We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Akkarakalam memoirs- a lovely experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akkarakalam Memoirs
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Akkarakalam Memoirs very much. It's completely away from the hustle and hassle of the town/city in a heritage home right on the river amid the ricefields. The room was well appointed and comfortable. Excellent hot water! The manager, Binoy, arranged a number of great experiences on the river by boat and walking through the ricefields so I had plenty to do. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Great massages too. Overall, totally relaxing....

Best to come by private taxi from Cochin, as it's a fair way out of Alleppey and local tuk tuk drivers may overcharge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akkarakalammemoirs, Owner at Akkarakalam Memoirs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Greetings from Akkarakalam Memoirs!!!!

Dear Guest,

It gives us immense pleasure to know that you had a wonderful and relaxing stay at our home stay. Your appreciation on the services is a motivation to our staffs.We are obliged and thankful to have you chosen Akkarakalam Memoirs for your stay at Alleppey. Looking forward to see you on your next visit.

Warm Regards for the Akkarakalam Family

Jobin J Akkarakalam
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Akkarakalam Memoirs
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

The highlight of our 5 day vacation to Kerala was our stay at Akkarakalam Memoirs. This was the last day of our trip and we were exhausted from the long drive on pretty bad roads stretching from Munnar to Alleppey. We just wanted to relax for the evening with no agenda and when we arrived at this beautiful, big, charming house we were greeted by Binoy the manager and his very courteous staff.

As luck would have it we were the only guests for the night. We were treated to the wonderful sights of the small and large boats passing by the house along the backwaters and to add to our hearing pleasure was the soothing devotional music coming from a beautiful temple nearby. Later in the evening we embarked on a sunset cruise taking in the sights of the local life, watched little kids playing, local housewives washing utensils along the banks of the water and even stopped at a canal side shop to drink the delicious coconut water. We were in awe as we passed by the temple that was lit up with hundreds of oil-lamps to celebrate the month of Karthik. That evening we were served a wonderful Kerala style dinner (at our request). That night was the best sleep we had in a long time. My only regret as we left was that we could have stayed one more night to enhance our experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taurus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akkarakalammemoirs, Owner at Akkarakalam Memoirs, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Greetings from Akkarakalam Memoirs!!!!

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you nice feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Akkarakalam Memoirs and that you appreciated the great location, our nice staff, the Delicious food as well our spacious rooms. We will pass your compliments to our employees. Looking forward to welcoming you again in our home stay.

Warm Regards

Warm Regards for the Akkarakalam Family
Jobin J Akkarakalam
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights and had a lovely and restful time. The service was excellent and the food was a real treat as we were introduced to many new dishes at all of our meals. We will definitely go back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank savoyfoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel right on one of the big canals. Service and food at the hotel were excellent and quick, we never had to wait long. We recommend taking a paddle tour on the backwaters instead of a house boat because you get a lot more interaction with the locals.
Only negative is that the lighting in the rooms could be better, ie no bedside lamps.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esvhansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Having spent a few days in allepey town and had a trip through the back waters in a small boat, this was the perfect way to complete our stay in allepey. We spent a night and the best part of two days here just watching the world float by.

Some of the highlights include our little canoe trip with just the two of us crushing around a local back waters in a traditional canoe that they let you use. We also had a free sunset cruise that took us across some back waters to a local lagoon where you could revel in the natural beauty of the surroundings as the sun went down.

The food served here is very tasty and reasonably priced, which is a plus as the isolated location means that other options are potentially limited. The staff are very helpful, and happy to suggest potential activities without them seeming to be trying to sell you anything which is sometimes a problem in isolated spots.

Whilst it is probably best to arrive by road, than navigate the ferries, they helped us to organise getting the ferry back which can be done from the local stop and will take you right in the middle of town for less than the cost of a bottle of water.

Overall we would really recommend this place as somewhere to experience the charms of the backwater without having to splash out on the cost of a house boat trip and spend most of your time up stuck on the side of the river anyway.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GeorgeandKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! The staff were very friendly and helpful. They organized a sunset cruise, a walking tour and a canoeing trip for us which was all included in the price. If you want to relax for two to three days on your trip to India/Kerala then I would certainly recommend this place. The house itself is really nice as well as its garden where you can relax on hammocks. The rooms are large and very nice and exceptionally clean. If you are looking to go on a really nice houseboat for a night or two then the staff will organize it. The houseboat we went on was called ginger and it was a really lovely experience.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Diarmuid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife rejini had a beautiful time at akkarakalam memoirs. As we are from busy city like bangalore we enjoyed the tranquil and peaceful atmosphere here. The food is very tasty here. We loved the kareemeenu fry ( local fish they say ). The tapioca and fish curry etc are awesome.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ajimon S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
1.9 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
183 reviews
2.6 mi away
Xandari Riverscapes
Xandari Riverscapes
#4 of 164 in Alappuzha
290 reviews
3.1 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Kumarakom Lake Resort
Kumarakom Lake Resort
#4 of 26 in Kumarakom
1,729 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#2 of 164 in Alappuzha
198 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cosy Houseboats
Cosy Houseboats
#6 of 164 in Alappuzha
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akkarakalam Memoirs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akkarakalam Memoirs

Address: Chennamkary PO | Kainakary, Alappuzha 688501, India
Region: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range: £49 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Akkarakalam Memoirs 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akkarakalam Memoirs an exotic farmhouse presented as an excellent souvenir of the ancient Akkarakkalam family in Alleppey district with a tradition of 150 years.Akkarakkalm Memoirs is a sprawling 10 acre land with natural flora and fauna, beautifully converted into an ideal tourist destination for the nature lover as well as for the common glob-trotter. Here you can experience the backwater life at close quarters and inhale the natural scent of pristine countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Akkarakalam Memoirs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akkarakalam Memoirs Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing