We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary but I'm a westerner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kep
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in December and loved it.
The staff were excellent, ultra courteous, helpful and respectful. Breakfast was very good and lovely to eat in restaurant or brought to your room. I stayed in Kymer villa which was pretty open to garden which for a Brit was quite scary, noises, things flying outside etc but had no problems. Good trail at the back of hotel should take 2 hours, took me nearer to 4 but got lost as usual. Rented a moped for the duration which was ideal for getting around, managed to get lost one day again and found myself at the Vietnam border but excellent rides around the area plus essential to get to the crab market, which is an amazing place to eat. Nearby Seeing hands massage keeps you just on the right side of the pleasure pain divide for an hour,$7 if I recall correctly.
All in all I loved this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2011

We headed to Kep for a few days of total relaxation. Le Bout du Monde was perfect and far surpassed our expectations. On arrival at the resort you are given a lovely welcome drink and then escorted to your room. We stayed in Holy Bungalow which was clean, had a comfy bed with a mosquito net in good condition and lovely clean bathroom with fairly hot water showers. The bungalow has a large veranda with loads of cushioned seating, a hammock and overlooks the sea.

The whole place is really well kept, quite secluded and quiet but only 10mins walk down the hill to the crab market and other restaurants. Kep is a very spread out place so it is difficult to give it an excellent location but it suited us fine; perfect for a good night's sleep, great place to chill and then a short walk into the town. Be warned though that the other areas are a good 5km away, although we went there once and saw no need to go again, as you have great places to eat and drink, visit the crab market and watch the sunsets at the end of town where Le Bout du Monde is situated.

The staff here are lovely. The included breakfast is light but seriously good quality, good portion of muesli or omelettes or great French crepes, accompanied with tea/coffee and juice so no complaints there. The onsite restaurant served up some good food but for us the only downside was that it was quite expensive, not by European standards but by Kep standards. However, if you are not on a budget it would be a great place to relax and eat.

We would recommend anyone going to Kep to stay here....it really is lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDMKep, Propriétaire at Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2011

Dear Ben,
Our gourmet restaurant uses the best, locally sourced, natural products, and all the food is made fresh to order. We aim to provide you with an excellent food experience, with respect for tradition. This is reflected in the menu tariff and in the time we take to prepare your meal. Our prices are however lower than those in comparable restaurants in Phnom Penh.
However, our menu is for all budget : Cheap breton pancakes at 3 $ or fresh Kep crab at 12 $.
Sambath
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We booked based on good recommendations and were unpleasantly surprised. Knowing a busy weekend was coming up, we booked (and received confirmation) one week in advance. The day before we were to go to Kep I re-confirmed (for the second time) the booking and was told by the manager (who had personally written the confirmation email one week before): "One of the staff didn't write down your reservation and we are now fully booked.... sorry for the inconvenience." This is unacceptable, particularly when the manager passes blame on to his staff. I was then told "We have found a room in Kep for you.... please come by Le Bout du Monde first". No details about the room or price provided until further prodding. I then found out the “room” at the hotel they booked for us was a single (Yes, I called the hotel myself to check). This is terrible customer service, particularly when you don't own up for your own mistake. To make matters worse, I then found that rooms at Le Bout were being sold "last minute" for double the price online, given it was a holiday weekend. I wouldn't recommend planning on staying here - I guess if you rock up and there is a room available, it might be nice - but our holiday would have been ruined had another guest house not stepped in after hearing our story. I understand mistakes happened and had the manager handled it differently, it would have been more acceptable. Unfortunately, I don’t think the hotel cares too much about it reputation, just about getting money…

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank RHNCamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDMKep, Propriétaire at Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

A little bit of comprehension :

1) 18 lines for a disappointed reservation of one night in spite of good recommendations of your friends.
2) Inaccurate because we booked one double room in a hotel next door the day before your arrival.
3) Not helpful for our local staff : in Phnom Penh and Siem Reap, all hotel can recruit qualified staff because there are hospitality schools. In Kep and area, none of this. We have to train sons and daughters of farmers of paddy fields from A to Z. Besides, some of them are illiterate when they arrive at Le Bout du Monde. It happened that that day the receptionist was on leave.
Sambath
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

This is the best place we have ever seen !! Great Kampot pepper crab, fantastic view in a superb bungalow ! Very nice owner. We had a great time, it was hard to leave the place .

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I stayed in the suite "happiness" for 2 nights. I fell in love with the view you get from the balcony (which is an extension of the bedroom itself), enjoying staring at the sea during at sunset. The suite had all the comfort I could hope for, and the traditional Khmer dwelling brings you cool air at night and thus provides you good sleep without using any AC (Eco-friendly!)
The staff was nice and very polite, although the aside services like motorbike taxi or bus ticket were quite overcharged, but it's easy to find cheaper travelling options near the beach.
A last word about the restaurant inside the guest-house: I had the best fish Amok in all Cambodia there!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popitotoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BDMKep, Owner at Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2011

Dear guest,
We have fixed prices for an ever same quality of service.
Some local little travel agencies in Kep have slash prices and are far too expensive on additional options.
The taxi driver we work with has all official papers. His vehicle is spacious and in good repair.
Recently, one of our guests called for an outside taxi and paid the fare in advance. As the taxi did not arrive at due time, we had to intercede but he arrived one hour later.
Sambath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

We took our four children aged 4,6,8, 10 to Le Bout de Monde for a two day stay as we had been told that was all the time you need in the area, how wrong they were! Le Bout de Monde is not just a hotel but an amazing experience. The setting is absolute paradise and the gardens are amazing. Rooms are unique but stylish, comfortable and oh so relaxing. Thea and his staff looked after us with such care and attention, especially for the children. The food was superb and the dining room looked out over the most amazing view. Thea was very knowledgeable and helpful in arranging tours and activites such as trips to Kampot, the pepper plantation and Rabbit Island. We have since decided a week was not long enough and plan to head back next year. Le Bout de Monde and Kep have a great balance between relaxing and exploring, not to be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tassymitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Fantastic accommodation in beautiful Kep. Rustic Cambodian charm. Many upgrades since my last visit. Great new restaurant/bar with wonderful view. Great, friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob_Div69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kep hotels
0.5 mi away
Knai Bang Chatt
Knai Bang Chatt
#2 of 18 in Kep
564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tara Lodge
Tara Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kep
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raingsey Bungalow
Raingsey Bungalow
#5 of 18 in Kep
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Flamboyant Resort
0.1 mi away
Vanna Hill Resort
Vanna Hill Resort
#9 of 18 in Kep
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge

Address: Preah Thom, Kep 10000, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kep Province > Kep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kep
#3 Family Hotel in Kep
Price Range: £29 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant at the top of the hill near Kep National park with stunning view over Thailand bay. Traditional Khmer wooden houses with modern comfort. Botanical gardens. Khmer and french inspired cuisine with view over the sea for sunset dinner. Eco-friendly swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Le Bout du Monde - Khmer Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bout Du Monde Hotel Kep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing