We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairmont Yangcheng Lake
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
274
103
28
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
103
28
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic farmhairy crabthe hotel stafforganic foodbeautiful resortrelaxing weekendgreat facilitygold loungecompany conferencejunior suitebig parklow occupancyexceptional servicebig roommain restaurantmemorable staypudong airport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

With just a 90 minutes drive from Shanghai, the Fairmont Hotel at the Yangcheng Lake is a good choice for a weekend trip. The hotel is directly connected to a very nicely made organic farm areal and offers plenty of outdoor activities. It is really a great location for children.

The rooms have a nice layout, while the design is rather ordinary and boring. Make sure you book a room on the Fairmond-Gold level which is on 8th floor and aim for a lake view. That might be a bit more expensive but it is worth is. We booked one of the suites (819) and can recommend it to all those traveling with a toddler.

Unfortunately the restaurants failed to impress us. The interior is very ordinary and the seating arrangements do not create a nice atmosphere. After we left the Chinese Restaurant pretty disappointed after our first lunch right after our arrival, we decided to use the rooms service for dinner. Unfortunately it ended in a disaster, as the staff completely failed to proceed our order. After more than an hour of waiting for our order we had to cancel the order, as the staff could not tell us if they will be able to deliver at all within the next half hour. Finally we winded up having the instant noodles which we found in the mini bar at 22:00. And that on Chinese Valentines Day...

As a matter of fact we had a talk with the management next morning and they handled the situation very well. We left without a bad feeling and will quiet likely return as the hotel's surrounding is really nice and the place close to Shanghai.

Room Tip: 8th floor lake-side for more and better service and a good view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CYTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icy R, Manager at Fairmont Yangcheng Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear CYTT,
We appreciate the time you took out of your day to review and comment regarding your stay experience. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Fairmont Gold, a home away from home, and our staff is always energetic at serving new guests who visit our Fairmont Gold lounge. We would like to once again apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay regarding your in-room-dining order. We've taken immediate measures to improve our service in order to prevent such incidents in the future. Know that your comments are appreciated and further help enhance our guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again and feel free to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more memorable.
Fairmont Yangcheng Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here for a few nights as we had a company event here. The view from my room was towards the Yangcheng lake. The room is modern, spacious and the bathroom luxurious, with a separate tub and shower stall. The concierge team and some of the people at the Club are helpful and addressed me by name after a day.

The banquet team was very switched on and the themed tea breaks were just too good that they had a challenge getting us back into the ballroom to resume the conference ! We had a teambuilding event that the hotel arranged which was like amazing race and that gave us the chance to run around the huge resort which even had an organic farm and lots of birdlife and a cooking studio for us to have a cooking challenge. It was good fun.

I had breakfast at the Club which is just nice for me but if you expect a huge range, then eat downstairs at the busy cafe with the crazy huge buffet which looked like it has everything from eggs to noodles and dim sum. I ate at the Chinese restaurant once - food was not bad, service attentive.

The resort is about 50mins speed train from Shanghai station and the drive from here to Shanghai city took us about 2 hours. If you plan to have team building or to bring family for a getaway from city life, this would be a good choice of resort.

Room Tip: Club floor rooms offer free wi-fi
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suslika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icy R, Manager at Fairmont Yangcheng Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Suslika,
Thank you for taking the time to comment and review our hotel. We're glad to hear you were satisfied with our service staff. As one hundred year old brand we pride ourselves in timeless attentive service. We can't wait for you to visit again and we hope you can share this experience with your friends and family.
Fairmont Yangcheng Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Best ever stay, for business or pleasure! All rooms have a great view of the Kunshan Yangcheng lake or the city. Hotel grounds are amazing! Most impressed with the hotel staff and their services. Super!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icy R, Manager at Fairmont Yangcheng Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Howard W,
Thank you so much for choosing us as your hotel of choice. We're delighted to hear you are pleased with your stay experience and please let us know if there is anything we can do to enhance your guest experience. Your satisfaction is our utmost priority and we can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Fairmont Yangcheng Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The conference facility was good. The view of the lake from the room is great. I like the electronic curtain. The toiletary is good but there's no razor. The air conditioning in the room didn't seem to work properly. The air conditioning in the bathroom was too strong, and I couldn't find a way to turn it down. The 'Please Do Not Disturb Button' didn't work. The water in the pool was murky. The waiter didn't ask if we need tea or coffee, during breakfast and lunch. Despite the resort being next to the late, the area that one can walked along side the lake was not much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lau_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icy R, Manager at Fairmont Yangcheng Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Lau_traveller,
We're honoured to serve you during your stay at Fairmont Yangcheng Lake. Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay experience and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. If you need any assistance during your stay, whether it is a missing razor or adjusting the air conditioning, simply dial "0" on any hotel phone to reach Royal Service and they would be more than happy to help you with your request. We hope to welcome you back soon and wish you a memorable stay at our resort.
Fairmont Yangcheng Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I attended the company conference and training last week. From the minute I arrived untill my departure there was nothing to say but Excellent! First experience greeted by the Hotel Manager, Staff were attentive espc their Exec Chef, Mr. Jek Tan who is very enggage to all of the conference participant. Not to mention on his fantastic foods and charming coffee breaks. I never felt bored there. Everyday always excited and kept expecting what would be the next creativity they will provide. Prior on our departure, some of staff were standing to say good bye to all of us incl.the GM. Thank ypu for your excellent service that made our stay memorable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank sita o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icy R, Manager at Fairmont Yangcheng Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear sita o,
We're honored to have you stay with us at our hotel during your conference and training session. Executive Chef Tan is always excited to welcome hotel patrons and speak of his culinary specialties. We hope you have the chance to visit us again and please do let us know if we can make your stay even more memorable.
Fairmont Yangcheng Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews