We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akkarakalam Memoirs
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel right on one of the big canals. Service and food at the hotel were excellent and quick, we never had to wait long. We recommend taking a paddle tour on the backwaters instead of a house boat because you get a lot more interaction with the locals.
Only negative is that the lighting in the rooms could be better, ie no bedside lamps.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esvhansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    21
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
28
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Having spent a few days in allepey town and had a trip through the back waters in a small boat, this was the perfect way to complete our stay in allepey. We spent a night and the best part of two days here just watching the world float by.

Some of the highlights include our little canoe trip with just the two of us crushing around a local back waters in a traditional canoe that they let you use. We also had a free sunset cruise that took us across some back waters to a local lagoon where you could revel in the natural beauty of the surroundings as the sun went down.

The food served here is very tasty and reasonably priced, which is a plus as the isolated location means that other options are potentially limited. The staff are very helpful, and happy to suggest potential activities without them seeming to be trying to sell you anything which is sometimes a problem in isolated spots.

Whilst it is probably best to arrive by road, than navigate the ferries, they helped us to organise getting the ferry back which can be done from the local stop and will take you right in the middle of town for less than the cost of a bottle of water.

Overall we would really recommend this place as somewhere to experience the charms of the backwater without having to splash out on the cost of a house boat trip and spend most of your time up stuck on the side of the river anyway.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeandKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! The staff were very friendly and helpful. They organized a sunset cruise, a walking tour and a canoeing trip for us which was all included in the price. If you want to relax for two to three days on your trip to India/Kerala then I would certainly recommend this place. The house itself is really nice as well as its garden where you can relax on hammocks. The rooms are large and very nice and exceptionally clean. If you are looking to go on a really nice houseboat for a night or two then the staff will organize it. The houseboat we went on was called ginger and it was a really lovely experience.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diarmuid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife rejini had a beautiful time at akkarakalam memoirs. As we are from busy city like bangalore we enjoyed the tranquil and peaceful atmosphere here. The food is very tasty here. We loved the kareemeenu fry ( local fish they say ). The tapioca and fish curry etc are awesome.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ajimon S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a wonderful time at akkarakalam memoirs. The old building has been restorted very nicely. Our kids enjoyed fishing in the river. The food prepared by chef sijo tasted great. We are definitely gone a miss his tasty food. Binoy accompained withus for the village walk,he had so much patience in explaining to us about the locality. We were lucky to mingle with some fishermens in the village.

Over all we loved the stay. We will surely come back

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oops23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed here the next day after my spice boat trip and it is a lovely contrast. The hotel is an old rice storage building owned by an Alleppey family. I was greeted off the boat by the wonderful Binoy, what a delightful host. My Room is excellent and once again the attention to your every need was seen as important. Binoy took me for an hour long walk along the backwater lanes which was such a contrast to being on the boat and for no extra cost I am going on a small paddle boat at 4.30 So we can reach smaller waterways that the big boat cannot- a perfect contrast! As a single female traveller this has been My luxury stay, but worth every penny. I also met the owner who showed me the family history and their involvement in the rice trade previous

Room Tip: My room near to reception is very gool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuaniJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We been to Alleppey few days back. This place Akkarakalam Memoirs is on the way from Thekkady to Alleppey. Calm and Serene place. Service is excellent. Though little expensive on the pocket, but its worth. Very old house preserved perfectly. Just behind the house is backwater and easy to get into the house boat. Lot of grass for kids to play as well. Overall our experience is cherish-able.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudhindra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
1.9 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 68 in Alappuzha
182 reviews
8.3 mi away
Xandari Pearl
Xandari Pearl
#1 of 5 in Mararikulam
297 reviews
2.6 mi away
Xandari Riverscapes
Xandari Riverscapes
#3 of 160 in Alappuzha
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
812 reviews
10.9 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,711 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cosy Houseboats
Cosy Houseboats
#6 of 160 in Alappuzha
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akkarakalam Memoirs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akkarakalam Memoirs

Property: Akkarakalam Memoirs
Address: Chennamkary PO | Kainakary, Alappuzha 688501, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 160 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Akkarakalam Memoirs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akkarakalam Memoirs an exotic farmhouse presented as an excellent souvenir of the ancient Akkarakkalam family in Alleppey district with a tradition of 150 years.Akkarakkalm Memoirs is a sprawling 10 acre land with natural flora and fauna, beautifully converted into an ideal tourist destination for the nature lover as well as for the common glob-trotter. Here you can experience the backwater life at close quarters and inhale the natural scent of pristine countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Akkarakalam Memoirs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akkarakalam Memoirs Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing