We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice rest on the way up to Ziuzhaigou”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maoxian International Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Mao County
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were traveling in a tour group and spent the night in this hotel on the way up to Ziuzhaigou. It's a decent and comfortable and provide a good night sleep. There isn't any shops around nor entertainment outlets so all you can do is use the free wifi snf watch TV. I guess it serves the travelers going up and coming down Ziuzhaigou. We were there in May and it is just chilly; a sweater or wind breaker will be enough to keep warm.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Overall, the hotel standard is acceptable. Except for the Wi-Fi. There is nothing to do here. The dinner at the restaurant is acceptable to singaporean. The weather is extremely cold now, do bring extra warm clothings.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Anthony_NgOfSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel 1 night because of transit, I guess many people have to stay in this hotel when coming down from Jiu Zhai Gou.

Best thing about this hotel during winter time.

- It provide electric heated mattress, you do not have to worry about coldness.
We stayed there during end of December but it is not cold at all because of the mattress.
However, remember to put the electric heated mattress to sleep mode when you sleep, otherwise you will be a roasted pig. I woke up halfway because it was too warm in the middle of the night.

Bad thing:

- We experience BLACKOUT. It was just a short while, maybe 10 minutes. However many people were showering halfway. I have good impression of this hotel despite all the review, but the blackout affect my impression slightly.

-The food is horrible, especially the breakfast. They serve the food before we arrive in the restaurant and the food is already freezing cold because it was winter period.
Winter + freezing cold food = Terrible

Overall, you can't escape from this hotel if you are going with tour to JiuZhaiGou. I think the hotel is ok except for the blackout and the food

Just bear with the food because you can't escape the hotel, it will provide a warm sleeping environment for you during winter :)

2 stars deducted because of blackout and food.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jerleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The hotel is pretty decent and the only hotel provided electric blanket during the whole trip in Jiuzhai. As for the meal, the dinner was pretty good and for breakfast is quite average. We are only staying for one night here but we have pretty good sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

They had heated blanket. Room is ok with a CRT TV. Very basic hotel. Breakfast is like those standard chinese breakfast. Not wonderful but not that bad. Had dinner there as well. Typical Szechuan style. Nothing to shout about.

Nothing much in the surrounding. As this is only a stopover for me and I had been on the road for quite some time, I am quite ok with the place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allantanbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Went on a group tour. This is an intermediate hotel between JiuZhaiGuo and Chengde. It is as good as check-in, shower, sleep, wake-up, have your breakfast and disappear from the hotel.

The breakfast, even for an Asian, is close to disaster. Never in my life had I seen a buffet breakfast like this hotel in my life. Luckily for me, I brought instant noodle.

This hotel was rebuilt hurriedly after the 2008 earthquake. In a short 5 years, it has actually deteriorated to at least 10 years without maintenance.

Staying in the hotel is like between the devil and the deep sea. If you don't stay here overnight, you will need to be in the bus for another 12 hours to reach Chengdu, after having travelled for the last 12 hours.

The only good thing about the whole trip was the scenery at JiuZhaiGuo was fantastic if the weather is kind to you.

The owner need not have to maintain the hotel well as there is only one hotel in this city for international guests. So take it or leave it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huikwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Like most of the other posters, we got to stay in this hotel as part of a tour, coming back from Jiuzhaigou to Chengdu. It was a horrible hotel, bathroom was moldy, carpet all stained and the breakfast was the most terrible I had in the whole trip, basically you get a hardboiled egg handed to you from a lukewarm bucket of water, the breakfast 'buffet' had nothing edible, some watered down rice congee and a few nasty-looking vegetable dishes. They did not even have coffee, only tea and I had to buy sachets of premixed Nescafe packets from the hotel store, only to find that they all expired over a year previuosly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dallasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mao County hotels
2.2 mi away
Jiudingshan International Hotel
0 mi away
No photo provided
Erma International Hotel
#1 of 30 in Mao County
1 reviews
1.5 mi away
Xiqiang House Hotel
Xiqiang House Hotel
#5 of 30 in Mao County
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maoxian International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maoxian International Hotel

Address: Gan Qing Cun, Feng Yi Zhen, Mao County 623200, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Mao County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Mao County
Price Range: £23 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Maoxian International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maoxian International Hotel Mao County, Sichuan, China

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing