We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 3 star hotel at most” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tian Heng International Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tian Heng International Hotel
Ranked #33 of 324 Hotels in Yiwu
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A 3 star hotel at most”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel's age certainly shows when you get to your room. Carpet is worn and stained, paint on ceiling and walls are cracked, faded soft furnishing, loose door handle with broken privacy lock, shelf in shower came off so no where to put your shampoo, moulded grout, no wifi... and the list goes on. It would struggle to be a 3 star hotel just from the rooms alone. How on earth can it market itself as a 5 star hotel! If you are expecting 5 star service, don't bother. Let me tell you why.

Central air con isn't efficient at all. It's 38 degrees outside and it's very hot in the lobby, the lift, and the restaurant. On a rainy day the temperature is still the same outside, but hotel has switched off its central air con for 3 or 4 days. It's so hot in the room but there is nothing you can do! When you ring up to complain, they will offer to bring a fan to your room but they won't switch on air con. How awful!

Service is appalling. No bellboy to help you with your luggage on arrival. Once it took us over 50 minutes to settle dinner bill in the restaurant. No one ever take your empty plate or glasses when you are dining. It feels like all the staff have never had any proper training.

We booked this hotel because use of gym and swimming pool is free. On arrival, we signed up for a promotional deal paying a large lump sum upfront which is non refundable. What wasn’t explained to us is that we would lose our rights to free swimming pool and gym. We were so dissapointed when we found out later. We wouldn't agree to the deal if things have been explained to us properly.

The gym and swimming pool only opens form 12pm which is very silly, considering most people want to work out in the morning.

Waitress in the restaurant will pour you some tea without asking if you want any. They will then add it to the bill later. We were drinking beers and didn't even want any tea!

One dish on the menu shows it comes with noodle and there isn’t separate price for the noodle. No one asked us if we want to have the noodle, they just brought it anway. But they charge you extra for the noodle we hardly even touched.

In the room, mini fridge are not refilled after the room is cleaned. One day even the teabags weren't refilled and we had to get it from reception.

When there are bellboys around, they won’t hail a taxi for you even if when it’s raining. They told people to drag their luggage and go to the street to get one themselves.

Room service is not 24 hours. Probably finishes at 12am or earlier. Western food restaurant serve food from room service menu.

The bed is rock hard like prison bed and there is no choice of softer mattress.

One day the sliced bread for breakfast buffet is frozen and there is no defrost option on toaster.

The lobby bar shuts at 12am. But you can't get much from there anyway. Several times there was no barman around to make any cocktail on the menu. Once the barman was there but was new and didn't know how to make any cocktail. Drinks are totally overprices. £4.8 for a baileys.

There is no wifi. They brough a router to our room to set up wifi for us which was great. But the password for internet access changed 3 times and we keep having to ring up everyday to ask.

All in all we had a terrible stay there and would not consider staying again. There are lots of other hotels in Yiwu that's cheaper and nicer. Do shop around.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLoJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    55
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Overall: This was my first time staying at the Tian Heng International Hotel and I was there for almost 2 weeks! They have a really helpful staff- I am American and only speak English so it was very nice to have multiple staff members who were able to communicate with me. 2 of the Assistant Managers were so good to me, helping me with whatever I need. When you visit from any English speaking country, ask for Ray and/or Julia. Next time I come to Yiwu I will absolutley be staying at Tian Heng.
Food: The breakfast buffet is really delicious. I did not eat most of the 'local' cuisine, but they had fresh eggs/omelets, cereal, fruit and yogurt plus lots of bread choices. Also they put in an espresso/cappuccino machine while I was there and it was so good! Make your own fresh cup of joe. Room Service menu is slim, but some really good options, the Chinese restaurant on the second floor is also pretty delicious.
Spa: The Spa was amazing. Bring your bathing suit to enjoy the beautiful indoor swimming pool (I wish I had!), the massages are incredible and very affordable. The staff in the spa is helpful and fun.
Environment: A bank is located right next door for ATM needs, street sales happening at night just around the corner and there is a mall with lots of cool shops and a big grocery store- almost like a Wal-Mart. Pizza Hut and KFC in walking distance. I felt safe, as a woman walking around there by myself, though I was still cautious.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

A/c does not work all time. We call several times and went to lobby, but they gave ironic reply: they will check. But not made any difference. Bad quality of staff. Room ok, but not great. Breakfast buffet has nice food but lack of services including cleaning and put more food in buffet. Average hotel, the lobby though is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rokasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

This Hotel has a nice lobby and shiny elevators and that is where the good news stops. I moved to three differnt rooms in the 20 minutes after arrrival and each one was worse than the previous one. Filthy carpets and worn dirty couches. The furnishings were ok. Three nights and no cool air. It was unseasonably warm in Yiwu. Asked 4 times for somone to check the AC but my request fell on deaf ears. The Breakfast area was terrible and the food had no taste at all. Poor Western selections. I would pass on this Hotel if I were you

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warriors78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

this hotel looks ok a first glance but take acloser look and the standard of cleanliness and upkeep are sadly lacking. English is not spoken even by the reception staff and all staff are sullen and generally disinterested. The plus for Western travellers who might be fed up with Oriental food is that Tesco, KFC and Pizza Hut are close by. That said the choise of hotels in Yiwu is generaly poor so this is not too bad by the local standard.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen-Arnold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

When you look through the reports for this hotel is no mistake that reviews written in Chinese give good ratings - mostly those in English hated the place.

In my opinion it is a dump, it is filthy, cold and almost no one speaks English - if this is 5 star then they bought the rating. Interestingly though my Chinese colleagues love the place and always want to stay there. I cannot figure out why, totally strange.

Forget breakfast, forget this hotel and go downtown to either Ramada or Kingdom.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

it is queit far from the downtown and the market.
great room and service
the location is the only flaw

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abby_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yiwu hotels
Binwang market
Yiwu International Mansion Hotel
Lv Gu Hotel
#35 of 324 in Yiwu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shang Cheng Hotel
#11 of 324 in Yiwu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Yiwu Marriott Hotel
#1 of 324 in Yiwu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tian Heng International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tian Heng International Hotel

Property: Tian Heng International Hotel
Address: No.677 Danxi North Road, Yiwu 322000, China
Region: China > Zhejiang > Yiwu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 324 Hotels in Yiwu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tian Heng International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tian Heng International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing