We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place To Spend Holidays With Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akkarakalam Memoirs
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Place To Spend Holidays With Family”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We been to Alleppey few days back. This place Akkarakalam Memoirs is on the way from Thekkady to Alleppey. Calm and Serene place. Service is excellent. Though little expensive on the pocket, but its worth. Very old house preserved perfectly. Just behind the house is backwater and easy to get into the house boat. Lot of grass for kids to play as well. Overall our experience is cherish-able.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudhindra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    21
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
28
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2013

On a trip comprising of atleast 4 hotels at different locations in Kerala, Akkarakalam Memoirs turned out to be the best. The way the homestay has been constructed keeping the essence of old Kerala homes is beautiful. Our rooms were spacious and very comfortable. We fell in love with the open to sky showers and the beautiful gardens. The best part of this stay was the sunset cruise that they had offered us.The staff is extremely courteous and they went out of their way to make sure I was provided all assistance for my 5 month old baby. The manager made sure we were comfortable and politely helped us with our food preferences as well. We are glad to have chosen this as part of our trip and would highly recommend it to everyone as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mersea Island, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This hotel was part of our tour of Kerala, having already experienced several excellent hotels and the marvellous houseboat, we wondered if we could beat that - well we did! The hotel is located right on the edge of a peaceful backwater, with lush greenery and paddy fields all around. My favourite pastime was to sit on the edge of the water in my chair just watching life go by - on the opposite palm fringed bank we could see village life, and small canoes and houseboats chugged by. The temple nearby provided a peaceful backdrop with faint chanting to make me feel completely relaxed. The hotel was a traditional building, which is what we required, we specified no plastic hotels! The food was amazing, tasty local dishes were arrayed before our eyes at lunch and dinner, all freshly prepared. The manager arranged a boat trip for us on our first evening, so perched atop we set off chugging along the water, in the calm of the evening - lovely! I truly relaxed at this hotel, and wished we had another night!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I was disappointed by this hotel. We stayed in the garden rooms which were pretty damp but clean. The dining room lacked atmosphere and food was ok but in the land of lovely fruit there was none for breakfast. The manager was helpful but it just had no heart. The surrounds were lovely but unfortunately there was a festival in the next door temple which begun at 5 am for a couple of days while we stayed there! We went on their sunset cruise which was laid on as part of our stay, that was fun, but on that cruise I saw places I would have rather stayed!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Lovely place with beautiful views,excellent rooms and the food to die for. We have never tasted such a beautifully balanced combination of flavours.
Tranquil and relaxed with some amazing views from boat trips along the river

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I had stayed here previously and decided to return. I was not disappointed. The manager is a charming , helpful man who ensured my companion and I were made comfortable. We were in one of the garden rooms, which was very clean and tastefully decorated. There was an eye for detail here- clean white bed linen and towels , fresh flowers etc. the food was excellent, though again much more than we could eat. The staff were so polite and ready to help. The manager helped me with my train bookings and arranged a car for us. We borrowed a couple of bicycles and had a great time exploring the back roads. The manager agreed that maps of cycle routes would be a good idea. The sunset cruise was swapped for a canoe ride down a backwater which was very tranquil. I recommend this place - not cheap but worth the money

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FridaCrayola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The place was recommended on our travel guide, it had good reviews and the website was promising. What we then found was a complete disappointment and was miles below of what we had expected. The location is nice and peaceful close to the river, but the view to the river was completely blocked by the houseboats which had docked there.
The whole place is not well maintained and far away from beautiful and comfortable. Our room was of average size with no ambiance and spartan furnished. The gardens are not well looked after. There was no place where one could sit outside in the garden and the sitting accommodation behind the house with the houseboat blocked view was not really appealing. The furniture in the dining room is completely worn out and sticky. The service was poor and the food was not good. The 4000 INR including breakfast for 2 people where offered as a special rate. I call it a rip-off.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobueck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
22.1 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
3.8 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
653 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kait's Home
Kait's Home
#34 of 191 in Alappuzha
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere
2.6 mi away
Xandari Riverscapes
Xandari Riverscapes
#4 of 151 in Alappuzha
279 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters
Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters
#81 of 151 in Alappuzha
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akkarakalam Memoirs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akkarakalam Memoirs

Property: Akkarakalam Memoirs
Address: Chennamkary PO | Kainakary, Alappuzha 688501, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Akkarakalam Memoirs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akkarakalam Memoirs an exotic farmhouse presented as an excellent souvenir of the ancient Akkarakkalam family in Alleppey district with a tradition of 150 years.Akkarakkalm Memoirs is a sprawling 10 acre land with natural flora and fauna, beautifully converted into an ideal tourist destination for the nature lover as well as for the common glob-trotter. Here you can experience the backwater life at close quarters and inhale the natural scent of pristine countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Akkarakalam Memoirs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akkarakalam Memoirs Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing