We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was amazing!”
Review of Gowri Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gowri Residence
Ranked #133 of 216 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 November 2012

The stay, was the BEST! The staff, is so nice and calm. Always smilling at you and they are always ready to help you with anything! We can diffenetly recommend this place, if you are looking for a place with; Nice staff, good food, clean and big rooms and A lot of fun, if you want to!
- Anne & Louise from Denmark.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Staying last year and returning again this year, everyone at the Gowri were unbelievably helpful. From there we hired a car and driver and went on a 7 day expedition throughout the tea and spice plantations and then to the beach. The answer is 'yes', now what's the question... to all your tourist needs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldlwanderwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Every time i come to Alleppey I stay in this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are big and clean.
the food is good. And one of the few places where they have great coffee.

Ina from Holland

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Messina-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The yard is really nice and well maintained. The rooms are clean and have a good value for money- the price was acutally negotiable which was nice given it is nearly low season. They also have a nive house boat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Big rooms, gated entrance, mosquito nets. Good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lugev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Gowri Residence needs to decide if it is a relaxing guesthouse, meat-market, or restaurant. The rooms are good value, spacious and everything works.

Clutter and daily grime go for the most part unattended. The reason for this is simple; 'the Boys' are too busy cracking onto female guests. 'The Boys' can barely remember a simple request so singular is their focus on backpacker trim; I waited 20 mins for a cup of tea. Late at night, the syrupy serenading by The Cassanovas peaks with unsolicited crooning for the unsuspecting lassies not sure if they should watch the rest of the show or get some rest in anticipation of tomorrow's itinerary.

Seriously, the Gowri management needs some women working there, if only to reduce the oppressive sleaze-factor. The place would also be more impressive if the restaurant was cleaned during service (and replace the cigarette-charred tablecloths, please) and kept neat. And the floors of the rooms need to be mopped DAILY. Whoever chose terracotta tiles; sorry, but they are muck-magnets.

Oh, and the turkey tom should be left to roam! (But get him a hen so he doesn't hassle the guests like his humanoid tom-brethren!)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at the gowri for a few nights in one of their least expensive rooms.

The room was clean. Towels, soap and loo paper were provided which is not often the case at this price point.

The staff were courteous, friendly and helpful.

Free WiFi!

I'd recommend the Gowri to all backpackers. They have a wide range of rooms to suit most budgets.

Room Tip: There are rooms of all shapes and sizes. Some with AC. One is in a tree!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpome7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
0 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 71 in Alappuzha
414 reviews
0 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 71 in Alappuzha
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 71 in Alappuzha
851 reviews
0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 71 in Alappuzha
789 reviews
0 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gowri Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gowri Residence

Address: near Uduppi Sree Krishna Swami Temple | Thondankulangara, Avalookkunnu PO, Alappuzha 688006, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: £36 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gowri Residence is one of the oldest heritage properties in Alleppey - the main house was constructed in 1947. Its strategic location makes it an ideal property for holidayers; the boat jetty, the railway station and the beach are all within 15 minutes from Gowri. The tranquil and green environs of Gowri make it an oasis of peace and heritage in the heart of Alleppey town. We have wooden cottages, a/c and non a/c rooms, dormitory and a treehouse room - a wide range to choose from. Whether you are a backpacker, honeymooning couple, family or a large group, we have all kinds of accommodation to suit your needs. Our restaurant serves delicious local dishes and can be made to order to your specific taste. Our staff is well trained and is always there 24/7 for you. Come to Gowri and experience true Kerala hospitality and soak in a bit of culture and heritage too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Gowri Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gowri Residence Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing