as it !! So nevermind :: I keep in my mind and my best regards you and your friend
Eric et Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    34
    15
    8
    11
See reviews for
20
43
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. The host is very friendly and helpfull. The rooms are very clean and spatious. They have there own tuktuk driver who brougt us to the restaurant for free. The owner also owns the maelis restaurant in town. We had dinner there twice which was realy good. I would recommand this resort to everyone who wants to relax a few days and wants a quiet place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricdeNimes, Gérant at Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Google Translation
Hello !! Malgré un court séjour chez nous, votre impression d'y avoir été bien reçu nous remplit de fierté puisqu'il relève de notre travail de vous recevoir au mieux !!
Amicalement
Eric et Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Service: flexible and friendly, accomodating our requests. 
Place: a bit run down, not as shiny as it looks on pictures. The pool is awesome though!
Location: out of the village (3min tuk tuk ride for 2usd), calm and peaceful. 
Room in the villa: clean, big, bug-free;) 
Bungalow: cozy and " animal-friendly" (frogs, lizards, mosquitos). Take earplugs in case you get a bungalow next to the electricity generator which buzzes all night. 
Watchout-they didnt take credit cards and there are no atms in Kep!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxonboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricdeNimes, General Manager at Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thanks a lot for your choice about Hôtel malibu in kep and hope to see you again next holidays ?? You 'll be welcomed
Best Regards
Eric and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

When I arrived the owner Eric, was very friendly and open minded. The rooms are very big and clean. The swmming pool in the tropical gardan is wonderfull.
So if you want to chill out go for Malibu Resort, I be here many times before and it's get better and better,...

Room Tip: I prefere the bungalow under the palm trees,...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricdeNimes, Manager at Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hey Philip !! It was also very pleasent to receive you here !! Come back any time you want because you are a so friendly guest, laughing et smiling all the time !!
Best regards
Eric and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

An oasis of calm.
Had my doubts when we turned up and were greeted by several chickens.
However pool was fantastic only planned to stay for a couple of nights stayed for six.
It's not central but none of Kep seems to be central only a short Tuk Tuk ride to the crab market, seafood to die for eat your heart out Rick Stein.
Sailing club sunsets a must and happy hour result.
Management at the hotel are laid back but very informative and can arrange anything. Chilled out so much. Had the pool to ourselves most days, became to lazy to even go and see some of the sights of Kep. A major event would be the dog barking at the chickens, which happened once. Completely lost track of what day it was.
Hopefully will definitely come back as soon as possible

Room Tip: Just get an air con bungalow next to the pool that way you do not have to walk to far
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricdeNimes, Manager at Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hello Hilton !! Thanks a lot for your good review !! Shall I reserve two seats in KImly restaurant again when you will be back ??? ;) ;) ;)
Best remembers
Eric and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and wish we had had an extra night or 2, we were the only ones staying in the resort, upon arrival we were upgraded to a family apartment which was huge, the owners (2 French guys) were super friendly and helpful, we hired a moto for $6 a day which was a great way to see Kep and the surrounding areas, if your after a bustling place Keps not for you, we loved the quiet laid back vibe, the perfect way to end our 3 week trip to Cambodia.
Highly recommend the Malibu apartments, great pool, great breakfast, lovely and quiet.
We got a minibus from Sihanoukville to Kep which wasn't the most luxurious way of travel that's for sure but a good experience.
we could have stayed in Kampot for a night which we were glad we didn't as got to see it on the drive through, and didn't appeal to us much, pretty busy, hot and dry.
All in all..... stay at Malibu apartments when in Kep.

Room Tip: Any, this place is quiet and has a real family feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriagremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here and have mixed feelings in reviewing. Our room had a leaking sink, doors that don't seem to lock well and power points that didn't work. The power did go out in the night time, which is fine. The room we had just needs some maintenance, not sure about other rooms. The shower is pretty low power and not very hot. Took to swimming instead!
The pool and garden areas are nice.
Breakfast is good, bread, eggs and fruit.
We were over quoted for transport.
Is a lovely location and relaxing place to unwind.
Probably would try another place if I returned. This place just didnt feel welcoming. It is also a short tuk tuk ride to the ocean front, sonyounaleays need to ask the staff for a lift. You feel like you are inconveniencing them somewhat.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dbuzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricdeNimes, Gérant at Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Google Translation
Je viens de prendre note de votre avis et je suis désolé que votre constat fût celui-ci,!! Votre ressenti nous aide a prendre la mesure des exigences qui doivent être les nôtres et pour cela je vous remercie de votre franchise qui va obligatoirement nous pousser a ne pas relâcher nos efforts pour vous satisfaire !
Cordialement
Eric et Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kep hotels
1.5 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
1.4 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kep
144 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#7 of 17 in Kep
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 17 in Kep
341 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kep Lodge
Kep Lodge
#9 of 17 in Kep
462 reviews
1.8 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 17 in Kep
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort

Property: Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort
Address: 33Main Road, Kep, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a magnificient garden surrounded by near-sea on a side and hills on other side, Kep Malibu Resort is a gorgeous place to stay and discover South of Cambodia. Great and amazing swimming-pool and king-size rooms and Bungalows with air-con or fan !!! Welcome everybody !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Malibu Estates Bungalows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Estates Bungalows Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing