We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hammock living with geckos and lizards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The place is great if you enjoy hammock living and the proximity of other creatures. We found the presence of geckos and lizards fun and interesting. But wildlife is not quiet. I woke up one night from the bass voice of a gecko under the ceiling in our cabin. It was about 40 cm long - and fat. Shortly after some naughty toads or frogs or whatever were having a party nearby. Except from the noisy nights, the place was very peaceful and quiet. The food was nice and the view fom the restaurant is lovely. The staff was pleasant and somewhat shy. There is no pool at the premises, but the Veranda resort is just across the road and welcomes guests as long as you buy something to drink or eat. If you go out in the evening, make sure the staff at Le Bout de Monde doesn't go to sleep before you return.The first evening, we returned around 11ish and found the gates locked and the place dark - probably because a misunderstanding. After a while, we managed to wake up the guard and got in.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wennag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEPBDM, Propriétaire at Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

There are living geckos and lizards in Kep and they eat mosquitoes :
From time to time we catch some of them and we release them in the close National Park.
But there are no borders in the countryside and they live their life.
I hardly understand why tourists coming to Kep for the pools but i try to do.
We suggest our guests to swim in the sea in Rabbit island or some other places.
To my concern, i do not want swimming pools with chemicals for ecological reasons.
I already gave an answer on the other subjects.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

I needed a break from Phnom Penh and this quiet little gem was perfect. I had a bungalow that was perfectly comfortable inside and with great verandah with a not-to-get-of hammock - so good! Breakfast was included for $20/night. Dinner with sea breeze and wonderful panoramic view with choice of Khmer and French food. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEPBDM, Propriétaire at Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

Thank you for your review.
It is a satisfaction and an encouragement for our young staff to do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed here one night. The room was simple but nice. The balcony was large & had ample cushions & seating with a view of the sea over the multitude of trees that make up the atmosphere at Le Boat du Monde. Plus there's a hammock! The staff is really friendly, and the food is good (cheese crepe- YUM!). The pineapple juice was fresh & simply delicious! It's secluded, so all you hear are the sounds of nature, and you can roam around looking at the lush foliage & gorgeous flowers, but it's a very short trip into town- maybe 5 minutes max. We will definitely being staying here again. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in Lola.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneSansTete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Very special set up...far away from everything, The accomodation is set up with taste with a lot of details.
Sleeping is another matter....especially the bed which does not clean at all. We finally moved to another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chchanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KEPBDM, Propriétaire at Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

We are very sorry you had to move to another hotel.
You should have to give your opinions directly to us at the moment.
Most reviews give good quotations for cleanliness and i really do not understand what is wrong : we change mattresses every season, bed sheets every day and have a special treatment for wood every month.
Sambath, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Le Bout du Monde. We had only booked for one night, but ended up staying for some more days. A truly beautiful setting, garden, bungalow and restaurant, combined with the finnest service (all the staff was really helpful and extraordinarily polite), made our stay a truly remarkable one. We'll never forget it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Interholy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Sorry to bend the rules - I stayed here a few years ago - but I wanted to say that the place is magical, charming and has a sense, that I can still see, of fierce independence and resistance.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in December and loved it.
The staff were excellent, ultra courteous, helpful and respectful. Breakfast was very good and lovely to eat in restaurant or brought to your room. I stayed in Kymer villa which was pretty open to garden which for a Brit was quite scary, noises, things flying outside etc but had no problems. Good trail at the back of hotel should take 2 hours, took me nearer to 4 but got lost as usual. Rented a moped for the duration which was ideal for getting around, managed to get lost one day again and found myself at the Vietnam border but excellent rides around the area plus essential to get to the crab market, which is an amazing place to eat. Nearby Seeing hands massage keeps you just on the right side of the pleasure pain divide for an hour,$7 if I recall correctly.
All in all I loved this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#1 of 18 in Kep
558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#5 of 18 in Kep
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#4 of 18 in Kep
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#8 of 18 in Kep
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
0.5 mi away
Kep Lodge
Kep Lodge
#11 of 18 in Kep
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge

Address: Preah Thom, Kep 10000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kep
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kep
Price Range: £24 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant at the top of the hill near Kep National park.Traditional Khmer wooden houses with modern confort.Botanical gardensKhmer and french inspired cuisine with view over the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bout Du Monde Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing