We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nibbana Resort

Nibbana Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kep
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nibbana Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Kep
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed in this resort over New Year. Everything about this so called resort was disappointing. On arrival it looked quite nice although quite unkempt in the grounds but it did not take long to work out that this place was v-e-r-y basic and run with no attempt to cater for those who stayed here whatsoever... staff were sparse and rarely seen.. even getting a beer around the pool bar was a challenge.
The rooms were not only basic with worn out bed-linen/towels but the shower in our room was dirty with hair clogging up the drainage hole for the shower and the rooms were only cleaned every other day. No tea or coffee making facilities, TV and the Wi Fi did not work.The owner did little to make any of the guests feel he cared about any of the issues that went wrong daily.
This resort was way overpriced for what it offers, I would not recommend this to anybody else.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saramc_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
3
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

After backpacking we decided to treat ourselves to a few days luxury. Checked in here and the staff and owner did not even talk or look us in the face and we did not feel every welcome. The room looked lovely on first view, as did the pool but once in we realised that there was no hot water, no wif, no safe, tv or mini bar as advertised. Also the white sheets were stained and there were stains up the walls too. The pool is cloudy and has algae growing at the bottom. This was 75$ a night and the most expensive and worst place we stayed. Also we could not shut the bathroom door as you would become locked in but you could get out through the window as this had a broken lock anyway so not very secure.
We complained to the owners who did not seem to care and were heard telling others "leave if you don't like it". We had paid already via agoda so if we left they would keep our money, i have complained to agoda and i am awaiting a response as we had to spend a fortune on getting cabs to the sailing club every day to get wifi. If someone else takes over the hotel then it could be good but at the moment i would avoid it like the plague unless you like cold showers, rude/ bad service, dirty rooms and an expensive price to go with all that.

Room Tip: Do not stay here go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kezzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kep hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here over New Years.. Infact we're still here and leave tomorrow but couldn't wait that long to vent!!
We paid $90 a night .... VERY expensive for Cambodia, when booking we didn't mind and thought it would be a really nice treat.....
The room is big but extremely basic, the shower has no pressure and is generally cold, there is no fridge or mirror in the room, the bed is rock solid and extremely uncomfortable and the bed sheets are stained!!
The pool is VERY dirty and although shallow you can't see the bottom, the staff are ok but nothing great.
Really disappointed with this place we have stayed in much nicer places for a fraction of the price!!!
A nice setting but far from town... If this place cost $20 a night I would be happy.
TOO EXPENSIVE! NOT WORTH IT!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleFysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEROME A, Owner at Nibbana Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
First of all, there is a mirror in a bathroom, but maybe you could not look at you in front?
Secondly, all the people except you and me do like concrete bed and like-tempur foam mattress.
Third, you say you will be happy if charge was only $20, which is contradictory with all your review.
Please, let the people who want to work work, and go in the $20 guest-houses. We have had many guesses who paid the highest price and staid from 5 to 8 days. If it were like you say, it should not be possible. Sorry, one think is to complain, another one is to check accounting and stats, as I can do only now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

I find it hard to write this review, but if you like camping, you could well enjoy this place. However, unlike the name suggests, there is nothing resort like about Nibbana, so if that's what you're searching for, keep looking.

The Bungalows are located between mosquito ponds. The room had dirty walls, TV didn't work, the air conditioning hardly worked, there is no drinks the mini bar (so stock up on drinks and snacks in Kep), there is no safe, phone nor internet, and there was little to no water pressure and only hot water during certain periods of the day.

Worst of all... the sheets contained bugs! Hopefully not bed bugs.

The pool had algae and the pool furniture had seen better days (about 5 years ago).

The food menu options were very limited. But there are some great spots to eat in Kep - just don't expect to walk anywhere for dinner.

The location isn't too far out of town, but the driveway which goes through local farm land and houses is the wildest thing man has ever constructed.

The local staff were very helpful. The French owners were arrogant and more interested in drinking their beer.

To be honest, I wouldn't have written the review if Nibbana hadn't said it was a "4 star resort". It would be good value at $30 per night, but is not worth $75+ a night - they're dreaming.

We spent one night there and checked out the next day for another hotel. What a dump for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Funky41j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We spent 2 nights here during a tour. The hotel looks very nice and our room was very nicely decorated. Staff are very keen to please and to make guests stay a pleasant one. The negatives are sadly out of their control. The hotel is located about 1km up a very bumpy dirt road which can only be accessed on foot or by tuk-tuk (not sure if tuk-tuk would even be possible if the surface deteriorates even more in wet weather.)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinknChumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I spent 3 nights with my friend there, after a 800 meters dirt road, we found a real paradise. The Khmer manager was so helpful. Can arrange touk touk, moto taxi, Island private boat,,,
Food was excellent, room was very clean and the mix of traditional thatch roof with stone and concrete so amazing.
The garden is a paradise for the flowers lover. Our Plumeria room was a vast bungalow around a pound with water Lilly.
Excepted the bad road, but we are at the end of the word, everything was over our expectation.
Ask Mr Pha for a fresh passion fruit from the garden...
I strongly recommend this place if you travel to Kep

Room Tip: room named gardenia look like to be the best, but all of them are full of different plants imported...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andre l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Excellent getaway. Stayed here for 2 nights and the service we received couldn't have been better. We were the only 2 guests staying but the staff couldn't do enough for us.

The bungalows are excellent and the whole place is built with the so much detail.
They have their own garden kitchen, owners, staff and bungalows were just excellent.

Lovely pool and the tuk tuk driver the hotel arranged for us was also excellent, when we left for Phnom Penh he even came back after dropping us off to wave goodbye.

Kep is sleepy at best but if you want to get away from it all you can't really go wrong.

There's good food, an island to visit if you want to go to the beach and friendly people everywhere and the architecture is amazing.

The best thing about the hotel is that at night it feels like you're sleeping outside in the jungle, the creatures get loud and it sounds like they're right in your room (which they're not of course).

Did I say the people were amazing?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jawrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.0 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
0.0 mi away
Kep Lodge
Kep Lodge
#9 of 17 in Kep
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 17 in Kep
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nibbana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nibbana Resort

Property: Nibbana Resort
Address: Nibbana Street, 500 mtr turn left, Kep 07503, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Kep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nibbana Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between sea and mountain, close to the activities of the city center of Kep in Cambodia, the boutique hotel Nature's Garden Resort offers you an intimate and discreet place for your stay.You will be bewitched by the peaceful atmosphere of 18 private bungalows surrounded with magnificent gardens and ponds of lotus. From the swimming-pool or the restaurant, the open-view of the vegetation ends in the ocean sprinkled with islands.Managed and served by a welcoming and attentive team, we feel at your entire disposal for any further information and we wait for you to Kep-sur-mer! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing