We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to see this Lodge has longevity”
Review of Yaklom Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yaklom Hill Lodge
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great to see this Lodge has longevity”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here in 2005 and we had a wonderful experience. The cabins were cosy, the food was great and we were travelling with a 10 & 12year olds. This place was remote back then and I vividly remember the wild rooster crowing very early in the morning. Looking at more recent reviews it appears to have maintained its charm.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
7
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Regenstauf, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Location 5***** - Lush tropical forest paradise for chilling out and seeing the region. Waterfalls, beautiful crater lake

Value for money 5***** - They provide everything for a very low prize (15 $). Breakfast, Tooth brush, shower gel, 2 bottles of water daily, complimentary fruit platter for breakfast

Rooms 4**** - Very charming wooden chalets with porch and hammock and candles. Generator is running from 6 pm. until 9 pm. You can use hot water bathrooms if you feel uncomfortable with your cool in-room shower. But it's not that cold.

Food 4**** - Good food for low prizes

We had our own wheels but they can arrange tours and book bus tickets to almost everywhere in Cambodia.

Summary: Best value for money in all of Cambodia - so far we came across and we stayed in a couple of places. The cumbersome and long journey is well worth it. If you have something to complain you are definitely at the wrong place. One cannot expect more for such a good prize.

For Manager: Chalets look slightly withered. It's not too bad because of the good value for money. Wood should be impregnated with lacquer then the chalet's porches look better and live longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan24f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
153 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We visited Ratanakiri as part of a tenth-grade school trip from Phnom Penh. I was one of four adults and we had a group of 30 students, ages 16-17. We chose the Yaklom Hill Lodge because it was in a natural setting, had large facilities, and our school has stayed with them in previous years.

After staying three nights, I would definitely go back with my husband on a personal trip! I really loved Yaklom; the rooms are basic and well-maintained. You are out in nature, but have a comfortable bed, hot water showers, a great restaurant, the comforts of home.

As it is an eco lodge, they only have power from 6-9. No wifi. But that's not why you visit Ratanakiri, anyways! Head into town for a nice cup of coffee at Dutch Co for surfing the internet if if you'd like (I love the view of their patio, check them out online).

Yaklom also has trails to a beautiful sunset viewing platform and sunrise viewing platform. The trails are directly behind the lodge. You can also walk to the crater lake from the lodge (about an hour's walk).

The owner speaks impeccable English and is very helpful and genuine. He really added to the enjoyment of our stay.

Visit the beauty of Ratanakiri and enjoy the serenity of Yaklom Hill Lodge!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The best part of this lodge was the ambiance. Wooden huts are connected by cobblestone paths winding through jungle like surroundings. Huts each have there own hammocks and give a feel of being immersed in nature - this is a great place to relax. The off-grid limited electricity aspect was something I liked in general but might not be for everyone (be sure to bring a headlamp for after the lights go out at night although rooms also have candles). The one downside though in December is that it is chilly at night and in the morning, and as the hot water is only on from 6pm-9pm, you can't have a hot shower in the morning before heading out on a long hiking/camping trip. I also found the hot shower to be a little lukewarm when it was on. The food was good (although availability of listed dishes was limited) and the restaurant location in the midst of the woods was very enjoyable. Most of the staff does not speak english, which was difficult when arriving late at night and trying to organize my departure for a hike the next day - the owner himself though speaks english well and is very helpful and friendly. It is out of town (maybe a 5 minute drive) - which means you have to organize drives to and from the lodge to get anywhere, also the brother of the owner who does the drives from the lodge into town and pick up from the bus station will overcharge you if you don't come pre-informed about how much he should be charging. Ask the lodge owner what price you should be paying - the owner was honest and reasonable in his pricing - and make sure it is clear with his brother that you will not pay more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at the lodge and enjoyed it thoroughly. Power is limited and there is no wifi but that adds to the rustic experience. The canopy cover keeps the area cool, and the paths between lodges keep you close to nature. The owner is super friendly and willing to go out of their way to take care of you. Food from the kitchen is very good, we didn't look to eat dinner anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Yaklom is the type if place that deserves more visitors than what it is getting. The management will go out of its way to please you. The kitchen serves delicious food and the setting is ideal. Mind you, there is no wifi and that is exactly the point of staying here. I greatly enjoyed my time and Ratanakiri and trusted the owner in every piece of advice he gave me.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgomez100100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I enjoyed my 2 days at the lodge, the staff were very friendly and helpful all the time. Our rooms were clean, simple and very cute. The surrounds are beautiful and the little paths running through the bush just gorgeous. A very nice break and peace after the hecticness of Phnom Penh. We were glad there was a pack of cards though and I wouldn't recommend for people travelling alone as there isn't much going on. Nice walk to the crater lake and the lodge can organise a great trek on elephants with a local guide for you which was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ratanakiri Province hotels
0.0 mi away
Mittapheap Hotel & Casino
Mittapheap Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Pak Nhai
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ratanakiri-Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Terres Rouges Lodge
Terres Rouges Lodge
#2 of 9 in Banlung
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banlung Balcony Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Green Plateau Lodge
Green Plateau Lodge
#1 of 1 in Krong Ban Lung
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tree Top Eco-Lodge
Tree Top Eco-Lodge
#1 of 17 in Banlung
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaklom Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaklom Hill Lodge

Property: Yaklom Hill Lodge
Address: | near Ban Lung, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Ratanakiri Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Ratanakiri Province
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Yaklom Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yaklom Hill Lodge Cambodia/Ratanakiri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing