We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gowri Residence
Nearby Hotels
The World Backwaters(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ramada Alleppey(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Citrus Retreats Alleppey(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Deshadan Backwater Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Abad Turtle Beach(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$34
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nova Holidays(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$151
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
19
30
16
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
30
16
16
8
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Gowri Residence needs to decide if it is a relaxing guesthouse, meat-market, or restaurant. The rooms are good value, spacious and everything works.

Clutter and daily grime go for the most part unattended. The reason for this is simple; 'the Boys' are too busy cracking onto female guests. 'The Boys' can barely remember a simple request so singular is their focus on backpacker trim; I waited 20 mins for a cup of tea. Late at night, the syrupy serenading by The Cassanovas peaks with unsolicited crooning for the unsuspecting lassies not sure if they should watch the rest of the show or get some rest in anticipation of tomorrow's itinerary.

Seriously, the Gowri management needs some women working there, if only to reduce the oppressive sleaze-factor. The place would also be more impressive if the restaurant was cleaned during service (and replace the cigarette-charred tablecloths, please) and kept neat. And the floors of the rooms need to be mopped DAILY. Whoever chose terracotta tiles; sorry, but they are muck-magnets.

Oh, and the turkey tom should be left to roam! (But get him a hen so he doesn't hassle the guests like his humanoid tom-brethren!)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at the gowri for a few nights in one of their least expensive rooms.

The room was clean. Towels, soap and loo paper were provided which is not often the case at this price point.

The staff were courteous, friendly and helpful.

Free WiFi!

I'd recommend the Gowri to all backpackers. They have a wide range of rooms to suit most budgets.

Room Tip: There are rooms of all shapes and sizes. Some with AC. One is in a tree!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpome7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The Gowri was recommended to me by the owner of another hotel I stayed in at Varkala. The courtyard is a little unprepossessing but it's India. The room I was in was in a small building inthe gardens behind the main building. It had a good bed with a marvellous mosquito net, efficient air con and plenty of space.

The gallery on the website gives the impression that the property is in the country. It's actually fairly close to the centre of the town but that doesn't matter over much. The food in the courtyard is good (at least the Pea Masala was good).

They also arranged a day trip for me on the backwaters in a canoe which was very good. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musketeer1645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

In the train from Varkala to Alleppey, we were approached by a guy just visionary to us to be perfect Risidence Gowri Guesthouse. Somewhere familiar we do not yet adopted the card. After 3 or guesthouses were full or too dirty, but yet to Gowri. The room was a shabby room with AC. No sheets. But with a fan. We had to pay 1800 rp. The staff was not very interested. But in our own sleeping bag liner sleep because the bed was dirty. There was a mosquito net and yet our own use. Sat the night room full of mosquitoes. The Indian food was three times nothing. When we expressed that we were not with the Houseboat wanted Gowri, we were not more interesting. Long wait and too expensive for the quality. Next day complained. Suddenly we had to pay only 1000 RP. I would say this avoidance dirty tourist trap.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Its true, these guys are not interested in you if you don't take their (over priced) boat stay...
The rooms are nice and clean, but the food is really hit and miss... I've had better Indian food in rural Ireland .. 
The aviary is pretty ugly, not an attraction at all, it seems downright cruelto keep such a gregarious bird such as an emu on it's own with zero stimulation. 
* Hint... Head down to the finishing point at about 4pm and start to barter, we got some good offers for four of us, people were offering to accommodate us all 4 of us  on the boat that night (before the trip)h for an additional 2000 rupees including dinner and breakfast. 

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redfeatherboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews