We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing too exciting about this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Saravoan-Kep Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saravoan-Kep Hotel
Ranked #6 of 50 Kep B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing too exciting about this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Pool is small, and not well maintained. First impression on the rooms are nice, but upon inspection found several faults.
Air con dirty and leaking on pillows. Bathroom sink dirty and sink leaking.
Breakfast is not very nice at all.
Last night problems with rat in the room. Reception was very helpful removing it for us.
Good location, only short Tuk Tuk drive away from secluded resorts for evening meals.
All in all, not a recommended place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank m_lee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    90
    35
    15
    8
See reviews for
34
108
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

It has been six months since I stayed at this hotel and it had not changed very much. Definitely the breakfast/food in general and the WIFI were better but for the price, location and genuine staff I have to rate it as excellent. And it is just a few steps from the beach which has now been given an overhaul and is a good place to swim. The pool at the Saravoan is green but the water is safe and they are working on the supply to improve the clarity.
For the traveler who is used to 4/5 star then you would be able to find faults with this hotel but one has to be realistic.
My wife and I spent five days at the hotel recently and it was just what we needed and we could really Veg Out and with a motorbike all of the other attractions in Kep and Kampot were readily available. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor rooms which give easy access to the pool andbeach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Trapped close to the Vietnam boarder, Kep is a wonderful place to visit and I was assured that it was the vacation destination for the elite French settlers to Asia.

The Saravoan Hotel is located right on the waterfront and having looked around Kep, the Saravoan Hotel is in the best location.

The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. The bathroom is very funky. A lot of exposed rock on the walls and bathroom.

The staff are really helpful.

You can hire a motor scooter from the Hotel, although it is in rather poor condition.

Plenty to see in the area. Best of all for me was the pepper plantations "Kampot Pepper" arguably the best in the world!

The people in the area are nice and a seafood haven it is! The crab market close by with a bunch of restaurants on the water.

This place seems different to anywhere that I have been in Cambodia, with a layed people and not at all busy.

Try the Sailing Club a couple of kilometers up the coast, for a European dining experience on the water at sunset with really great food and a 50% happy hour from 5pm..
The Hotels pool is small, although just across the street from the beach and the pool was all that would fit I suspect!

Great little Hotel and would do that again!

Room Tip: Higher rooms are good. Every room has a water view. The bottom level, you have the pool just outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carey380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Centrally located, the staff so eager to please , however that is where the accolades stop. At $45 per night, I think there could be better value elsewhere. Although I don't have other places in Kep to compare this hotel to, it would have to,be the most underwhelming that I have stayed in throughout our trip around Cambodia. No wifi in the room and a very weak signal at the resturaunt. (Two bars at best). The staff tried their best to fix the problem but were unable to. The American breakfast (I just wanted an egg) could only come as American breakfast. At first I thought it was a waste to need to order the full breakfast as it was too complicated for the chef apparently to,just have eggs. However when my two fried eggs arrived with a rasher of bacon ( if you can call it that) no bigger than my thumb and a mini sausage hat looked as though it has been soaking in water for hours it became wrinkled like a prune. The ice tea is a cordial, as is a number off other drinks which were undrinkable. The pool is a lovely shade of green and no towels were available. I asked the staff over four times, each time I thought they understood, as they nodded and set off with haste to get some towels I thought, but no, they just disappeared.
I believe this boutique hotel has such potential, but lacks the small details expected for the price. Improve your wifi system, get a better breaky menu (however the soup was nice) , towels needed to be cleaned better, rubbish bins emptied each day when room serviced, and a bit more focus on the smaller details for the price paid, you expect a little more than average.

Room Tip: Room 303 leaked quite badly in the rain, both under the door and from the ceiling, and no wifi at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

stayed at this hotel for 8 days with wife and rug rat as a business man myself this was very painful to see the hotel location is fantastic great views right on the beach room was very nice but bathroom disgusting but the biggest problem was the food at breakfast you get a choice of Asian or american trust me if all americans ate this breakfast there would never be any fat Americans (see pic of breakfast) if you want water you can drink they say you pay? if you want coffee you can drink they say you pay? this is the only english they speak you pay!!!! it was a nightmare they cant even cook an egg came with all the white runny the only saving grace was a nice duch guy called hank who was very helpfull but said his hands were tied he tried to tell the lady owner about all the problems but it fell on deaf ears i told hank this place is like a gold mine but you have no pick axe in conclusion stay there take your own bleach and dont use the restaurant at any cost for food and great company and music head to the tucan bar at the grab market were your custom will be appreciated

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pablo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were 10 staying in this hotel for 3 nights, we found the location perfect as the hotel is literally facing the only beach of Kep. One person dare say that the beach wasn't clean, this is mental! You can see a group of locals cleaning the beach every single morning and so are the roads which is unfortunately a rare thing in Cambodia.
Back to the hotel, we were instantly charmed with the pool which overlooks the sea. The rooms were nice but the bed too hard for my taste, although my sisters had no trouble sleeping. The restaurant serves tasty Cambodian food with good size portions, do try the deep fried prawns and squid and of course the crab with Kampot black pepper. The breakfast is simple, again we mainly had the Cambodian options. If you don't fancy rice in the morning, sadly the american breakfast might leave you disappointed. But then, it's like asking for lasagna in a pub and complaining about the lack of authenticity! One evening, we dine at the restaurant next door it took some time for the food to arrive but when it finally came, I didn't speak as I was too busy eating the seafood feast, delicious!
The staff is very friendly, although not the most efficient at getting things done and confusion can easily occur even if you speak Khmer. There might be some room for improvement, first would be cleanliness, although I wouldn't call the place dirty. A safe in each room would be a good addition and a better wi-fi would be appreciated.
What we also enjoyed were the cocktails, dangerously cheap and strong, but then you're on holiday!
Overall, this is not a luxury hotel, it is lovely and comfortable, the location is perfect and Kep is beautiful. I would be happy to go back.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool or on the 1st floor, the 2nd room feels less cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Location: good,can see the beautiful of beach in front of the room.
Service: not bad, some staff help & friendly but others not really.
However there were many disappointed: in bathroom, water run VERY slow.
Hot water is not very good at all (sometimes work sometimes no hot water).
No hair dryer, no airflow fan, toilet's smell & dirty, and bed is a bit smell & not clean at all.
Wifi's bad.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.9 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
0.3 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kep Lodge
Kep Lodge
#9 of 17 in Kep
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saravoan-Kep Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saravoan-Kep Hotel

Property: Saravoan-Kep Hotel
Address: Beach Road | Kep Beach, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saravoan-Kep Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering rooms with sea view, Saravoan-Kep Hotel is just 10 metres from Kep Beach. This hillside property features an outdoor pool, a coffee shop, a bar and free WiFi throughout the hotel. Fitted with stone walls, the air-conditioned rooms have cable TV. Each room has a private bathroom with a hot shower. Saravoan-Kep Hotel is just 10 metres from National Road 33. It is within walking distances from the nearest seafood restaurants, supermarkets, pharmacy, ATM machine and bus station. Guests can enjoy a relaxing massage, or take a dip in the pool, which overlooks the sea. The hotel offers tour bookings and motorbike/bicycle rentals. The in-house coffee shop and bar overlooks the beach and nearby islands. It offers room service and take-away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saravoan-Kep Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing